الثلاثاء، فبراير 15 2011 20: 03

الوقاية من المخاطر المهنية في الارتفاعات العالية

قيم هذا المقال
(1 صوت)

يؤدي العمل على ارتفاعات عالية إلى مجموعة متنوعة من الاستجابات البيولوجية ، كما هو موضح في مكان آخر في هذا الفصل. يجب أن تتسبب الاستجابة المفرطة التهوية للارتفاع في زيادة ملحوظة في الجرعة الإجمالية للمواد الخطرة التي يمكن استنشاقها من قبل الأشخاص المعرضين مهنياً ، مقارنة بالأشخاص الذين يعملون في ظروف مماثلة على مستوى سطح البحر. وهذا يعني أنه يجب تقليل حدود التعرض لمدة 8 ساعات المستخدمة كأساس لمعايير التعرض. في شيلي ، على سبيل المثال ، أدت ملاحظة أن السحار السيليسي يتطور بشكل أسرع في المناجم على ارتفاعات عالية ، إلى انخفاض مستوى التعرض المسموح به المتناسب مع الضغط الجوي في مكان العمل ، عند التعبير عنه من حيث mg / m3. في حين أن هذا قد يكون تصحيحًا مفرطًا عند الارتفاعات المتوسطة ، فإن الخطأ سيكون لصالح العامل المكشوف. لا تتطلب قيم حد العتبة (TLVs) ، معبرًا عنها من حيث الأجزاء لكل مليون (جزء في المليون) ، أي تعديل ، لأن كلاً من نسبة الملي مولات من الملوثات لكل مول من الأكسجين في الهواء وعدد مولات الأكسجين التي يحتاجها العامل تظل ثابتة تقريبًا على ارتفاعات مختلفة ، على الرغم من اختلاف حجم الهواء الذي يحتوي على مول واحد من الأكسجين.

للتأكد من صحة ذلك ، يجب أن تكون طريقة القياس المستخدمة لتحديد التركيز في جزء في المليون حجمية بالفعل ، كما هو الحال مع جهاز Orsat أو أدوات Bacharach Fyrite. لا تعد أنابيب قياس الألوان التي يتم معايرتها للقراءة في جزء في المليون قياسات حجمية حقيقية لأن العلامات الموجودة على الأنبوب ناتجة بالفعل عن تفاعل كيميائي بين ملوث الهواء وبعض الكواشف. في جميع التفاعلات الكيميائية ، تتحد المواد بما يتناسب مع عدد الشامات الموجودة ، وليس بما يتناسب مع الأحجام. تسحب مضخة الهواء التي تعمل يدويًا حجمًا ثابتًا من الهواء عبر الأنبوب على أي ارتفاع. سيحتوي هذا الحجم على ارتفاع أعلى على كتلة أصغر من الملوثات ، مما يعطي قراءة أقل من التركيز الحجمي الفعلي في جزء في المليون (Leichnitz 1977). يجب تصحيح القراءات بضرب القراءة في الضغط الجوي عند مستوى سطح البحر وقسمة النتيجة على الضغط الجوي في موقع أخذ العينات ، باستخدام نفس الوحدات (مثل torr أو mbar) لكلا الضغطين.

عينات منتشرة: تشير قوانين انتشار الغاز إلى أن كفاءة جمع العينات المنتشرة مستقلة عن تغيرات الضغط الجوي. يُظهر العمل التجريبي الذي قام به Lindenboom and Palmes (1983) أن العوامل الأخرى ، التي لم يتم تحديدها حتى الآن ، تؤثر على جمع NO2 في ضغوط منخفضة. يبلغ الخطأ حوالي 3.3٪ عند 3,300 متر و 8.5٪ عند ارتفاع مكافئ 5,400 متر. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث حول أسباب هذا الاختلاف وتأثير الارتفاع على الغازات والأبخرة الأخرى.

لا توجد معلومات متاحة عن تأثير الارتفاع على أجهزة الكشف عن الغاز المحمولة التي تمت معايرتها في جزء في المليون ، والمجهزة بأجهزة استشعار الانتشار الكهروكيميائية ، ولكن يمكن توقع تطبيق نفس التصحيح المذكور تحت أنابيب قياس الألوان. من الواضح أن أفضل إجراء هو معايرتها على ارتفاع باستخدام غاز اختبار بتركيز معروف.

يجب فحص مبادئ تشغيل الأدوات الإلكترونية وقياسها بعناية لتحديد ما إذا كانت بحاجة إلى إعادة المعايرة عند استخدامها على ارتفاعات عالية.

مضخات أخذ العينات: عادة ما تكون هذه المضخات حجمية - أي أنها تزيح حجمًا ثابتًا في كل دورة - لكنها عادةً ما تكون المكون الأخير في مجموعة أخذ العينات ، ويتأثر الحجم الفعلي للهواء المستنشق بمقاومة التدفق التي تعارضها المرشحات ، والخرطوم ، عدادات التدفق والفتحات التي تشكل جزءًا من قطار أخذ العينات. سوف تشير مقاييس الدوران إلى معدل تدفق أقل من ذلك الذي يتدفق بالفعل عبر مجموعة أخذ العينات.

أفضل حل لمشكلة أخذ العينات على ارتفاعات عالية هو معايرة نظام أخذ العينات في موقع أخذ العينات ، وتجنب مشكلة التصحيحات. يتوفر مختبر معايرة فيلم الفقاعة بحجم حقيبة الملفات من الشركات المصنعة لمضخات أخذ العينات. يتم نقل هذا بسهولة إلى الموقع ويسمح بالمعايرة السريعة في ظل ظروف العمل الفعلية. حتى أنها تتضمن طابعة توفر سجلاً دائمًا للمعايرات التي تم إجراؤها.

TLVs وجداول العمل

تم تحديد TLVs ليوم عمل عادي مدته 8 ساعات وأسبوع عمل مدته 40 ساعة. الاتجاه الحالي في العمل على ارتفاعات عالية هو العمل لساعات أطول لعدد من الأيام ثم الانتقال إلى أقرب مدينة لفترة راحة ممتدة ، مع الحفاظ على متوسط ​​الوقت في العمل ضمن الحد القانوني ، وهو 48 ساعة في تشيلي في الأسبوع. .

تجعل حالات الخروج عن جداول العمل العادية البالغة 8 ساعات من الضروري فحص التراكم المحتمل للمواد السامة في الجسم بسبب زيادة التعرض وتقليل أوقات إزالة السموم.

اعتمدت لوائح الصحة المهنية الشيلية مؤخرًا "نموذج موجز وسكالا" الذي وصفه Paustenbach (1985) لتقليل TLVs في حالة ساعات العمل الممتدة. في المرتفعات ، يجب أيضًا استخدام تصحيح الضغط الجوي. ينتج عن هذا عادة تخفيضات كبيرة للغاية لحدود التعرض المسموح بها.

في حالة الأخطار التراكمية التي لا تخضع لآليات إزالة السموم ، مثل السيليكا ، يجب أن يكون التصحيح لساعات العمل الممتدة متناسبًا بشكل مباشر مع ساعات العمل الفعلية التي تزيد عن 2,000 ساعة في السنة المعتادة.

الأخطار المادية

الضوضاء: يرتبط مستوى ضغط الصوت الناتج عن ضوضاء بسعة معينة ارتباطًا مباشرًا بكثافة الهواء ، كما هو الحال مع كمية الطاقة المنقولة. هذا يعني أن القراءة التي يتم الحصول عليها بواسطة مقياس مستوى الصوت والتأثير على الأذن الداخلية يتم تقليلهما بنفس الطريقة ، لذلك لن تكون هناك حاجة إلى تصحيحات.

الحوادث: نقص الأكسجة له ​​تأثير واضح على الجهاز العصبي المركزي ، مما يقلل من وقت الاستجابة ويعطل الرؤية. ينبغي توقع زيادة في وقوع الحوادث. فوق 3,000 متر ، سيستفيد أداء الأشخاص الذين يقومون بمهام حرجة من الأكسجين الإضافي.


ملاحظة تحذيرية: أخذ عينات الهواء 

كينيث آي بيرجر وويليام إن روم

تتطلب مراقبة وصيانة السلامة المهنية للعمال اعتبارًا خاصًا لبيئات الارتفاعات العالية. يمكن توقع أن تؤثر ظروف الارتفاعات العالية على دقة أدوات أخذ العينات والقياس التي تمت معايرتها للاستخدام على مستوى سطح البحر. على سبيل المثال ، تعتمد أجهزة أخذ العينات النشطة على المضخات لسحب كمية من الهواء إلى وسط تجميع. يعد القياس الدقيق لمعدل تدفق المضخة أمرًا ضروريًا لتحديد الحجم الدقيق للهواء المسحوب من خلال جهاز أخذ العينات ، وبالتالي تركيز الملوث. غالبًا ما يتم إجراء معايرة التدفق عند مستوى سطح البحر. ومع ذلك ، قد تؤدي التغييرات في كثافة الهواء مع زيادة الارتفاع إلى تغيير المعايرة ، وبالتالي إبطال القياسات اللاحقة التي تم إجراؤها في بيئات الارتفاعات العالية. تشمل العوامل الأخرى التي قد تؤثر على دقة أدوات أخذ العينات والقياس على ارتفاعات عالية درجة الحرارة المتغيرة والرطوبة النسبية. هناك عامل إضافي يجب مراعاته عند تقييم تعرض العمال للمواد المستنشقة وهو زيادة التهوية التنفسية التي تحدث مع التأقلم. نظرًا لأن التهوية تزداد بشكل ملحوظ بعد الصعود إلى ارتفاعات عالية ، فقد يتعرض العمال لجرعات إجمالية مفرطة من الملوثات المهنية المستنشقة ، على الرغم من أن التركيزات المقاسة للملوثات أقل من قيمة حد العتبة.


 

الرجوع

عرض 8279 مرات آخر تعديل يوم السبت ، 22 أكتوبر 2011 18:24

"إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

المحتويات

الضغط الجوي ، مراجع مخفضة

ديمبسي ، جا ، وإتش في فورستر. 1982. وساطة تكييفات التهوية. فيسيول ريف 62: 262-346. 

Gazenko ، OG (محرر) 1987. فسيولوجيا الإنسان في الارتفاعات العالية (بالروسية). موسكو: نوكا.

هاكيت ، PH و Oelz. 1992. إجماع بحيرة لويز على تعريف وتقدير مرض المرتفعات. في نقص الأكسجة وطب الجبال، تم تحريره بواسطة JR Sutton و G Coates و CS Houston. برلنغتون: طابعات كوين سيتي.

Hornbein و TF و BD Townes و RB Schoene و JR Sutton و CS Houston. 1989. التكلفة التي يتحملها الجهاز العصبي المركزي من التسلق إلى علو شاهق للغاية. New Engl J Med 321: 1714-1719.

لاهيري ، س. 1972. الجوانب الديناميكية لتنظيم التهوية في الإنسان أثناء التأقلم مع الارتفاعات العالية. رد فيسيول 16: 245-258.

Leichnitz، K. 1977. استخدام أنابيب الكاشف في الظروف القاسية (الرطوبة ، الضغط ، درجة الحرارة). صباحا إند Hyg Assoc J 38: 707.

Lindenboom و RH و ED Palmes. 1983. تأثير انخفاض الضغط الجوي على جهاز أخذ العينات الانتشار. صباحا إند Hyg Assoc J 44: 105.

ماسوياما ، إس ، إتش كيمورا ، وتي سوجيتا. 1986. التحكم في التهوية في المتسلقين في المرتفعات القصوى. J Appl Physiol 61: 500-506.

مونجي ، سي 1948. التأقلم في جبال الأنديز: التأكيدات التاريخية "للعدوان المناخي" في تطور الإنسان الأنديز. بالتيمور: جامعة جونز هوبكنز. يضعط.

باوستنباخ ، دي جي. 1985. حدود التعرض المهني ، الحرائك الدوائية وجداول العمل غير العادية. في باتي للنظافة الصناعية وعلم السمومتم تحريره بواسطة LJ Cralley و LV Cralley. نيويورك: وايلي.

Rebuck و AS و EJ Campbell. 1974. طريقة سريرية لتقييم استجابة التنفس الصناعي لنقص الأكسجة. أنا Rev Respir ديس 109: 345-350.

Richalet و JP و A Keromes و Bersch. 1988. الخصائص الفسيولوجية لمتسلقي المرتفعات العالية. علوم الرياضة 3: 89-108.

روث ، إم. 1964. أجواء مقصورة الفضاء: الجزء الثاني ، مخاطر الحريق والانفجار. تقرير ناسا SP-48. واشنطن العاصمة: ناسا.

شوين ، ر. 1982. التحكم في التهوية عند المتسلقين إلى المرتفعات القصوى. J Appl Physiol 53: 886-890.

Schoene و RB و S Lahiri و PH Hackett. 1984. علاقة استجابة التنفس الصناعي بنقص التأكسج بأداء التمارين على جبل إيفرست. J Appl Physiol 56: 1478-1483.

وارد ، وعضو البرلمان ، وشبيبة ميلدج ، وجي بي ويست. 1995. طب المرتفعات وعلم وظائف الأعضاء. لندن: تشابمان آند هول.

الغرب ، جي بي. 1995. تخصيب الأكسجين لهواء الغرفة للتخفيف من نقص الأكسجة في المرتفعات العالية. رد فيسيول 99: 225-232.

-. 1997. مخاطر الحريق في أجواء غنية بالأكسجين تحت ضغوط بارومترية منخفضة. طيران الفضاء البيئة ميد. شنومكس: شنومكس-شنومكس.

الغرب و JB و S Lahiri. 1984. ارتفاع عال ورجل. بيثيسدا ، ماريلاند: الجمعية الفسيولوجية الأمريكية.

الغرب ، جي بي و بي دي واغنر. 1980. تبادل الغاز المتوقع على قمة جبل إيفرست. رد فيسيول 42: 1-16.

West و JB و SJ Boyer و DJ Graber و PH Hackett و KH Maret و JS Milledge و RM Peters و CJ Pizzo و M Samaja و FH Sarnquist و RB Schoene و RM Winslow. 1983. أقصى قدر من التمرينات على ارتفاعات قصوى في جبل إيفرست. J Appl Physiol. 55: 688-698. 

Whitelaw و WA و JP Derenne و J Milic-Emili. 1975. ضغط الانسداد كمقياس لمخرجات مركز الجهاز التنفسي في الإنسان الواعي. رد فيسيول 23: 181-199.

وينسلو و RM و CC Monge. 1987. نقص الأكسجة ، كثرة الحمر ، ومرض الجبال المزمن. بالتيمور: جامعة جونز هوبكنز. يضعط.

Tuesday, 15 February 2011 20:03

Prevention of Occupational Hazards at High Altitudes

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Working at high altitudes induces a variety of biological responses, as described elsewhere in this chapter. The hyperventilatory response to altitude should cause a marked increase in the total dose of hazardous substances which may be inhaled by persons occupationally exposed, as compared to people working under similar conditions at sea level. This implies that 8-hour exposure limits used as the basis of exposure standards should be reduced. In Chile, for example, the observation that silicosis progresses faster in mines at high altitudes, led to the reduction of the permitted exposure level proportional to the barometric pressure at the workplace, when expressed in terms of mg/m3. While this may be overcorrecting at intermediate altitudes, the error will be in the favour the exposed worker. The threshold limit values (TLVs), expressed in terms of parts per million (ppm), require no adjustment, however, because both the proportion of millimoles of contaminant per mole of oxygen in air and the number of moles of oxygen required by a worker remain approximately constant at different altitudes, even though the air volume containing one mole of oxygen will vary.

In order to assure that this is true, however, the method of measurement used to determine the concentration in ppm must be truly volumetric, as is the case with Orsat’s apparatus or the Bacharach Fyrite instruments. Colourimetric tubes that are calibrated to read in ppm are not true volumetric measurements because the markings on the tube are actually caused by a chemical reaction between the air contaminant and some reagent. In all chemical reactions, substances combine in proportion to the number of moles present, not in proportion to volumes. The hand-operated air pump draws a constant volume of air through the tube at any altitude. This volume at a higher altitude will contain a smaller mass of contaminant, giving a reading lower than the actual volumetric concentration in ppm (Leichnitz 1977). Readings should be corrected by multiplying the reading by the barometric pressure at sea level and dividing the result by the barometric pressure at the sampling site, using the same units (such as torr or mbar) for both pressures.

Diffusional samplers: The laws of gas diffusion indicate that the collection efficiency of diffusional samplers is independent of barometric pressure changes. Experimental work by Lindenboom and Palmes (1983) shows that other, as yet undetermined factors influence the collection of NO2 at reduced pressures. The error is approximately 3.3% at 3,300 m and 8.5% at 5,400 m equivalent altitude. More research is needed on the causes of this variation and the effect of altitude on other gases and vapours.

No information is available on the effect of altitude on portable gas detectors calibrated in ppm, which are equipped with electrochemical diffusion sensors, but it could reasonably be expected that the same correction mentioned under colourimetric tubes would apply. Obviously the best procedure would be to calibrate them at altitude with a test gas of known concentration.

The principles of operation and measurement of electronic instruments should be examined carefully to determine whether they need recalibration when employed at high altitudes.

Sampling pumps: These pumps usually are volumetric—that is, they displace a fixed volume per revolution—but they usually are the last component of the sampling train, and the actual volume of air aspirated is affected by the resistance to flow opposed by the filters, hose, flow meters and orifices that are part of the sampling train. Rotameters will indicate a lower flow rate than that actually flowing through the sampling train.

The best solution of the problem of sampling at high altitudes is to calibrate the sampling system at the sampling site, obviating the problem of corrections. A briefcase sized bubble film calibration laboratory is available from sampling pump manufacturers. This is easily carried to location and permits rapid calibration under actual working conditions. It even includes a printer which provides a permanent record of calibrations made.

TLVs and Work Schedules

TLVs have been specified for a normal 8-hour workday and a 40-hour workweek. The present tendency in work at high altitudes is to work longer hours for a number of days and then commute to the nearest town for an extended rest period, keeping the average time at work within the legal limit, which in Chile is 48 hours per week.

Departures from the normal 8-hour working schedules make it necessary to examine the possible accumulation in the body of toxic substances due to the increase in exposure and reduction of detoxification times.

Chilean occupational health regulations have recently adopted the “Brief and Scala model’’ described by Paustenbach (1985) for reducing TLVs in the case of extended working hours. At altitude, the correction for barometric pressure should also be used. This usually results in very substantial reductions of permissible exposure limits.

In the case of cumulative hazards not subject to detoxifying mechanisms, such as silica, correction for extended working hours should be directly proportional to the actual hours worked in excess of the usual 2,000 hours per year.

Physical Hazards

Noise: The sound pressure level produced by noise of a given amplitude is in direct relation to air density, as is the amount of energy transmitted. This means that the reading obtained by a sound level meter and the effect on the inner ear are reduced in the same way, so no corrections would be required.

Accidents: Hypoxia has a pronounced influence on the central nervous system, reducing response time and disrupting vision. An increase in the incidence of accidents should be expected. Above 3,000 m, the performance of persons engaged in critical tasks will benefit from supplementary oxygen.


Precautionary Note: Air Sampling 

Kenneth I. Berger and William N. Rom

The monitoring and maintenance of the occupational safety of workers requires special consideration for high altitude environments. High-altitude conditions can be expected to influence the accuracy of sampling and measuring instruments that have been calibrated for use at sea level. For example, active sampling devices rely on pumps to pull a volume of air onto a collection medium. Accurate measurement of the pump flow rate is essential in order to determine the exact volume of air drawn through the sampler and, therefore, the concentration of the contaminant. Flow calibrations are often performed at sea level. However, changes in air density with increasing altitude may alter the calibration, thereby invalidating subsequent measurements made in high altitude environments. Other factors that may influence the accuracy of sampling and measurement instruments at high altitude include changing temperature and relative humidity. An additional factor that should be considered when evaluating worker exposure to inhaled substances is the increased respiratory ventilation that occurs with acclimatization. Since ventilation is markedly increased after ascent to high altitude, workers may be exposed to excessive total doses of inhaled occupational contaminants, even though measured concentrations of the contaminant are below the threshold limit value.


 

Back

Read 5272 times Last modified on Saturday, 22 October 2011 18:24

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Barometric Pressure Increased
Barometric Pressure Reduced
Biological Hazards
Disasters, Natural and Technological
Electricity
Fire
Heat and Cold
Hours of Work
Indoor Air Quality
Indoor Environmental Control
Lighting
Noise
Radiation: Ionizing
Radiation: Non-Ionizing
Vibration
Violence
Visual Display Units
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Barometric Pressure, Reduced References

Dempsey, JA and HV Forster. 1982. Mediation of ventilatory adaptations. Physiol Rev 62:262-346. 

Gazenko, OG (ed.) 1987. Physiology of Man At High Altitudes (in Russian). Moscow: Nauka.

Hackett, PH and O Oelz. 1992. The Lake Louise consensus on the definition and quantification of altitude illness. In Hypoxia and Mountain Medicine, edited by JR Sutton, G Coates, and CS Houston. Burlington: Queen City Printers.

Hornbein, TF, BD Townes, RB Schoene, JR Sutton, and CS Houston. 1989. The cost to the central nervous system of climbing to extremely high altitude. New Engl J Med 321:1714-1719.

Lahiri, S. 1972. Dynamic aspects of regulation of ventilation in man during acclimatization to high altitude. Resp Physiol 16:245-258.

Leichnitz, K. 1977. Use of detector tubes under extreme conditions (humidity, pressure, temperature). Am Ind Hyg Assoc J 38:707.

Lindenboom, RH and ED Palmes. 1983. Effect of reduced atmospheric pressure on a diffusional sampler. Am Ind Hyg Assoc J 44:105.

Masuyama, S, H Kimura, and T Sugita. 1986. Control of ventilation in extreme-altitude climbers. J Appl Physiol 61:500-506.

Monge, C. 1948. Acclimatization in the Andes: Historical Confirmations of “Climatic Aggression” in the Development of Andean Man. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Univ. Press.

Paustenbach, DJ. 1985. Occupational exposure limits, pharmacokinetics and unusual work schedules. In Patty’s Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology, edited by LJ Cralley and LV Cralley. New York: Wiley.

Rebuck, AS and EJ Campbell. 1974. A clinical method for assessing the ventilatory response to hypoxia. Am Rev Respir Dis 109:345-350.

Richalet, J-P, A Keromes, and B Bersch. 1988. Physiological characteristics of high altitude climbers. Sci Sport 3:89-108.

Roth, EM. 1964. Space Cabin Atmospheres: Part II, Fire and Blast Hazards. NASA Report SP-48. Washington, DC: NASA.

Schoene, RB. 1982. Control of ventilation in climbers to extreme altitude. J Appl Physiol 53:886-890.

Schoene, RB, S Lahiri, and PH Hackett. 1984. Relationship of hypoxic ventilatory response to exercise performance on Mount Everest. J Appl Physiol 56:1478-1483.

Ward, MP, JS Milledge, and JB West. 1995. High Altitude Medicine and Physiology. London: Chapman & Hall.

West, JB. 1995. Oxygen enrichment of room air to relieve the hypoxia of high altitude. Resp Physiol 99:225-232.

—. 1997. Fire hazard in oxygen-enriched atmospheres at low barometric pressures. Aviat Space Environ Med. 68: 159-162.

West, JB and S Lahiri. 1984. High Altitude and Man. Bethesda, Md: American Physiological Society.

West, JB and PD Wagner. 1980. Predicted gas exchange on the summit of Mount Everest. Resp Physiol 42:1-16.

West, JB, SJ Boyer, DJ Graber, PH Hackett, KH Maret, JS Milledge, RM Peters, CJ Pizzo, M Samaja, FH Sarnquist, RB Schoene and RM Winslow. 1983. Maximal exercise at extreme altitudes on Mount Everest. J Appl Physiol. 55:688-698. 

Whitelaw, WA, JP Derenne, and J Milic-Emili. 1975. Occlusion pressure as a measure of respiratory center output in conscious man. Resp Physiol 23:181-199.

Winslow, RM and CC Monge. 1987. Hypoxia, Polycythemia, and Chronic Mountain Sickness. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Univ. Press.