週二,二月15 2011:18 24

案例研究:泰國成功的信息體驗

評價這個項目
(0票)

背景

泰國人口約 59 萬,國土面積 514,000 萬平方公里。 人口年增長率為1.7%。 1995年勞動力為34萬,其中就業33萬,失業1萬。 農業和非農業部門分別有約 17 和 14 萬人就業。

過去,泰國一直是農業經濟體,出口的大米和木薯加起來比其他國家多,但在 30-1960 的 90 年期間,泰國經濟發生了巨大的結構變化。 製造業對GDP的貢獻率居首位。 這些變化使泰國成為該地區增長最快的經濟體之一,其製造業迅速擴張,為當地和世界市場供應紡織品、服裝、電氣和電子產品、寶石和珠寶以及數十種其他產品。

泰王國政府非常關心泰國工業和農業部門工人的福利。 這種擔憂導致研討會強調需要採取有效措施來改善各個部門和工作環境中工人的工作條件和環境。 鑑於考慮到的所有問題,泰國皇家政府與聯合國之間的合作安排成立了國家改善工作條件和環境研究所(NICE)。 NICE 成為勞動保護和福利部 (DLPW) 下的一個部門,該部門主要負責保護泰國的工人,並尋求通過加強 DLPW 現有的製度體系程序和技術能力來實現其目標。

NICE 的目標是加強對工人的保護,使其免受職業事故和職業病以及不良工作條件的影響。 其主要活動如下:

    1. 制定和實施職業安全與健康和工作條件方面的培訓計劃
    2. 管理信息系統 (MIS) 的開發和運行,以集中所有收集到的信息,並為規劃、評估和協調改善工作條件和環境的政策和計劃提供基礎
    3. 為國家交流關於工作條件和環境的信息和專業知識建立一個可見的聯絡點
    4. 提供技術支持,以提高處理工作條件和環境的檢查人員的能力
    5. 提供職業衛生、工作生理學和人體工程學以及安全設備測試方面的實驗室設施
    6. 通過研究和技術諮詢服務提供支持,例如,將保護擴大到小型企業。

               

              NICE 擁有 50 名專業人員,分為以下幾個部分:綜合管理、工作環境、人體工程學和工作生理學、安全技術、安全促進和培訓、安全與健康信息中心、視聽和遍布工業區的 12 個區域中心國家。

              泰國國家職業安全與健康信息中心

              為了提高NICE更有效地實現其目標的能力,NICE與位於日內瓦的國際勞工局國際職業安全與健康信息中心合作,建立了泰國國家職業安全與健康信息中心。 該中心主要負責從泰國和國外收集有關職業安全、健康和工作條件的信息,對其進行處理和存儲,並將其傳播給雇主、工人、他們各自的組織和相關機構以及其他需要此類信息的人。 該信息中心包括一個參考圖書館、一個文檔單元、一個查詢服務和一個計算機單元。

              圖書館

              開館時,這座圖書館只有幾百本書; 現在,該館藏包括大約 3,000 本書和 20,000 張縮微膠片,涉及職業安全和健康的各種主題,例如職業病、安全和健康工程以及工作條件。 此外,自 1983 年以來,圖書館已訂閱了 27 種英文出版物和 XNUMX 種泰文期刊。 展出了三十部錄像帶和海報。 圖書館對安全和健康專業人士的影響正在不斷擴大。

              文件單位

              本單位的職責是製作職業安全衛生通訊; 指南、手冊和行為準則; 一本小冊子; 和信息表。

                1.安全衛生通訊。 每年出版四份時事通訊,每份都提供安全和健康更新、研究新聞、訪談、統計數據等各種內容。 每份時事通訊每年發行 6,000 份。
                2. 信息表。 這些主題分為四組,包括:

                      • 一般安全和健康,例如工作場所的安全施工、防火和通風
                      • 安全的實際使用,例如,安全使用手動工具或安全使用電氣設備
                      • 化學數據,例如可能與氫氧化鈉或氨有關
                      • 有關安全的法律和立法,例如涉及安全工作環境等。

                             

                              3、近期,資料股共印製資料單109種,印製10,000萬份,累計印數過百萬份。
                              4. 指南、手冊和行為準則。 截至 1990 世紀 15 年代中期,該出版物已出版 3,000 種; 例如,其中一項包括安全處理殺蟲劑指南和工業急救手冊。 每份出版物印刷 XNUMX 份。
                              5. 小冊子。 製作了十本小冊子,例如,與在工作中使用耳塞有關。 每本書印了 5,000 冊,總共印了 50,000 冊。

                                    查詢服務

                                    設立諮詢服務的目的是向該領域的每一位相關人士:勞動監察員、安全官員、雇主、僱員、學生和其他人尋求有關職業安全與健康問題的答案。 所有查詢均可通過郵寄、電話或傳真到達中心。 在發出每個答案之前,所有信息都會由 NICE 技術人員檢查是否正確。

                                    每年,該中心收到大約 600 份查詢。

                                    計算機單元

                                    作為收集和交流職業安全與健康領域信息、專業知識和實踐經驗的聯絡點,NICE 建立了多個數據庫:工業機構、事故調查報告、勞動監察報告、安全官員、重大危險源安裝、鍋爐檢查報告、工作環境檢查報告和工人健康檢查報告。 為了加強該部門的能力,NICE 開發了一個中央計算機系統,該系統將作為職業安全與健康的主機數據庫。 這項工作是在國際發展研究中心 (IDRC) 和國際勞工組織的協助下完成的。 同時,NICE 與其他區域職業安全與健康中心之間的局域網(LAN)已經建立。 這種聯繫將幫助區域中心的工作人員從 NICE 數據庫和 NICE 計算機單元的各種 CD-ROM 數據庫中訪問信息。

                                    為了直接促進泰國全國工人工作條件的改善和安全與健康,NICE 的所有服務都是免費的,NICE 現在支持所有勞動監察員、大約 5,000 名安全官員、大約 650 名有組織的貿易全國大中型企業、雇主和僱員的工會。 因此,NICE 仍在繼續發展和加強其保護工人免受因不安全的工作條件和環境危害而導致的績效不佳和傷害的能力。

                                     

                                    上一頁

                                    更多內容 6443 最後修改於 26 年 2022 月 18 日星期二 42:XNUMX

                                    " 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

                                    內容

Tuesday, 15 February 2011 18:24

Case Study: A Successful Information Experience in Thailand

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Background

Thailand has a population of approximately 59 million people and a land area of 514,000 square kilometres. The population growth is 1.7% per annum. The labour force in 1995 was 34 million of whom 33 million were employed and 1 million unemployed. About 17 and 14 million people were employed in the agricultural and non-agricultural sectors respectively.

In the past, Thailand has been an agricultural economy, exporting more rice and tapioca combined than other country, but during the 30-year period 1960–90 the Thai economy underwent dramatic structural changes. Manufacturing has assumed the leading role in terms of its contribution to the GDP. These changes have made Thailand one of the fastest growing economies in the region, with a rapidly expanding manufacturing sector supplying textiles, garments, electrical and electronic goods, gems and jewels and dozens of other products for local and world markets.

The Royal Thai Government is greatly concerned for the welfare of Thai workers in both the industrial and the agricultural sectors. This concern has led to seminars stressing the need for effective measures to improve the working conditions and environments of workers in various sectors and work situations. In light of all the issues taken into consideration, the National Institute for the Improvement of Working Conditions and Environment (NICE) was established through collaborative arrangements between the Royal Thai Government and the United Nations. NICE became a division under the Department of Labour Protection and Welfare (DLPW), which has the primary responsibility for the protection of workers in Thailand and seeks to achieve its objectives through strengthening the existing institutional systems procedures and technical capabilities of DLPW.

The objective of NICE is to improve the protection of workers from occupational accidents and diseases and from unsatisfactory working conditions. Its main activities are as follows:

  1. the development and implementation of training programmes in occupational safety and health and in working conditions
  2. the development and operation of a management information system (MIS) to centralize all information collected and to provide a basis for planning, evaluation and coordinating policies and programmes for improving working conditions and the environment
  3. the development of a visible focal point for national exchange of information and expertise on working conditions and the environment
  4. providing technical support to increase the capability of those inspection staff who handle working conditions and the environment
  5. providing laboratory facilities in occupational hygiene, work physiology and ergonomics, and testing of safety equipment
  6. provision of support, through research and technical advisory services, for example, for extending protection to small-scale enterprises.

 

NICE has a staff of 50 professionals and is divided into the following sections: General Administration, Work Environment, Ergonomics and Work Physiology, Safety Technology, Safety Promotion and Training, Safety and Health Information Centre, Audiovisual and 12 regional centres in industrial estate areas throughout the country.

National Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre of Thailand

In order to improve NICE’s ability to meet its objective more effectively, NICE, in collaboration with the Geneva-based International Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre of the International Labour Office, established the National Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre of Thailand. The Centre is concerned primarily with collecting information on occupational safety, health and working conditions, from Thailand and abroad, processing and storing it and disseminating it to employers, workers, their respective organizations and related bodies and others having need for such information. This Information Centre comprises a reference library, a documentation unit, an inquiry service and a computer unit.

The library

When it opened, this library possessed only a few hundred books; now, the collection comprises approximately 3,000 book titles and 20,000 titles of microfiches on various topics on occupational safety and health such as occupational disease, safety and health engineering and working conditions. Furthermore, since 1983, the library has subscribed to 27 English-language publications and ten Thai journals. Thirty videotape titles on display and posters are available. The library’s outreach to safety and health professionals is continually expanding.

The documentation unit

The duty of this unit is to produce an occupational safety and health newsletter; guidelines, handbook and code of practice; a brochure; and information sheets.

1. The safety and health newsletter. Four newsletters are produced annually, each presenting such various offerings as safety and health updates, research news, interviews, statistics, and so on. There are 6,000 copies of each newsletter produced annually.
2. Information sheets. These are divided into four groups of topics including:

  • safety and health in general, e.g., safety construction, fire prevention, and ventilation in the workplace
  • practical use for safety, for example, the safe use of hand tools, or the safe use of electrical equipment
  • chemical data such as might relate to sodium hydroxide or ammonia
  • laws and legislation on safety, such as would concern safe working environments, and much more.

3. Recently, the documentation unit produced 109 titles of information sheets and 10,000 copies of each was printed, making an aggregate of over a million copies.
4. The guideline, handbook and code of practice. As of the mid-1990s 15 titles of this publication had been produced; for example, one of these included a guideline for the safe handling of pesticides and a handbook for first aid in industry. Each publication was printed in 3,000 copies.
5. Brochures. Ten titles of brochures were produced, having to do, for example, with the use of ear plugs at work. Of each title, 5,000 copies were printed, giving an aggregate of 50,000 copies.

The inquiry service

The inquiry service was set up with the purpose of seeking answers to questions on occupational safety and health from every person concerned in this field: labour inspectors, safety officers, employers, employees, students and others. All inquiries can reach the centre by post, telephone or facsimile. Before sending out every answer, all information is checked by NICE technical staff for correctness.

Each year, approximately 600 inquiries are sent to the centre.

The computer unit

As the focal point for collecting and exchanging information, expertise and practical experience in the area of occupational safety and health, NICE has built up several databases: on industrial establishment, accident investigation reports, labour inspection reports, safety officers, major hazards installation, boiler inspection reports, work environment inspection reports and workers’ health screening reports. In order to enhance the ability of this unit, NICE has developed a centralized computer system which  will  serve  as  the  host  database  on  occupational  safety and health. This work has been done with assistance from the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and the International Labour Organization. Meanwhile, the local area network (LAN) between NICE and the other Regional Centres on Occupational Safety and Health has been established. This linkage will help the staff from a Regional Centre to access information from NICE databases and from various CD-ROM databases in the NICE computer unit.

In order to promote as its direct concern the improved working conditions and the safety and health of Thai workers throughout the country, all the services of NICE are free of charge and NICE now supports all labour inspectors, approximately 5,000 safety officers, about 650 organized trade unions of medium- and large-size enterprises, employers and employees throughout the country. Therefore, NICE still moves on developing and strengthening its ability to protect workers from unsatisfactory performance and injuries due to unsafe working conditions and hazards in the environment.

 

Back

Read 4138 times Last modified on Friday, 17 June 2011 12:59

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Disability and Work
Ethical Issues
Education and Training
Development, Technology, and Trade
Labour Relations and Human Resource Management
Resources: Information and OSH
Resources, Institutional, Structural and Legal
Topics In Workers Compensation Systems
Work and Workers
Worker's Compensation Systems
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides