Jeudi, Février 17 2011 23: 33

Diagnostic

Évaluer cet élément
(0 votes)

Le diagnostic d'une maladie neurotoxique n'est pas facile. Les erreurs sont généralement de deux types : soit on ne reconnaît pas qu'un agent neurotoxique est à l'origine de symptômes neurologiques, soit on diagnostique à tort des symptômes neurologiques (et surtout neurocomportementaux) comme résultant d'une exposition professionnelle neurotoxique. Ces deux erreurs peuvent être dangereuses car un diagnostic précoce est important dans le cas d'une maladie neurotoxique, et le meilleur traitement consiste à éviter une nouvelle exposition pour le cas individuel et à surveiller l'état des autres travailleurs afin de prévenir leur exposition à la même maladie. danger. D'autre part, une alarme parfois indue peut se développer sur le lieu de travail si un travailleur prétend avoir des symptômes graves et soupçonne une exposition chimique comme cause, mais en fait, soit le travailleur se trompe, soit le danger n'est pas réellement présent pour les autres. Il existe également des raisons pratiques pour des procédures de diagnostic correctes, puisque dans de nombreux pays, le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies professionnelles ainsi que la perte de capacité de travail et l'invalidité causées par ces maladies sont couverts par l'assurance ; ainsi la compensation financière peut être contestée, si les critères diagnostiques ne sont pas solides. Un exemple d'arbre de décision pour l'évaluation neurologique est donné dans le tableau 1.


Tableau 1. Arbre de décision pour les maladies neurotoxiques

I. Niveau, durée et type d'exposition pertinents

II. Symptômes appropriés augmentant insidieusement les symptômes du système nerveux central (SNC) ou périphérique (SNP)

III. Signes et tests complémentaires Dysfonctionnement du SNC : neurologie, tests psychologiques Dysfonctionnement du SNP : test sensoriel quantitatif, études de conduction nerveuse

IV. Autres maladies exclues du diagnostic différentiel


Exposition et symptômes

Les syndromes neurotoxiques aigus surviennent principalement dans des situations accidentelles, lorsque les travailleurs sont exposés à court terme à des niveaux très élevés d'un produit chimique ou à un mélange de produits chimiques, généralement par inhalation. Les symptômes habituels sont des vertiges, des malaises et une éventuelle perte de conscience à la suite d'une dépression du système nerveux central. Lorsque le sujet est retiré de l'exposition, les symptômes disparaissent assez rapidement, sauf si l'exposition a été si intense qu'elle met sa vie en danger, auquel cas le coma et la mort peuvent s'ensuivre. Dans ces situations la reconnaissance du danger must se produisent sur le lieu de travail et la victime doit être immédiatement emmenée à l'air frais.

En général, les symptômes neurotoxiques surviennent après des expositions à court ou à long terme, et souvent à des niveaux d'exposition professionnelle relativement faibles. Dans ces cas, des symptômes aigus peuvent être apparus au travail, mais la présence de symptômes aigus n'est pas nécessaire pour poser le diagnostic d'encéphalopathie toxique chronique ou de neuropathie toxique. Cependant, les patients signalent souvent des maux de tête, des étourdissements ou une irritation des muqueuses à la fin d'une journée de travail, mais ces symptômes disparaissent initialement pendant la nuit, le week-end ou les vacances. Une liste de contrôle utile se trouve dans le tableau 2.

Tableau 2. Effets neurofonctionnels constants des expositions sur le lieu de travail à certaines des principales substances neurotoxiques

 

Solvants organiques mixtes

Sulfure de carbone

Styrène

Organophos-
phates

Plomb

Mercury

Acquisition

+




+


Affecter

+


+


+


catégorisation

+






Codage

+

+



+

+

Vision des couleurs

+


+




Changement de concept

+






Distractibilité





+


Intelligence

+

+


+

+

+

Mémoire

+

+

+

+

+

+

La coordination motrice

+

+

+


+

+

La vitesse du moteur

+

+

+


+

+

Sensibilité proche du contraste visuel

+






Seuil de perception des odeurs

+






Identification des odeurs

+




+


Personnalité

+

+




+

Relations spatiales

+

+



+


Seuil vibrotactile

+



+


+

Vigilance

+

+



+


Champ visuel





+

+

Vocabulaire





+


Source : Adapté de Colère 1990.

En supposant que le patient a été exposé à des produits chimiques neurotoxiques, le diagnostic de maladie neurotoxique commence par des symptômes. En 1985, un groupe de travail conjoint de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé et du Conseil nordique des ministres a discuté de la question de l'intoxication chronique aux solvants organiques et a découvert un ensemble de symptômes de base, qui se retrouvent dans la plupart des cas (WHO/Nordic Council 1985). Les principaux symptômes sont la fatigabilité, la perte de mémoire, les difficultés de concentration et la perte d'initiative. Ces symptômes commencent généralement après un changement fondamental de la personnalité, qui se développe progressivement et affecte l'énergie, l'intellect, les émotions et la motivation. Parmi les autres symptômes de l'encéphalopathie toxique chronique figurent la dépression, la dysphorie, la labilité émotionnelle, les maux de tête, l'irritabilité, les troubles du sommeil et les étourdissements (vertiges). S'il existe également une atteinte du système nerveux périphérique, un engourdissement et éventuellement une faiblesse musculaire se développent. Ces symptômes chroniques durent au moins un an après la fin de l'exposition elle-même.

Examen clinique et tests

L'examen clinique doit inclure un examen neurologique, où l'attention doit être portée sur l'altération des fonctions nerveuses supérieures, telles que la mémoire, la cognition, le raisonnement et l'émotion ; aux fonctions cérébelleuses altérées, comme les tremblements, la démarche, la station et la coordination ; et aux fonctions nerveuses périphériques, en particulier la sensibilité aux vibrations et d'autres tests de sensation. Les tests psychologiques peuvent fournir des mesures objectives des fonctions du système nerveux supérieur, y compris les fonctions psychomotrices, la mémoire à court terme, le raisonnement verbal et non verbal et les fonctions perceptives. Dans le diagnostic individuel, les tests devraient inclure des tests qui donnent un indice sur le niveau intellectuel prémorbide de la personne. Les antécédents scolaires et les performances professionnelles antérieures ainsi que les éventuels tests psychologiques administrés antérieurement, par exemple dans le cadre du service militaire, peuvent aider à évaluer le niveau normal de performance de la personne.

Le système nerveux périphérique peut être étudié avec des tests quantitatifs des modalités sensorielles, des vibrations et de la thermosensibilité. Les études de vitesse de conduction nerveuse et l'électromyographie peuvent souvent révéler une neuropathie à un stade précoce. Dans ces tests, un accent particulier doit être mis sur les fonctions nerveuses sensorielles. L'amplitude du potentiel d'action sensoriel (SNAP) diminue plus souvent que la vitesse de conduction sensorielle dans les neuropathies axonales, et la plupart des neuropathies toxiques sont de nature axonale. Les études neuroradiologiques telles que la tomodensitométrie (TDM) et l'imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) ne révèlent généralement rien de pertinent pour l'encéphalopathie toxique chronique, mais elles peuvent être utiles dans le diagnostic différentiel.

Dans le diagnostic différentiel, d'autres maladies neurologiques et psychiatriques doivent être prises en compte. Une démence d'autres étiologies doit être exclue, ainsi que des symptômes de dépression et de stress de diverses causes. Une consultation psychiatrique peut être nécessaire. L'abus d'alcool est un facteur de confusion pertinent; l'usage excessif d'alcool provoque des symptômes similaires à ceux de l'exposition aux solvants, et d'autre part, il existe des articles indiquant que l'exposition aux solvants peut induire un abus d'alcool. D'autres causes de neuropathie doivent également être exclues, en particulier les neuropathies par compression, le diabète et les maladies rénales ; aussi l'alcool provoque une neuropathie. La combinaison de l'encéphalopathie et de la neuropathie est plus susceptible d'être d'origine toxique que l'une ou l'autre seule.

Dans la décision finale, l'exposition doit être à nouveau évaluée. Y a-t-il eu une exposition pertinente, compte tenu du niveau, de la durée et de la qualité de l'exposition ? Les solvants sont plus susceptibles d'induire un syndrome psycho-organique ou une encéphalopathie toxique ; les hexacarbures, cependant, provoquent généralement d'abord une neuropathie. Le plomb et certains autres métaux provoquent une neuropathie, bien que l'atteinte du SNC puisse être détectée plus tard.

 

Noir

Lire 6843 fois Dernière mise à jour le mardi, Octobre 11 2011 20: 16

" AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : L'OIT n'assume aucune responsabilité pour le contenu présenté sur ce portail Web qui est présenté dans une langue autre que l'anglais, qui est la langue utilisée pour la production initiale et l'examen par les pairs du contenu original. Certaines statistiques n'ont pas été mises à jour depuis la production de la 4ème édition de l'Encyclopédie (1998)."

Table des matières

Références sur le système nerveux

Amaducci, L, C Arfaioli, D Inzitari et M Marchi. 1982. Sclérose en plaques chez les travailleurs de la chaussure et du cuir : Une enquête épidémiologique à Florence. Acta Neurol Scand 65:94-103.

Colère, KW. 1990. Recherche neurocomportementale de chantier : résultat, méthodes sensibles, batteries de tests et passage des données de laboratoire à la santé humaine. Neurotoxicologie 11:629-720.

Anger, WK, MG Cassitto, Y Liang, R Amador, J Hooisma, DW Chrislip, D Mergler, M Keifer et J Hörtnagel. 1993. Comparaison des performances de trois continents sur la batterie de tests de base neurocomportementale (NCTB) recommandée par l'OMS. Environ Res 62:125-147.

Arlien-Søborg, P. 1992. Neurotoxicité des solvants. Boca Raton : CRC Press.
Armon, C, LT Kurland, JR Daube et PC O'Brian. 1991. Corrélats épidémiologiques de la sclérose latérale amyotrophique sporadique. Neurology 41:1077-1084.

Axelson, O. 1996. Où en est-on de la neuroépidémiologie professionnelle ? Scand J Work Environ Health 22 : 81-83.

Axelson, O, M Hane et C Hogstedt. 1976. Une étude cas-témoin sur les troubles neuropsychiatriques chez les travailleurs exposés aux solvants. Scand J Work Environ Health 2:14-20.

Bowler, R, D Mergler, S Rauch, R Harrison et J Cone. 1991. Troubles affectifs et de la personnalité chez les anciennes ouvrières de la microélectronique. J Clin Psychiatry 47:41-52.

Brackbill, RM, N Maizlish et T Fischbach. 1990. Risque de handicap neuropsychiatrique chez les peintres aux États-Unis. Scand J Work Environ Health 16:182-188.

Campbell, AMG, ER Williams et D Barltrop. 1970. Maladie du motoneurone et exposition au plomb. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry 33:877-885.

Cherry, NM, FP Labrèche et JC McDonald. 1992. Lésions cérébrales organiques et exposition professionnelle aux solvants. Br J Ind Med 49:776-781.

Chio, A, A Tribolo et D Schiffer. 1989. Maladie du motoneurone et exposition à la colle. Lancette 2:921.

Cooper, JR, FE Bloom et RT Roth. 1986. La base biochimique de la neuropharmacologie. New York : Université d'Oxford. Presse.

Dehart, RL. 1992. Sensibilité chimique multiple—Qu'est-ce que c'est? Sensibilités chimiques multiples. Addendum à : Marqueurs biologiques en immunotoxicologie. Washington, DC : Presse de l'Académie nationale.

Feldman, RG. 1990. Effets des toxines et des agents physiques sur le système nerveux. In Neurology in Clinical Practice, édité par WG Bradley, RB Daroff, GM Fenichel et CD Marsden. Stoneham, messe : Butterworth.

Feldman, RG et LD Quenzer. 1984. Principes fondamentaux de la neuropsychopharmacologie. Sunderland, Masse : Sinauer Associates.

Flodin, U, B Söderfeldt, H Noorlind-Brage, M Fredriksson et O Axelson. 1988. Sclérose en plaques, solvants et animaux de compagnie : une étude cas-témoin. Arch Neurol 45:620-623.

Fratiglioni L, A Ahlbom, M Viitanen et B Winblad. 1993. Facteurs de risque de la maladie d'Alzheimer à apparition tardive : une étude cas-témoin basée sur la population. Ann Neurol 33:258-66.

Goldsmith, JR, Y Herishanu, JM Abarbanel et Z Weinbaum. 1990. Le regroupement de la maladie de Parkinson indique une étiologie environnementale. Arch Environ Health 45:88-94.

Graves, AB, CM van Duijn, V Chandra, L Fratiglioni, A Heyman, AF Jorm, et al. 1991. Exposition professionnelle aux solvants et au plomb en tant que facteurs de risque de la maladie d'Alzheimer : une réanalyse collaborative d'études cas-témoins. Int J Epidémiol 20 Suppl. 2:58-61.

Grönning, M, G Albrektsen, G Kvåle, B Moen, JA Aarli et H Nyland. 1993. Solvants organiques et sclérose en plaques. Acta Neurol Scand 88:247-250.

Gunnarsson, LG, L Bodin, B Söderfeldt et O Axelson. 1992. Une étude cas-témoin de la maladie du motoneurone : sa relation avec l'héritabilité et les expositions professionnelles, en particulier les solvants. Br J Ind Med 49:791-798.

Hänninen, H et K Lindstrom. 1979. Batterie de tests neurocomportementaux de l'Institut de santé au travail. Helsinki : Institut de santé au travail.

Hagberg, M, H Morgenstem et M Kelsh. 1992. Impact des professions et des tâches professionnelles sur la prévalence du syndrome du canal carpien. Scand J Work Environ Health 18:337-345.

Hart, DE. 1988. Toxicologie neuropsychologique : identification et évaluation des syndromes neurotoxiques humains. New York : Presse de Pergamon.

Hawkes, CH, JB Cavanagh et AJ Fox. 1989. Maladie des motoneurones : un trouble secondaire à l'exposition aux solvants ? Lancette 1:73-76.

Howard, JK. 1979. Une enquête clinique sur les travailleurs de la formulation du paraquat. Br J Ind Med 36:220-223.

Hutchinson, LJ, RW Amsler, JA Lybarger et W Chappell. 1992. Batteries de tests neurocomportementaux à utiliser dans les études de terrain sur la santé environnementale. Atlanta : Agence pour les substances toxiques et le registre des maladies (ATSDR).

Johnson, BL. 1987. Prévention des maladies neurotoxiques dans les populations actives. Chichester : Wiley.

Kandel, ER, HH Schwartz et TM Kessel. 1991. Principes des sciences neurales. New York : Elsevier.

Kukull, WA, EB Larson, JD Bowen, WC McCormick, L Teri, ML Pfanschmidt, et al. 1995. L'exposition aux solvants comme facteur de risque de la maladie d'Alzheimer : une étude cas-témoin. Am J Epidemiol 141:1059-1071.

Landtblom, AM, U Flodin, M Karlsson, S Pålhagen, O Axelson et B Söderfeldt. 1993. Sclérose en plaques et exposition aux solvants, aux rayonnements ionisants et aux animaux. Scand J Work Environ Health 19:399-404.

Landtblom, AM, U Flodin, B Söderfeldt, C Wolfson et O Axelson. 1996. Solvants organiques et sclérose en plaques : une synthèse des preuves du ciment. Épidémiologie 7 : 429-433.

Maizlish, D et O Feo. 1994. Alteraciones neuropsicológicas en trabajadores expuestos a neurotóxicos. Salud de los Trabajadores 2:5-34.

Mergler, D. 1995. Neurophysiologie comportementale : Mesures quantitatives de la toxicité sensorielle. In Neurotoxicology: Approaches and Methods, édité par L Chang et W Slikker. New York : Presse académique.

O'Donoghue, JL. 1985. Neurotoxicité des produits chimiques industriels et commerciaux. Vol. I & II. Boca Raton : CRC Press.

Sassine, député, D Mergler, F Larribe et S Bélanger. 1996. Détérioration de la santé mentale chez des travailleurs exposés au styrène. Rev epidmiol med soc santé publ 44:14-24.

Semchuk, KM, EJ Love et RG Lee. 1992. Maladie de Parkinson et exposition aux travaux agricoles et aux pesticides chimiques. Neurologie 42:1328-1335.

Seppäläinen, AMH. 1988. Approches neurophysiologiques pour la détection de la neurotoxicité précoce chez l'homme. Crit Rev Toxicol 14:245-297.

Sienko, DG, JD Davis, JA Taylor et BR Brooks. 1990. Sclérose latérale amyotrophique : Une étude cas-témoins suite à la détection d'un cluster dans une petite communauté du Wisconsin. Arch Neurol 47:38-41.

Simonsen, L, H Johnsen, SP Lund, E Matikainen, U Midtgård et A Wennberg. 1994. Évaluation des données de neurotoxicité : Une approche méthodologique de la classification des produits chimiques neurotoxiques. Scand J Work Environ Health 20:1-12.

Sobel, E, Z Davanipour, R Sulkava, T Erkinjuntti, J Wikström, VW Henderson, et al. 1995. Professions avec exposition aux champs électromagnétiques : Un facteur de risque possible pour la maladie d'Alzheimer. Am J Epidemiol 142:515-524.

Spencer, PS et HH Schaumburg. 1980. Neurotoxicologie expérimentale et clinique. Baltimore : Williams & Wilkins.

Tanner, CM. 1989. Le rôle des toxines environnementales dans l'étiologie de la maladie de Parkinson. Tendances Neurosci 12:49-54.

Urie, RL. 1992. Protection personnelle contre les expositions aux matières dangereuses. Dans Hazardous Materials Toxicology: Clinical Principles of Environmental Health, édité par JB Sullivan et GR Krieger. Baltimore : Williams & Wilkins.

Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). 1978. Principes et méthodes d'évaluation de la toxicité des produits chimiques, parties 1 et 2. EHC, n° 6, parties 1 et 2. Genève : OMS.

Organisation mondiale de la santé et Conseil nordique des ministres. 1985. Effets chroniques des solvants organiques sur le système nerveux central et critères de diagnostic. EHC, n° 5. Genève : OMS.

Zayed, J, G Ducic, G Campanella, JC Panisset, P André, H Masson, et al. 1990. Facteurs environnementaux dans l'étiologie de la maladie de Parkinson. Can J Neurol Sei 17:286-291.

Thursday, 17 February 2011 23:33

Diagnosis

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The diagnosis of neurotoxic disease is not easy. The errors are usually of two types: either it is not recognized that a neurotoxic agent is the cause of neurological symptoms, or neurological (and especially neurobehavioural) symptoms are erroneously diagnosed as resulting from an occupational, neurotoxic exposure. Both of these errors can be hazardous since an early diagnosis is important in the case of neurotoxic disease, and the best treatment is avoiding further exposure for the individual case and the surveillance of the condition of other workers in order to prevent their exposure to the same danger. On the other hand, sometimes undue alarm can develop in the workplace if a worker claims to have serious symptoms and suspects a chemical exposure as the cause but in fact, either the worker is mistaken or the hazard is not actually present for others. There is practical reason for correct diagnostic procedures, as well, since in many countries, the diagnosis and treatment of occupational diseases and the loss of working capacity and invalidity caused by those diseases are covered by insurance; thus the financial compensation may be disputed, if the diagnostic criteria are not solid. An example of a decision tree for neurological assessment is given in Table 1.


Table 1. Decision tree for neurotoxic disease

I. Relevant exposure level, length and type

II. Appropriate symptoms insidiously increasing central (CNS) or peripheral (PNS) nervous system symptoms

III. Signs and additional tests CNS dysfunction: neurology, psychology tests PNS dysfunction: quantitative sensory test, nerve conduction studies

IV. Other diseases excluded in differential diagnosis


Exposure and Symptoms

Acute neurotoxic syndromes occur mainly in accidental situations, when workers are exposed short-term to very high levels of a chemical or to a mixture of chemicals generally through inhalation. The usual symptoms are vertigo, malaise and possible loss of consciousness as a result of depression of the central nervous system. When the subject is removed from the exposure, the symptoms disappear rather quickly, unless the exposure has been so intense that it is life-threatening, in which case coma and death may follow. In these situations recognition of the hazard must occur at the workplace, and the victim should be taken out into the fresh air immediately.

In general, neurotoxic symptoms arise after short-term or long-term exposures, and often at relatively low-level occupational exposure levels. In these cases acute symptoms may have occurred at work, but the presence of acute symptoms is not necessary for diagnosis of chronic toxic encephalopathy or toxic neuropathy to be made. However, patients do often report headache, light-headedness or mucosal irritation at the end of a working day, but these symptoms initially disappear during the night, weekend or vacation. A useful checklist can be found in Table 2.

Table 2. Consistent neuro-functional effects of worksite exposures to some leading neurotoxic substances

 

Mixed organic solvents

Carbon disulphide

Styrene

Organophos-
phates

Lead

Mercury

Acquisition

+




+


Affect

+


+


+


Categorization

+






Coding

+

+



+

+

Colour vision

+


+




Concept shifting

+






Distractibility





+


Intelligence

+

+


+

+

+

Memory

+

+

+

+

+

+

Motor coordination

+

+

+


+

+

Motor speed

+

+

+


+

+

Near visual contrast sensitivity

+






Odour perception threshold

+






Odour identification

+




+


Personality

+

+




+

Spatial relations

+

+



+


Vibrotactile threshold

+



+


+

Vigilance

+

+



+


Visual field





+

+

Vocabulary





+


Source: Adapted from Anger 1990.

Assuming that the patient has been exposed to neurotoxic chemicals, the diagnosis of neurotoxic disease starts with symptoms. In 1985, a joint working group of the World Health Organization and the Nordic Council of Ministers discussed the matter of chronic organic solvent intoxication and found a set of core symptoms, which are found in most cases (WHO/Nordic Council 1985). The core symptoms are fatigability, memory loss, difficulties in concentration, and loss of initiative. These symptoms usually start after a basic change in personality, which develops gradually and affects energy, intellect, emotion and motivation. Among other symptoms of chronic toxic encephalopathy are depression, dysphoria, emotional lability, headache, irritability, sleep disturbances and dizziness (vertigo). If there is also involvement of the peripheral nervous system, numbness and possibly muscular weakness develop. Such chronic symptoms last for at least a year after the exposure itself has ended.

Clinical Examination and Testing

The clinical examination should include a neurological examination, where attention should be paid to impairment of higher nervous functions, such as memory, cognition, reasoning and emotion; to impaired cerebellar functions, like tremor, gait, station and coordination; and to peripheral nervous functions, especially vibration sensitivity and other tests of sensation. Psychological tests can provide objective measures of higher nervous system functions, including psychomotor, short-term memory, verbal and non-verbal reasoning and perceptual functions. In individual diagnosis the tests should include some tests that give a clue as to the person’s premorbid intellectual level. History of school performance and previous job performance as well as possible psychological tests administered previously, for example in connection with military service, can help in the evaluation of the person’s normal level of performance.

The peripheral nervous system can be studied with quantitative tests of sensory modalities, vibration and thermosensibility. Nerve conduction velocity studies and electromyography can often reveal neuropathy at an early stage. In these tests special emphasis should be on sensory nerve functions. The amplitude of the sensory action potential (SNAP) decreases more often than the sensory conduction velocity in axonal neuropathies, and most toxic neuropathies are axonal in character. Neuroradiological studies such as computed tomography (CT) and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) usually do not reveal anything pertinent to chronic toxic encephalopathy, but they may be useful in the differential diagnosis.

In the differential diagnosis other neurological and psychiatric diseases should be considered. Dementia of other aetiology should be ruled out, as well as depression and stress symptoms of various causes. Psychiatric consultation may be necessary. Alcohol abuse is a relevant confounding factor; excessive use of alcohol causes symptoms similar to those of solvent exposure, and on the other hand there are papers indicating that solvent exposure may induce alcohol abuse. Other causes for neuropathy also have to be ruled out, especially entrapment neuropathies, diabetes and kidney disease; also alcohol causes neuropathy. The combination of encephalopathy and neuropathy is more likely of toxic origin than either of these alone.

In the final decision the exposure should be evaluated again. Was there relevant exposure, considering the level, length and quality of exposure? Solvents are more likely to induce psycho-organic syndrome or toxic encephalopathy; hexacarbons, however, usually first cause neuropathy. Lead and some other metals cause neuropathy, although CNS involvement can be detected later on.

 

Back

Read 4538 times Last modified on Tuesday, 11 October 2011 20:16

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Blood
Cancer
Cardiovascular System
Digestive System
Mental Health
Musculoskeletal System
Nervous System
Renal-Urinary System
Reproductive System
Respiratory System
Sensory Systems
Skin Diseases
Systematic Conditions
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Nervous System References

Amaducci, L, C Arfaioli, D Inzitari, and M Marchi. 1982. Multiple sclerosis among shoe and leather workers: An epidemiological survey in Florence. Acta Neurol Scand 65:94-103.

Anger, KW. 1990. Worksite neurobehavioral research: Result, sensitive methods, test batteries and the transition from laboratory data to human health. Neurotoxicology 11:629-720.

Anger, WK, MG Cassitto, Y Liang, R Amador, J Hooisma, DW Chrislip, D Mergler, M Keifer, and J Hörtnagel. 1993. Comparison of performance from three continents on the WHO-recommended neurobehavioral core test battery (NCTB). Environ Res 62:125-147.

Arlien-Søborg, P. 1992. Solvent Neurotoxicity. Boca Raton: CRC Press.
Armon, C, LT Kurland, JR Daube, and PC O’Brian. 1991. Epidemiologic correlates of sporadic amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. Neurology 41:1077-1084.

Axelson, O. 1996. Where do we go in occupational neuroepidemiology? Scand J Work Environ Health 22: 81-83.

Axelson, O, M Hane, and C Hogstedt. 1976. A case-referent study on neuropsychiatric disorders among workers exposed to solvents. Scand J Work Environ Health 2:14-20.

Bowler, R, D Mergler, S Rauch, R Harrison, and J Cone. 1991. Affective and personality disturbance among women former microelectronics workers. J Clin Psychiatry 47:41-52.

Brackbill, RM, N Maizlish, and T Fischbach. 1990. Risk of neuropsychiatric disability among painters in the United States. Scand J Work Environ Health 16:182-188.

Campbell, AMG, ER Williams, and D Barltrop. 1970. Motor neuron disease and exposure to lead. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry 33:877-885.

Cherry, NM, FP Labrèche, and JC McDonald. 1992. Organic brain damage and occupational solvent exposure. Br J Ind Med 49:776-781.

Chio, A, A Tribolo, and D Schiffer. 1989. Motorneuron disease and glue exposure. Lancet 2:921.

Cooper, JR, FE Bloom, and RT Roth. 1986. The Biochemical Basis of Neuropharmacology. New York: Oxford Univ. Press.

Dehart, RL. 1992. Multiple chemical sensitivity—What is it? Multiple chemical sensitivities. Addendum to: Biologic markers in immunotoxicology. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.

Feldman, RG. 1990. Effects of toxins and physical agents on the nervous system. In Neurology in Clinical Practice, edited by WG Bradley, RB Daroff, GM Fenichel, and CD Marsden. Stoneham, Mass: Butterworth.

Feldman, RG and LD Quenzer. 1984. Fundamentals of Neuropsychopharmacology. Sunderland, Mass: Sinauer Associates.

Flodin, U, B Söderfeldt, H Noorlind-Brage, M Fredriksson, and O Axelson. 1988. Multiple sclerosis, solvents and pets: A case-referent study. Arch Neurol 45:620-623.

Fratiglioni L, A Ahlbom, M Viitanen and B Winblad. 1993. Risk factors for late-onset Alzheimer’s disease: a population-based case-control study. Ann Neurol 33:258-66.

Goldsmith, JR, Y Herishanu, JM Abarbanel, and Z Weinbaum. 1990. Clustering of Parkinson’s disease points to environmental etiology. Arch Environ Health 45:88-94.

Graves, AB, CM van Duijn, V Chandra, L Fratiglioni, A Heyman, AF Jorm, et al. 1991. Occupational exposure to solvents and lead as risk factors for Alzheimer’s disease: A collaborative re-analysis of case-control studies. Int J Epidemiol 20 Suppl. 2:58-61.

Grönning, M, G Albrektsen, G Kvåle, B Moen, JA Aarli, and H Nyland. 1993. Organic solvents and multiple sclerosis. Acta Neurol Scand 88:247-250.

Gunnarsson, L-G, L Bodin, B Söderfeldt, and O Axelson. 1992. A case-control study of motor neuron disease: Its relation to heritability and occupational exposures, particularly solvents. Br J Ind Med 49:791-798.

Hänninen, H and K Lindstrom. 1979. Neurobehavioral Test Battery of the Institute of Occupational Health. Helsinki: Institute of Occupational Health.

Hagberg, M, H Morgenstem, and M Kelsh. 1992. Impact of occupations and job tasks on the prevalence of carpal tunnel syndrome. Scand J Work Environ Health 18:337-345.

Hart, DE. 1988. Neuropsychological Toxicology: Identification and Assessment of Human Neurotoxic Syndromes. New York: Pergamon Press.

Hawkes, CH, JB Cavanagh, and AJ Fox. 1989. Motorneuron disease: A disorder secondary to solvent exposure? Lancet 1:73-76.

Howard, JK. 1979. A clinical survey of paraquat formulation workers. Br J Ind Med 36:220-223.

Hutchinson, LJ, RW Amsler, JA Lybarger, and W Chappell. 1992. Neurobehavioral Test Batteries for Use in Environmental Health Field Studies. Atlanta: Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR).

Johnson, BL. 1987. Prevention of Neurotoxic Illness in Working Populations. Chichester: Wiley.

Kandel, ER, HH Schwartz, and TM Kessel. 1991. Principles of Neural Sciences. New York: Elsevier.

Kukull, WA, EB Larson, JD Bowen, WC McCormick, L Teri, ML Pfanschmidt, et al. 1995. Solvent exposure as a risk factor for Alzheimer’s disease: A case-control study. Am J Epidemiol 141:1059-1071.

Landtblom, A-M, U Flodin, M Karlsson, S Pålhagen, O Axelson, and B Söderfeldt. 1993. Multiple sclerosis and exposure to solvents, ionizing radiation and animals. Scand J Work Environ Health 19:399-404.

Landtblom, A-M, U Flodin, B Söderfeldt, C Wolfson and O Axelson. 1996. Organic solvents and multiple sclerosis: A synthesis of the cement evidence. Epidemiology 7: 429-433.

Maizlish, D and O Feo. 1994. Alteraciones neuropsicológicas en trabajadores expuestos a neurotóxicos. Salud de los Trabajadores 2:5-34.

Mergler, D. 1995. Behavioral neurophysiology: Quantitative measures of sensory toxicity. In Neurotoxicology: Approaches and Methods, edited by L Chang and W Slikker. New York: Academic Press.

O’Donoghue, JL. 1985. Neurotoxicity of Industrial and Commercial Chemicals. Vol. I & II. Boca Raton: CRC Press.

Sassine, MP, D Mergler, F Larribe, and S Bélanger. 1996. Détérioration de la santé mentale chez des travailleurs exposés au styrène. Rev epidmiol med soc santé publ 44:14-24.

Semchuk, KM, EJ Love, and RG Lee. 1992. Parkinson’s disease and exposure to agricultural work and pesticide chemicals. Neurology 42:1328-1335.

Seppäläinen, AMH. 1988. Neurophysiological approaches to the detection of early neurotoxicity in humans. Crit Rev Toxicol 14:245-297.

Sienko, DG, JD Davis, JA Taylor, and BR Brooks. 1990. Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: A case-control study following detection of a cluster in a small Wisconsin community. Arch Neurol 47:38-41.

Simonsen, L, H Johnsen, SP Lund, E Matikainen, U Midtgård, and A Wennberg. 1994. Evaluation of neurotoxicity data: A methodological approach to classification of neurotoxic chemicals. Scand J Work Environ Health 20:1-12.

Sobel, E, Z Davanipour, R Sulkava, T Erkinjuntti, J Wikström, VW Henderson, et al. 1995. Occupations with exposure to electromagnetic fields: A possible risk factor for Alzheimer’s disease. Am J Epidemiol 142:515-524.

Spencer, PS and HH Schaumburg. 1980. Experimental and Clinical Neurotoxicology. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins.

Tanner, CM. 1989. The role of environmental toxins in the etiology of Parkinson’s disease. Trends Neurosci 12:49-54.

Urie, RL. 1992. Personal protection from hazardous materials exposures. In Hazardous Materials Toxicology: Clinical Principles of Environmental Health, edited by JB Sullivan and GR Krieger. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins.

World Health Organization (WHO). 1978. Principles and Methods of Evaluating the Toxicity of Chemicals, Part 1 and 2. EHC, No. 6, Part 1 and 2. Geneva: WHO.

World Health Organization and Nordic Council of Ministers. 1985. Chronic Effects of Organic Solvents On the Central Nervous System and Diagnostic Criteria. EHC, No. 5. Geneva: WHO.

Zayed, J, G Ducic, G Campanella, JC Panisset, P André, H Masson, et al. 1990. Facteurs environnementaux dans l’étiologie de la maladie de Parkinson. Can J Neurol Sci 17:286-291.