الثلاثاء، فبراير 15 2011 19: 04

المنظمة الدولية للتوحيد القياسي (ISO)

قيم هذا المقال
(الاصوات 0)

المنظمة الدولية للتوحيد القياسي (ISO) هي اتحاد عالمي لهيئات المعايير الوطنية في الوقت الحاضر يضم هيئات المعايير الوطنية في 120 دولة اعتبارًا من عام 1996. والهدف من ISO هو تعزيز تطوير المعايير في العالم بهدف تسهيل تبادل السلع والخدمات وتنمية التعاون المتبادل في مجال النشاط الفكري والعلمي والتكنولوجي والاقتصادي. يتم نشر نتائج أعمال ISO الفنية كمعايير دولية.

لا يقتصر نطاق ISO على أي فرع معين ؛ وهي تغطي جميع مجالات التقييس باستثناء معايير الهندسة الكهربائية والإلكترونية ، والتي تقع على عاتق اللجنة الكهروتقنية الدولية (IEC).

تجمع ISO مصالح المنتجين والمستخدمين (بما في ذلك المستهلكين) والحكومات والمجتمع العلمي في إعداد المعايير الدولية.

يتم تنفيذ أعمال ISO من خلال حوالي 2,800 هيئة فنية. يشارك أكثر من 100,000 خبير من جميع أنحاء العالم في هذا العمل الذي أدى ، حتى الآن ، إلى نشر أكثر من 10,000 معيار دولي ، تمثل حوالي 188,000 صفحة من البيانات المرجعية الموجزة باللغتين الإنجليزية والفرنسية.

الأصل والعضوية

بدأ التوحيد القياسي الدولي في المجال الكهروتقني منذ حوالي 90 عامًا. في حين تم إجراء بعض المحاولات في ثلاثينيات القرن الماضي لتطوير معايير دولية في مجالات تقنية أخرى ، لم يتم إنشاء منظمة دولية مكرسة للتوحيد القياسي ككل إلا بعد إنشاء ISO.

بعد اجتماع عقد في لندن عام 1946 ، قرر مندوبون من 25 دولة إنشاء منظمة دولية جديدة "يكون هدفها تسهيل التنسيق الدولي وتوحيد المعايير الصناعية". بدأت المنظمة الجديدة ، ISO ، في العمل رسميًا في 23 فبراير 1947.

A عضو الهيئة ISO هي الهيئة الوطنية "الأكثر تمثيلا للتوحيد القياسي في بلدها". ويترتب على ذلك قبول هيئة واحدة فقط من كل دولة للعضوية في ISO. يحق للهيئات الأعضاء المشاركة وممارسة حقوق التصويت الكاملة على أي لجنة فنية لمنظمة ISO ، وتكون مؤهلة لعضوية المجلس ولها مقعد في الجمعية العامة. بحلول سبتمبر 1995 ، كان عدد الهيئات الأعضاء 83. أكثر من 70٪ من الهيئات الأعضاء في ISO هي مؤسسات حكومية أو منظمات مدرجة بموجب القانون العام. البقية لديهم روابط وثيقة مع الإدارة العامة في بلدانهم.

A عضو مراسل هي عادة منظمة في دولة نامية ليس لديها بعد هيئة المعايير الوطنية الخاصة بها. لا يقوم الأعضاء المراسلون بدور نشط في العمل الفني ، ولكن يتم إطلاعهم بشكل كامل على ذلك. عادة ، يصبح العضو المراسل عضوا في الهيئة بعد بضع سنوات. جميع أعضاء المراسلين الحاليين تقريبًا هم من المؤسسات الحكومية. وبحلول سبتمبر 1995 كان عدد المراسلين 24 عضوا.

فئة ثالثة ، مكتتب العضوية ، تم تأسيسها للبلدان ذات الاقتصادات الأصغر حجمًا. يدفع هؤلاء الأعضاء المشتركون رسوم عضوية مخفضة تسمح لهم مع ذلك بالحفاظ على الاتصال بالمعايير الدولية. بحلول سبتمبر 1995 ، كان عدد الأعضاء المشتركين ثمانية.

يتم تقديم البيانات الأساسية عن كل هيئة عضو في ISO في المنشور عضوية ISO.

عمل تقني

يتم تنفيذ الأعمال الفنية لـ ISO من خلال اللجان الفنية (TC). يتخذ مجلس الإدارة الفنية قرار تشكيل اللجنة الفنية ، والذي يوافق أيضًا على نطاق عمل اللجنة. ضمن هذا النطاق ، تحدد اللجنة برنامج عملها.

يجوز للجان الفنية ، بدورها ، إنشاء لجان فرعية (SC) ومجموعات عمل (WG) لتغطية جوانب مختلفة من العمل. لكل لجنة فنية أو لجنة فرعية سكرتارية مخصصة لهيئة عضو في المنظمة الدولية للتوحيد القياسي (ISO). في نهاية عام 1995 كان هناك 185 لجنة فنية و 611 لجنة فرعية و 2,022 مجموعة عمل.

عادة ما يأتي اقتراح إدخال مجال جديد من النشاط الفني في برنامج عمل ISO من هيئة عضو ، ولكن قد يأتي أيضًا من بعض المنظمات الدولية الأخرى. بما أن الموارد محدودة ، يجب تحديد الأولويات. لذلك ، يتم تقديم جميع المقترحات الجديدة للنظر فيها من قبل الهيئات الأعضاء في ISO. في حالة الموافقة ، سيتم إحالة العمل الجديد إلى اللجنة الفنية القائمة المناسبة أو سيتم إنشاء لجنة جديدة.

يحق لكل هيئة عضو مهتمة بموضوع تم تفويض لجنة فنية من أجله أن تكون ممثلة في تلك اللجنة. وترد قواعد الإجراءات التفصيلية في توجيهات ISO / IEC.

المعايير الدولية

المعيار الدولي هو نتيجة لاتفاق بين الهيئات الأعضاء في ISO. يمكن استخدامه على هذا النحو أو تنفيذه من خلال دمجه في المعايير الوطنية لمختلف البلدان.

تتخذ خطوة أولى مهمة نحو معيار دولي شكل مسودة لجنة (CD) ، وهي وثيقة يتم توزيعها للدراسة داخل اللجنة الفنية. يجب أن تمر هذه الوثيقة بعدد من المراحل قبل قبولها كمعيار دولي. تم تصميم هذا الإجراء لضمان قبول النتيجة النهائية لأكبر عدد ممكن من البلدان. عندما يتم التوصل أخيرًا إلى اتفاق داخل اللجنة الفنية ، يتم إرسال مسودة الاقتراح إلى الأمانة المركزية للتسجيل كمسودة معيار دولي (DIS) ؛ ثم يتم توزيع DIS على جميع الهيئات الأعضاء للتصويت. في العديد من البلدان ، يتم توفير المفرزة لاستقصاء الجمهور ، مما يضمن أكبر قدر ممكن من المشاورات. إذا كانت 75٪ من الأصوات المدلى بها لصالح DIS ، يتم قبولها لمزيد من المعالجة كمسودة نهائية للمعيار الدولي (FDIS) والتي يتم تعميمها على جميع الهيئات الأعضاء لاعتمادها رسميًا من قبل ISO. مرة أخرى ، يجب أن يكون 75٪ من الأصوات المدلى بها لصالح FDIS حتى يتم نشر المعيار الدولي. عادة يتم حل القضايا الفنية الأساسية على مستوى اللجنة الفنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن إجراء تصويت الهيئة العضو يوفر ضمانًا بأنه لم يتم التغاضي عن أي اعتراضات مهمة.

يتم تنفيذ الجزء الأكبر من العمل بالمراسلة ، ولا تُعقد الاجتماعات إلا عندما يكون هناك ما يبررها تمامًا. يتم توزيع حوالي 10,000 وثيقة عمل كل عام. تتطلب معظم المعايير مراجعة دورية. تتحد عدة عوامل لجعل معيارًا قديمًا: التطور التكنولوجي ، والطرق والمواد الجديدة ، ومتطلبات الجودة والسلامة الجديدة. لمراعاة هذه العوامل ، وضعت ISO القاعدة العامة التي تقضي بضرورة مراجعة جميع معايير ISO كل خمس سنوات. في بعض الأحيان يكون من الضروري مراجعة معيار في وقت سابق.

يتم توفير قائمة كاملة بجميع معايير ISO المنشورة في كتالوج ISO.

عمل الأيزو في مجال السلامة المهنية

يتم إعداد كل معيار ISO دولي مع الاهتمام بالسلامة ؛ عامل الأمان هو جزء لا يتجزأ من عمل ISO.

تغطي أكثر من 10,000 معيار دولي تم نشره بالفعل من قبل ISO مجموعة واسعة ، من الفضاء والطائرات والزراعة إلى البناء ، واختبارات الحريق ، والحاويات ، والمعدات الطبية ، ومعدات التعدين ، ولغات الكمبيوتر ، والبيئة ، والسلامة الشخصية ، وبيئة العمل ، ومبيدات الآفات ، والطاقة النووية وهكذا.

من السهل التعرف على العديد من المعايير الدولية على أنها مهمة في منع المخاطر المهنية: الأمثلة هي الرمز الأساسي للدلالة على الإشعاع المؤين أو المواد المشعة (ISO 361) ، وألوان وعلامات السلامة (ISO 3864) وخوذة السلامة الصناعية (ISO 3873) المخصصة للوسيط الحماية في التعدين واستغلال المحاجر وبناء السفن والهندسة الإنشائية والغابات وما إلى ذلك. لم يتم تحديد المعايير الدولية الأخرى بسهولة على أنها ذات صلة مباشرة ، ولكن لها تأثير مماثل على الوقاية من الحوادث والأمراض المهنية ؛ أحد الأمثلة هو ISO 2631 ، تقييم تعرض الإنسان للاهتزازات الجسم كله، تم نشره في ثلاثة أجزاء ، والذي يصنف "حد الراحة المنخفض" ، و "حدود الكفاءة المنخفضة التعب" و "حد التعرض" وفقًا لمستويات مختلفة من تردد الاهتزاز وحجم التسارع ووقت التعرض ، ووفقًا لاتجاه الاهتزاز نسبة إلى محاور جسم الإنسان المعترف بها. يتم تحديث هذا المعيار ، مثله مثل جميع المواصفة الأخرى ، باستمرار في ضوء البحث والخبرة ، ويتعلق بأشكال النقل مثل الشاحنات القلابة والجرارات والحفارات والعديد من المركبات ومواقع العمل الأخرى.

اللجان الفنية ISO المدرجة في الجدول 1 هي من بين الأبرز في العمل من أجل السلامة والحوادث والوقاية من الأمراض.

الجدول 1. اللجان الفنية التابعة للمنظمة الدولية لتوحيد المقاييس (ISO) المعنية بالوقاية من الحوادث والأمراض المهنية

رقم

عنوان

مثال نموذجي لمعيار ISO

10

الرسومات الفنية وتعريف المنتج والوثائق ذات الصلة

ISO / DIS 11604

وثائق المنتج الفنية - أوراق البيانات الخاصة بمواد ومعدات الرسم والوثائق ذات الصلة

21

معدات الوقاية من الحريق و مكافحة الحريق

إعتماد ISO-3941

تصنيف الحرائق

23

الجرارات والآلات للزراعة والغابات

إعتماد ISO-3776

الجرارات الزراعية - مراسي أحزمة الأمان

35

الدهانات والورنيشات

إعتماد ISO-3679

الدهانات والورنيشات والنفط والمنتجات ذات الصلة - تحديد نقطة الاشتعال - طريقة التوازن السريع

43

الصوتيات

إعتماد ISO-4872

الصوتيات - قياس الضوضاء المحمولة جواً المنبعثة من معدات البناء المعدة للاستخدام في الهواء الطلق - طريقة لتحديد الامتثال لحدود الضوضاء

44

عمليات اللحام والحلفاء

ISO / DIS 10882-2

الصحة والسلامة في عمليات اللحام والعمليات المرتبطة بها - أخذ عينات من الجسيمات والغازات المحمولة بالهواء في منطقة تنفس المشغل - الجزء 2: أخذ عينات الغازات

59

تشييد المباني

ISO / TR 9527

تشييد المباني - احتياجات المعاقين في المباني - إرشادات التصميم

67

المواد والمعدات والهياكل البحرية لصناعات البترول والغاز الطبيعي

إعتماد ISO-10418

صناعات البترول والغاز الطبيعي - منصات الإنتاج البحرية - تحليل وتصميم وتركيب واختبار أنظمة السلامة السطحية الأساسية

82

تعدين

إعتماد ISO-3155

حبال الأسلاك المجدولة لرفع المناجم - مكونات الألياف - الخصائص والاختبارات

85

الطاقة النووية

إعتماد ISO-1709

الطاقة النووية - المواد الانشطارية - مبادئ الأهمية الحيوية والسلامة في التخزين والمناولة والمعالجة

86

تبريد

إعتماد ISO-5149

أنظمة التبريد الميكانيكية المستخدمة للتبريد والتدفئة - متطلبات السلامة

92

السلامة من الحرائق

إعتماد ISO-1716

مواد البناء - تحديد السعرات الحرارية المحتملة

94

السلامة الشخصية - الملابس والمعدات الواقية

إعتماد ISO-2801

ملابس للحماية من الحرارة والنار - توصيات عامة للمستخدمين والمسؤولين عن هؤلاء المستخدمين

96

رافعات

ISO-10245 1

الرافعات — أجهزة التحديد والإشارة — الجزء الأول: عام

98

أسس تصميم الهياكل

إعتماد ISO-2394

المبادئ العامة لموثوقية الهياكل

101

معدات المناولة الميكانيكية المستمرة

إعتماد ISO-1819

معدات المناولة الميكانيكية المستمرة - كود السلامة - القواعد العامة

108

الاهتزاز والصدمات الميكانيكية

ISO-2631 1

تقييم تعرض الإنسان للاهتزازات الجسم كله - الجزء 1: المتطلبات العامة

110

شاحنات صناعية

إعتماد ISO-1074

شاحنات الرافعة الشوكية المتوازنة ـ اختبارات الثبات

118

ضواغط وأدوات تعمل بالهواء المضغوط وماكينات تعمل بالهواء المضغوط

إعتماد ISO-5388

ضواغط الهواء الثابتة - قواعد السلامة وقواعد الممارسة

146

نوعية الهواء

إعتماد ISO-8518

هواء مكان العمل - تقدير جسيمات الرصاص ومركبات الرصاص - طريقة طيف الامتصاص الذري للهب

159

توازن

إعتماد ISO-7243

البيئات الحارة - تقدير الإجهاد الحراري للعامل ، بناءً على مؤشر WBGT (درجة حرارة الكرة الأرضية الرطبة)

199

سلامة الآلات

ISO / TR 12100-1

سلامة الآلات - المفاهيم الأساسية ، المبادئ العامة للتصميم - الجزء 1: المصطلحات الأساسية ، المنهجية

 

وقد أعدت هذه اللجان الفنية وغيرها أو تعد معايير دولية تتعلق بالمخاطر المهنية في مجالات مثل بناء مواقع البناء ، والمصانع ، والأرصفة ، والزراعة والغابات ، والمنشآت النووية ، ومناولة المواد ، والملابس والمعدات الوقائية الشخصية.

يقدم مجال البناء مثالًا واضحًا جدًا على الاهتمام المكثف بالوقاية من الحوادث والأمراض في عمل ISO. من بين أكثر من 50 لجنة فنية تابعة للمنظمة الدولية لتوحيد المقاييس تتعامل مع بعض جوانب مواد البناء أو البناء ، هناك عشر لجان تتعامل مع مشاكل بيئة العمل. تغطي العوامل الفيزيائية في مجال البناء جوانب مثل السلامة الشخصية والاهتزاز والصدمات والضوضاء والمصانع والمعدات وآلات تحريك التربة والرافعات وأجهزة الرفع وبيئة العمل. تشمل العوامل الكيميائية جودة الهواء والدهانات والورنيشات وحماية عمال اللحام والملابس والمعدات الواقية.

ايزو تك 127 (آلات تحريك التربة) لجنة فرعية للتعامل بشكل خاص مع متطلبات السلامة والعوامل البشرية فيما يتعلق بجميع الأنواع الأساسية الحالية لآلات تحريك التربة مثل الجرارات والرافعات القلابة وكاشطات الجرارات والحفارات والممهدات. توجد بالفعل معايير للوصول الآمن إلى كبائن القيادة عبر الدرجات والسلالم والممرات والمنصات ، وقد تم تحديد أبعاد الكابينة للمشغلين الكبار والصغار ، سواء كانوا جالسين أو واقفين أو يرتدون ملابس قطبية أم لا ، حسب الاقتضاء.

مواضع الجلوس وأحجام وأشكال المقاعد لمختلف المشغلين هي أيضًا موضوع المعايير الدولية. ترتبط أوضاع الجلوس الآن بمجالات الراحة والوصول إلى كل من أدوات التحكم في اليد والقدم ، وتم إعداد معايير لتحديد مجال الرؤية المتاح لمشغلي آلات تحريك التربة ، بناءً على تحديد الشكل والحجم والموضع مناطق الاختفاء الناتجة عن إعاقة أجزاء من الآلات.

لمنع الآلات من سحق مشغليها في حالة الانقلاب العرضي ، تم تطوير هياكل الحماية من الانقلاب (ROPS) وتوحيدها. يمكن أن تكون الصخور المتساقطة والأشجار وأجزاء من المباني في عملية الهدم خطرة ، لذلك تم توحيد الهياكل الواقية من الأجسام المتساقطة (FOPS) لتقليل احتمالية إصابة المشغل.

ISO 7000 ، رموز رسومية للاستخدام على المعدات - فهرس وملخص، يقدم موجزًا ​​لعدة مئات من الرموز الرسومية المتفق عليها دوليًا والتي سيتم وضعها على المعدات أو أجزاء من المعدات من أي نوع لإرشاد الأشخاص الذين يتعاملون مع المعدات فيما يتعلق باستخدامها وتشغيلها.

إن عمل ISO في مجال البناء مكثف وواسع النطاق ، تمامًا كما هو الحال في المجالات الأخرى التي تغطيها ISO. (يشمل نطاق ISO معظم الأنشطة الصناعية والزراعية والبحرية باستثناء المجال الكهروتقني ، الذي تتعامل معه اللجنة الكهروتقنية الدولية ، والمنتجات الصيدلانية التي تديرها منظمة الصحة العالمية.)

في أرض المصنع ، تأخذ المعايير الدولية معنى خاصًا حيث يهاجر الأشخاص الذين يبحثون عن عمل من بلد إلى آخر وغالبًا إلى وظائف لا يمكنهم التحدث باللغة المحلية أو قراءتها. تعتبر الرموز الرسومية المعترف بها بسهولة للتحكم في الآلات التي تتوافق مع المعايير الدولية أمرًا حيويًا هنا كما هو الحال في صناعة البناء ؛ وكذلك هي مواقع موحدة لأجهزة التحكم بالقدم واليد والمعايير الدولية لحراس الأجزاء المتحركة.

يغطي رمز أمان ISO للضواغط نطاقًا واسعًا من عوامل السلامة والعوامل البيئية ، مثل منع استنشاق الزيت والتحكم في مثبطات الزيت السام ، ومنع اشتعال فحم الكوك النفطي وانفجار علبة المرافق ، واستخدام صمامات الإغاثة والأمان .

تخضع سلامة معدات المناولة الميكانيكية المستمرة لما يقرب من 40 معيارًا دوليًا. وهي تغطي جوانب مثل رموز السلامة والأمان لأنواع مختلفة من المعدات ، مثل الناقلات الحزامية ، والمغذيات الاهتزازية ، وناقلات السلسلة العلوية ، والناقلات الهيدروليكية ، ومعدات المناولة الهوائية ، والناقلات الأسطوانية واللولبية.

في مجال الزراعة والغابات ، طورت ISO معايير دولية مهمة تحمي العامل. تعتبر مراسي أحزمة الأمان للجرارات الزراعية موضوع معيار معروف يسهل تجارة الاستيراد والتصدير للمصنعين كما يتم تنفيذه ، ليحل محل عدد كبير من المعايير واللوائح الوطنية المتعلقة بهذا الموضوع. توفر معايير ISO قواعد لتقديم أدلة المشغلين والمنشورات الفنية للجرارات والآلات الزراعية ، مما يسهل قراءتها وفهمها.

في الأرصفة ، يكون العامل محميًا بالمعايير الدولية التي تحدد ثبات الرافعات والرافعات المتحركة في العمل وتحدد تأثير أحمال الرياح على هياكل الرافعة. تغطي المعايير الأخرى المؤشرات وأجهزة السلامة التي ستعمل في حالة سوء تقدير المشغل. لا يزال البعض الآخر يغطي مؤشرات مثل مقاييس الرياح ، وأجهزة التنبيه للجهد الزائد والكتلة ، ومؤشرات الانحدار والانحراف و "القطع التلقائي" ، مثل محددات سحب الرافعة ، ومحددات قدرة رفع الحمولة ، ومحددات حبل الركود. يجب ألا تساعد المعايير التي تم إعدادها وتجهيزها المشغلين في عملهم فحسب ، بل يجب أن تعزز بيئة العمل من خلال إلهام الثقة في جميع العاملين في العمل الذين يتحركون أسفل الرافعة وحولها. توفر المواصفة القياسية الدولية ذات الصلة معايير النبذ ​​فيما يتعلق بالتآكل والتآكل والتشوه وفواصل حبال الأسلاك ، وتهدف إلى توجيه الأشخاص المختصين المشاركين في صيانة وفحص الرافعات وأجهزة الرفع. تشمل المعايير الجديدة قيد التطوير أجهزة التثبيت خارج الخدمة والصيانة ومراقبة الحالة والاستخدام الآمن وعلامات السلامة.

سلامة العامل والآخرين في المنشآت النووية أو بالقرب منها مشمولة بعدد من المعايير الدولية ، والعمل مستمر في هذا المجال. الموضوعات التي يتم تناولها هي طرق اختبار عدادات التعرض ومقاييس الجرعات ، واختبار تسرب المحتويات وتسرب الإشعاع ، والمبادئ العامة لأخذ عينات من المواد المشعة المحمولة جواً.

تقع مسؤولية المعايير الدولية للملابس والمعدات الواقية على ISO TC 94. بالإضافة إلى معيار خوذات السلامة الصناعية ، فقد طورت المفردات الموحدة لواقيات العين الشخصية ، ومتطلبات الاستخدام والنفاذية لمرشحات الأشعة تحت الحمراء لواقيات العين ، و توصيات عامة للمستخدمين والمسؤولين عن مستخدمي الملابس للحماية من الحرارة والنار.

لقد أدى إنتاج واستخدام معايير ISO الدولية مثل هذه ، التي تم إنتاجها من خلال التعاون العالمي ، إلى تحسين جودة مكان العمل بلا شك.

 

الرجوع

عرض 8782 مرات آخر تعديل ليوم الثلاثاء، 26 يوليو 2022 18: 36

"إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

المحتويات

Tuesday, 15 February 2011 19:04

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies at present comprising the national standards bodies of 120 countries as of 1996. The object of ISO is to promote the development of standards in the world with a view to facilitating international exchange of goods and services and to developing mutual cooperation in the sphere of intellectual, scientific, technological and economic activity. The results of ISO technical work are published as International Standards.

The scope of ISO is not limited to any particular branch; it covers all standardization fields except standards for electrical and electronic engineering, which are the responsibility of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

ISO brings together the interests of producers, users (including consumers), governments and the scientific community in the preparation of International Standards.

ISO work is carried out through some 2,800 technical bodies. More than 100,000 experts from all parts of the world are engaged in this work which, to date, has resulted in the publication of over 10,000 International Standards, representing some 188,000 pages of concise reference data in English and French.

Origin and Membership

International standardization started in the electrotechnical field some 90 years ago. While some attempts were made in the 1930s to develop International Standards in other technical fields, it was not until ISO was created that an international organization devoted to standardization as a whole came into existence.

Following a meeting in London in 1946, delegates from 25 countries decided to create a new international organization “whose object shall be to facilitate the international coordination and unification of industrial standards”. The new organization, ISO, began to function officially on 23 February 1947.

A member body of ISO is the national body “most representative of standardization in its country”. It follows that only one such body for each country is accepted for membership in ISO. Member bodies are entitled to participate and exercise full voting rights on any technical committee of ISO, are eligible for membership in the Council and have a seat in the General Assembly. By September 1995 the number of member bodies was 83. More than 70% of ISO member bodies are governmental institutions or organizations incorporated by public law. The remainder have close links with the public administration in their respective countries.

A correspondent member is normally an organization in a developing country which does not yet have its own national standards body. Correspondent members do not take an active part in the technical work, but are kept fully informed of it. Normally, a correspondent member becomes a member body after a few years. Nearly all the present correspondent members are governmental institutions. By September 1995 the number of correspondent members was 24.

A third category, subscriber membership, has been established for countries with smaller-scale economies. These subscriber members pay reduced membership fees that nevertheless allow them to maintain contact with international standardization. By September 1995, the number of subscriber members was eight.

Basic data on each ISO member body are given in the publication ISO Membership.

Technical Work

The technical work of ISO is carried out through technical committees (TC). The decision to set up a technical committee is taken by the Technical Management Board, which also approves the scope of the committee. Within this scope, the committee determines its own programme of work.

The technical committees may, in turn, create subcommittees (SC) and working groups (WG) to cover different aspects of the work. Each technical committee or subcommittee has a secretariat assigned to an ISO member body. At the end of 1995 there were in existence 185 technical committees, 611 subcommittees and 2,022 working groups.

A proposal to introduce a new field of technical activity into the ISO working programme normally comes from a member body, but it may also originate from some other international organization. Since resources are limited, priorities must be established. Therefore, all new proposals are submitted for consideration by the ISO member bodies. If accepted, either the new work will be referred to the appropriate existing technical committee or a new committee will be created.

Each member body interested in a subject for which a technical committee has been authorized has the right to be represented on that committee. Detailed rules of procedure are given in the ISO/IEC Directives.

International Standards

An International Standard is the result of an agreement between the member bodies of ISO. It may be used as such or implemented through incorporation into national standards of different countries.

An important first step towards an International Standard takes the form of a committee draft (CD), a document circulated for study within the technical committee. This document must pass through a number of stages before it can be accepted as an International Standard. This procedure is designed to ensure that the final result is acceptable to as many countries as possible. When agreement is finally reached within the technical committee, the draft proposal is sent to the central secretariat for registration as a draft International Standard (DIS); the DIS is then circulated to all member bodies for voting. In many countries, the DIS is made available for public enquiry, thereby ensuring the widest possible consultations. If 75% of the votes cast are in favour of the DIS, it is accepted for further processing as a Final Draft International Standard (FDIS) which is circulated to all member bodies for formal adoption by ISO. Again, 75% of the votes cast must be in favour of the FDIS in order for the International Standard to be published. Normally the fundamental technical issues are resolved at the technical committee level. However, the member body voting procedure provides assurance that no important objections have been overlooked.

The greater part of the work is done by correspondence, and meetings are convened only when thoroughly justified. Each year some 10,000 working documents are circulated. Most standards require periodic revision. Several factors combine to render a standard out of date: technological evolution, new methods and materials, and new quality and safety requirements. To take account of these factors, ISO has established the general rule that all ISO standards should be reviewed every five years. On occasion it is necessary to revise a standard earlier.

A full list of all published ISO standards is given in the ISO Catalogue.

ISO Work in the Field of Occupational Safety

Every ISO International Standard is prepared with concern for safety; the safety factor is an integral part of the work of ISO.

The more than 10,000 International Standards already published by ISO cover a wide spectrum, from aerospace, aircraft and agriculture to building, fire tests, containers, medical equipment, mining equipment, computer languages, the environment, personal safety, ergonomics, pesticides, nuclear energy and so on.

Many International Standards are easily recognized as important in preventing occupational risks: examples are the basic symbol for signifying ionizing radiation or radioactive materials (ISO 361), safety colours and signs (ISO 3864) and the industrial safety helmet (ISO 3873) specified for medium protection in mining, quarrying, shipbuilding, structural engineering and forestry, and so on. Other International Standards are not so easily identified as being directly relevant, but have an equal impact on the prevention of occupational accidents and diseases; one example is ISO 2631, Evaluation of human exposure to whole body vibration, published in three parts, which grades the “reduced comfort boundary”, the “fatigue-decreased proficiency boundary” and the “exposure limit” according to varying levels of vibration frequency, acceleration magnitude and exposure time, and according to the direction of vibration relative to recognized axes of the human body. This Standard, like all others, is continuously updated in the light of research and experience, and relates to such forms of transport as dumpers, tractors, excavators and many other vehicles and worksites.

The ISO technical committees listed in table 1 are among the most prominent in the work for safety and accidents and disease prevention.

Table 1. ISO technical committees most concerned with prevention of occupational accidents and diseases

No.

Title

Typical example of ISO standard

10

Technical drawings, product definition and related documentation

ISO/DIS 11604

Technical product documentation—Data sheets for drawing materials and equipment and related documentation

21

Equipment for fire protection and fire-fighting

ISO 3941

Classification of fires

23

Tractors and machinery for agriculture and forestry

ISO 3776

Tractors for agriculture—Seat belt anchorages

35

Paints and varnishes

ISO 3679

Paints, varnishes, petroleum and related products—Determination of flashpoint—Rapid equilibrium method

43

Acoustics

ISO 4872

Acoustics—Measurement of airborne noise emitted by construction equipment intended for outdoor use—Method for determining compliance with noise limits

44

Welding and allied processes

ISO/DIS 10882-2

Health and safety in welding and allied processes—Sampling of airborne particles and gases in the operator’s breathing zone—Part 2: Sampling of gases

59

Building construction

ISO/TR 9527

Building construction —Needs of disabled people in buildings —Design guidelines

67

Materials, equipment and offshore structures for petroleum and natural gas industries

ISO 10418

Petroleum and natural gas industries—Offshore production platforms—Analysis, design, installation and testing of basic surface safety systems

82

Mining

ISO 3155

Stranded wire ropes for mine hoisting—Fibre components—Characteristics and tests

85

Nuclear energy

ISO 1709

Nuclear energy—Fissile materials—Principles of criticality, safety in storing, handling and processing

86

Refrigeration

ISO 5149

Mechanical refrigerating systems used for cooling and heating—Safety requirements

92

Fire safety

ISO 1716

Building materials—Determination of calorific potential

94

Personal safety—Protective clothing and equipment

ISO 2801

Clothing for protection against heat and fire—General recommendations for users and for those in charge of such users

96

Cranes

ISO 10245-1

Cranes—Limiting and indicating devices—Part 1: General

98

Bases for design of structures

ISO 2394

General principles on reliability for structures

101

Continuous mechanical handling equipment

ISO 1819

Continuous mechanical handling equipment—Safety code—General rules

108

Mechanical vibration and shock

ISO 2631-1

Evaluation of human exposure to whole-body vibration—Part 1: General requirements

110

Industrial trucks

ISO 1074

Counterbalanced fork-lift trucks—Stability tests

118

Compressors, pneumatic tools and pneumatic machines

ISO 5388

Stationary air compressors—Safety rules and code of practice

146

Air quality

ISO 8518

Workplace air—Determination of particulate lead and lead compounds—Flame atomic absorption spectrometric method

159

Ergonomics

ISO 7243

Hot environments—Estimation of the heat stress on worker, based on the WBGT index (wet bulb globe temperature)

199

Safety of machinery

ISO/TR 12100-1

Safety of machinery—Basic concepts, general principles for design—Part 1: Basic terminology, methodology

 

These technical committees and others have prepared or are preparing International Standards concerned with occupational risks in such areas as building construction sites, factories, docks, agriculture and forestry, nuclear installations, handling of materials and personal protective clothing and equipment.

The field of building provides a very clear example of the intensive concern for accident and disease prevention in the work of ISO. Of the more than 50 ISO technical committees dealing with some aspect of building or building materials, ten deal with the problems of the working environment. The physical factors in the building field cover aspects such as personal safety, vibration and shock, noise, plant and equipment, earth-moving machinery, cranes and lifting devices, and ergonomics. The chemical factors cover air quality, paints and varnishes, protection of welding workers, and protective clothing and equipment.

ISO TC 127 (Earth-moving machinery) has set up a subcommittee to deal specifically with safety requirements and human factors in respect of all the current basic types of earth-moving machinery such as tractors, loaders, dumpers, tractor scrapers, excavators and graders. Standards are already in existence for safe access to driving cabs via steps, ladders, walkways and platforms, and the dimensions of cabs have been established for both large and small operators, sitting or standing and in arctic clothing or not, as appropriate.

Sitting positions and the sizes and shapes of seats for different operators are also the subject of International Standards. Sitting positions are now being related to areas of comfort and to reach for both hand and foot controls, and Standards have been prepared to determine the field of view available to operators of earth-moving machines, based upon determination of the shape, size and position of areas of invisibility caused by obstructing parts of the machines.

To prevent machines from crushing their operators in the event of accidental overturning, roll-over protective structures (ROPS) have been developed and standardized. Falling rocks, trees and parts of buildings in the process of demolition can prove hazardous, so falling-object protective structures (FOPS) have been standardized so as to minimize the possibility of injury to the operator.

ISO 7000, Graphical symbols for use on equipment—Index and synopsis, provides a synopsis of several hundred internationally agreed graphic symbols to be placed on equipment or parts of equipment of any kind in order to instruct the persons handling the equipment as to its use and operation.

ISO work in the building field is both intensive and extensive, just as it is in other fields covered by ISO. (The scope of ISO includes most industrial, agricultural and maritime activities except the electrotechnical field, which is handled by the International Electrotechnical Commission, and pharmaceutical products, handled by the World Health Organization.)

On the factory floor, International Standards take on a special meaning as persons seeking work migrate from one country to another and often to jobs where they cannot speak or read the local language. Easily recognized graphic symbols for controls on machinery that conform to International Standards are vital here as in the building industry; so are standardized locations for foot and hand controls and International Standards for guards to moving parts.

An ISO safety code for compressors covers a wide range of safety and environmental factors, such as the prevention of oil inhalation and the control of toxic oil inhibitors, the prevention of oil coke ignition and of crankcase explosion, and the use of relief and safety valves.

The safety of continuous mechanical handling equipment is the subject of nearly 40 International Standards. They cover such aspects as safety and safety codes for the different kinds of equipment, such as belt conveyors, vibrating feeders, overhead chain conveyors, hydraulic conveyors, pneumatic handling equipment, and roller and screw conveyors.

In the field of agriculture and forestry, ISO has developed important International Standards that protect the worker. Anchorages for seat belts for farm tractors are the subject of a well known standard that is making the import-export trade easier for manufacturers as it is implemented, replacing a plethora of national standards and regulations on the subject. ISO standards even provide rules for presenting operators’ manuals and technical publications for agricultural tractors and machines, making them easy to read and understand.

On the docks the worker is protected by International Standards that determine the stability of cranes and mobile cranes in action and determine the effect of wind loads on crane structures. Other Standards cover indicators and safety devices that will operate in the event of an operator’s misjudgement. Still others cover indicators such as wind gauges, overvoltage annunciators and mass, slope and slew indicators and “automatic cut-off”, such as derricking limiters, load-lifting capacity limiters and slack rope stops. The Standards produced and in preparation should not only assist operators in their work, but enhance the working environment by inspiring confidence in all works personnel moving under and around cranage. A related International Standard provides discard criteria in relation to wear, corrosion, deformation and wire strand breaks, and is intended to guide competent persons involved in the maintenance and examination of cranes and lifting appliances. New Standards under development include out-of-service anchoring devices, maintenance, condition monitoring, safe use and safety signs.

Safety for the worker and others at or near nuclear installations is covered by a number of International Standards, and the work continues in this area. Subjects covered are methods for testing exposure meters and dosimeters, a test for contents leakage and radiation leakage, and the general principles for sampling airborne radioactive materials.

International Standards for protective clothing and equipment are the responsibility of ISO TC 94. In addition to the Standard for industrial safety helmets, it has developed a standardized vocabulary for personal eye-protectors, established utilization and transmittance requirements for infrared filters for eye protectors, and general recommendations for users and those in charge of users of clothing for protection against heat and fire.

The production and use of ISO International Standards such as these, produced through worldwide cooperation, have unquestionably improved the quality of the workplace.

 

Back

Read 5502 times Last modified on Saturday, 16 July 2011 16:37

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Disability and Work
Ethical Issues
Education and Training
Development, Technology, and Trade
Labour Relations and Human Resource Management
Resources: Information and OSH
Resources, Institutional, Structural and Legal
Community level
Regional and National Examples
International, Government and Non-Governmental Safety and Health
Topics In Workers Compensation Systems
Work and Workers
Worker's Compensation Systems
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides