週二,二月15 2011:20 03

高海拔職業病危害預防

評價這個項目
(1投票)

如本章其他地方所述,在高海拔地區工作會引起多種生物反應。 與在海平麵類似條件下工作的人相比,對海拔高度的換氣過度反應會導致職業暴露人員可能吸入的有害物質的總劑量顯著增加。 這意味著用作暴露標準基礎的 8 小時暴露限制應該減少。 例如,在智利,觀察到矽肺病在高海拔礦井中進展得更快,導致允許的暴露水平降低,與工作場所的大氣壓力成正比,以 mg/m 表示3. 雖然這在中等高度可能會矯枉過正,但該錯誤將對暴露在外的工人有利。 然而,以百萬分率 (ppm) 表示的閾限值 (TLV) 無需調整,因為空氣中每摩爾氧氣所含污染物的毫摩爾比例和工人所需的氧氣摩爾數在不同的高度保持大致恆定,即使含有一摩爾氧氣的空氣體積會發生變化。

然而,為了確保這是真的,用於確定 ppm 濃度的測量方法必須是真正的體積法,就像 Orsat 的儀器或 Bacharach Fyrite 儀器的情況一樣。 校準為 ppm 讀數的比色管不是真正的體積測量,因為管上的標記實際上是由空氣污染物和某些試劑之間的化學反應引起的。 在所有化學反應中,物質的結合與存在的摩爾數成比例,而不是與體積成比例。 手動操作的氣泵在任何高度通過管子抽取恆定體積的空氣。 這個體積在更高的高度將包含更小的污染物質量,給出的讀數低於以 ppm 為單位的實際體積濃度(Leichnitz 1977)。 應通過將讀數乘以海平面大氣壓力並將結果除以採樣點的大氣壓力來校正讀數,對兩種壓力使用相同的單位(例如託或毫巴)。

擴散採樣器: 氣體擴散定律表明擴散採樣器的收集效率與氣壓變化無關。 Lindenboom 和 Palmes (1983) 的實驗工作表明,其他尚未確定的因素會影響 NO 的收集2 在減壓下。 誤差在 3.3 米處約為 3,300%,在 8.5 米等效高度處約為 5,400%。 需要對這種變化的原因以及海拔高度對其他氣體和蒸汽的影響進行更多研究。

沒有關於海拔高度對以 ppm 為單位校準的便攜式氣體檢測器的影響的信息,這些檢測器配備有電化學擴散傳感器,但可以合理地預期比色管下提到的相同校正將適用。 顯然,最好的方法是在高空用已知濃度的測試氣體校準它們。

應仔細檢查電子儀器的操作和測量原理,以確定它們在高海拔地區使用時是否需要重新校準。

採樣泵: 這些泵通常是容積式的——也就是說,它們每轉排出一個固定的體積——但它們通常是採樣系統的最後一個組件,吸入的空氣的實際體積受到過濾器、軟管、作為取樣列的一部分的流量計和孔口。 轉子流量計將指示比實際流過採樣列的流量更低的流量。

高海拔採樣問題的最佳解決方案是在採樣點校准採樣系統,避免校正問題。 採樣泵製造商提供公文包大小的氣泡膜校準實驗室。 這很容易攜帶到位,並允許在實際工作條件下進行快速校準。 它甚至包括一台打印機,可提供所做校準的永久記錄。

TLV 和工作時間表

TLV 已指定為正常的 8 小時工作日和 40 小時工作週。 目前在高海拔地區工作的趨勢是連續幾天延長工作時間,然後通勤到最近的城鎮休息一段時間,將平均工作時間保持在法定限度內,智利的法定限度為每週 48 小時.

偏離正常的 8 小時工作時間表,因此有必要檢查由於暴露增加和解毒時間減少而可能在體內積累的有毒物質。

智利職業健康法規最近採用了 Paustenbach(1985 年)描述的“Brief and Scala 模型”,用於在延長工作時間的情況下減少 TLV。 在海拔高度,還應使用大氣壓力校正。 這通常會導致允許的接觸限值大幅降低。

對於不受解毒機制影響的累積危害(例如二氧化矽),延長工作時間的修正應與每年超過通常 2,000 小時的實際工作時間成正比。

物理危害

噪音: 給定振幅的噪聲產生的聲壓級與空氣密度直接相關,傳輸的能量也是如此。 這意味著聲級計獲得的讀數和對內耳的影響以同樣的方式減少,因此不需要校正。

事故: 缺氧對中樞神經系統有顯著影響,會縮短反應時間並擾亂視力。 預計事故發生率會增加。 3,000 米以上,從事重要任務的人員的表現將受益於補充氧氣。


預防說明:空氣採樣 

Kenneth I. Berger 和 William N. Rom

監測和維護工人的職業安全需要特別考慮高海拔環境。 預計高海拔條件會影響已校準用於海平面的採樣和測量儀器的準確性。 例如,主動採樣設備依靠泵將一定體積的空氣抽到收集介質上。 準確測量泵流量對於確定通過採樣器吸入的空氣的確切體積以及污染物的濃度至關重要。 流量校准通常在海平面進行。 然而,空氣密度隨高度的變化而變化可能會改變校準,從而使在高海拔環境中進行的後續測量無效。 其他可能影響高海拔採樣和測量儀器準確性的因素包括不斷變化的溫度和相對濕度。 在評估工人接觸吸入物質時應考慮的另一個因素是適應環境時呼吸通氣量增加。 由於上升到高海拔後通風顯著增加,工人可能會接觸到過量吸入的職業污染物的總劑量,即使污染物的測量濃度低於閾限值。


 

上一頁

更多內容 7878 最後修改於 22 年 2011 月 18 日星期六 24:XNUMX

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

大氣壓力,減少參考

登普西、JA 和 HV 福斯特。 1982. 通氣適應的調解。 Physiol Rev 62:262-346。 

Gazenko,OG(編輯)1987。 高海拔地區人的生理學 (俄語). 莫斯科:瑙卡。

哈克特、PH 和 O Oelz。 1992. 關於高原病定義和量化的路易斯湖共識。 在 缺氧山藥,由 JR Sutton、G Coates 和 CS Houston 編輯。 伯靈頓:皇后城打印機。

Hornbein、TF、BD Townes、RB Schoene、JR Sutton 和 CS Houston。 1989. 攀登至極高海拔對中樞神經系統的影響。 New Engl J Med 321:1714-1719。

Lahiri, S. 1972。人類適應高海拔過程中通風調節的動態方面。 呼吸生理學 16:245-258。

Leichnitz, K. 1977。在極端條件(濕度、壓力、溫度)下使用檢測管。 美國工業衛生協會 J 38:707。

Lindenboom, RH 和 ED Palmes。 1983. 大氣壓力降低對擴散採樣器的影響。 美國工業衛生協會 J 44:105。

Masuyama、S、H Kimura 和 T Sugita。 1986. 極端高度登山者的通風控制。 J Appl Physiol 61:500-506。

Monge, C. 1948。 安第斯山脈的適應環境:安第斯山脈人類發展過程中“氣候侵略”的歷史證實。 巴爾的摩:約翰霍普金斯大學。 按。

帕斯滕巴赫,DJ。 1985. 職業接觸限值、藥代動力學和不尋常的工作時間表。 在 帕蒂的工業衛生學和毒理學,由 LJ Cralley 和 LV Cralley 編輯。 紐約:威利。

Rebuck、AS 和 EJ Campbell。 1974. 一種評估缺氧通氣反應的臨床方法。 Am Rev 呼吸困難 109:345-350。

Richalet, JP、A Keromes 和 B Bersch。 1988. 高海拔登山者的生理特徵。 科學運動 3:89-108。

羅斯,EM。 1964. 太空艙大氣:第二部分,火災和爆炸危險。 美國宇航局報告 SP-48。 華盛頓特區:美國宇航局。

舍恩,RB。 1982. 控制登山者到極端高度的通風。 J Appl Physiol 53:886-890。

Schoene、RB、S Lahiri 和 PH Hackett。 1984. 缺氧通氣反應與珠穆朗瑪峰運動表現的關係。 J Appl Physiol 56:1478-1483。

Ward、MP、JS Milledge 和 JB West。 1995. 高海拔醫學和生理學。 倫敦:查普曼和霍爾。

韋斯特,JB。 1995. 室內空氣富氧緩解高原缺氧。 呼吸生理學 99:225-232。

—. 1997. 低氣壓下富氧大氣中的火災危險。 航空航天環境醫學。 68:159-162。

韋斯特、JB 和 S Lahiri。 1984. 高海拔和人。 馬里蘭州貝塞斯達:美國生理學會。

韋斯特、JB 和 PD 瓦格納。 1980. 預測珠穆朗瑪峰頂峰的氣體交換。 呼吸生理學 42:1-16。

West、JB、SJ Boyer、DJ Graber、PH Hackett、KH Maret、JS Milledge、RM Peters、CJ Pizzo、M Samaja、FH Sarnquist、RB Schoene 和 RM Winslow。 1983 年,在珠穆朗瑪峰的極端高度進行最大程度的鍛煉。 J Appl Physiol。 55:688-698。 

Whitelaw, WA, JP Derenne 和 J Milic-Emili。 1975. 閉塞壓力作為有意識人呼吸中樞輸出的量度。 呼吸生理學 23:181-199。

溫斯洛、RM 和 CC Monge。 1987. 缺氧、紅細胞增多症和慢性高山病。 巴爾的摩:約翰霍普金斯大學。 按。

Tuesday, 15 February 2011 20:03

Prevention of Occupational Hazards at High Altitudes

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Working at high altitudes induces a variety of biological responses, as described elsewhere in this chapter. The hyperventilatory response to altitude should cause a marked increase in the total dose of hazardous substances which may be inhaled by persons occupationally exposed, as compared to people working under similar conditions at sea level. This implies that 8-hour exposure limits used as the basis of exposure standards should be reduced. In Chile, for example, the observation that silicosis progresses faster in mines at high altitudes, led to the reduction of the permitted exposure level proportional to the barometric pressure at the workplace, when expressed in terms of mg/m3. While this may be overcorrecting at intermediate altitudes, the error will be in the favour the exposed worker. The threshold limit values (TLVs), expressed in terms of parts per million (ppm), require no adjustment, however, because both the proportion of millimoles of contaminant per mole of oxygen in air and the number of moles of oxygen required by a worker remain approximately constant at different altitudes, even though the air volume containing one mole of oxygen will vary.

In order to assure that this is true, however, the method of measurement used to determine the concentration in ppm must be truly volumetric, as is the case with Orsat’s apparatus or the Bacharach Fyrite instruments. Colourimetric tubes that are calibrated to read in ppm are not true volumetric measurements because the markings on the tube are actually caused by a chemical reaction between the air contaminant and some reagent. In all chemical reactions, substances combine in proportion to the number of moles present, not in proportion to volumes. The hand-operated air pump draws a constant volume of air through the tube at any altitude. This volume at a higher altitude will contain a smaller mass of contaminant, giving a reading lower than the actual volumetric concentration in ppm (Leichnitz 1977). Readings should be corrected by multiplying the reading by the barometric pressure at sea level and dividing the result by the barometric pressure at the sampling site, using the same units (such as torr or mbar) for both pressures.

Diffusional samplers: The laws of gas diffusion indicate that the collection efficiency of diffusional samplers is independent of barometric pressure changes. Experimental work by Lindenboom and Palmes (1983) shows that other, as yet undetermined factors influence the collection of NO2 at reduced pressures. The error is approximately 3.3% at 3,300 m and 8.5% at 5,400 m equivalent altitude. More research is needed on the causes of this variation and the effect of altitude on other gases and vapours.

No information is available on the effect of altitude on portable gas detectors calibrated in ppm, which are equipped with electrochemical diffusion sensors, but it could reasonably be expected that the same correction mentioned under colourimetric tubes would apply. Obviously the best procedure would be to calibrate them at altitude with a test gas of known concentration.

The principles of operation and measurement of electronic instruments should be examined carefully to determine whether they need recalibration when employed at high altitudes.

Sampling pumps: These pumps usually are volumetric—that is, they displace a fixed volume per revolution—but they usually are the last component of the sampling train, and the actual volume of air aspirated is affected by the resistance to flow opposed by the filters, hose, flow meters and orifices that are part of the sampling train. Rotameters will indicate a lower flow rate than that actually flowing through the sampling train.

The best solution of the problem of sampling at high altitudes is to calibrate the sampling system at the sampling site, obviating the problem of corrections. A briefcase sized bubble film calibration laboratory is available from sampling pump manufacturers. This is easily carried to location and permits rapid calibration under actual working conditions. It even includes a printer which provides a permanent record of calibrations made.

TLVs and Work Schedules

TLVs have been specified for a normal 8-hour workday and a 40-hour workweek. The present tendency in work at high altitudes is to work longer hours for a number of days and then commute to the nearest town for an extended rest period, keeping the average time at work within the legal limit, which in Chile is 48 hours per week.

Departures from the normal 8-hour working schedules make it necessary to examine the possible accumulation in the body of toxic substances due to the increase in exposure and reduction of detoxification times.

Chilean occupational health regulations have recently adopted the “Brief and Scala model’’ described by Paustenbach (1985) for reducing TLVs in the case of extended working hours. At altitude, the correction for barometric pressure should also be used. This usually results in very substantial reductions of permissible exposure limits.

In the case of cumulative hazards not subject to detoxifying mechanisms, such as silica, correction for extended working hours should be directly proportional to the actual hours worked in excess of the usual 2,000 hours per year.

Physical Hazards

Noise: The sound pressure level produced by noise of a given amplitude is in direct relation to air density, as is the amount of energy transmitted. This means that the reading obtained by a sound level meter and the effect on the inner ear are reduced in the same way, so no corrections would be required.

Accidents: Hypoxia has a pronounced influence on the central nervous system, reducing response time and disrupting vision. An increase in the incidence of accidents should be expected. Above 3,000 m, the performance of persons engaged in critical tasks will benefit from supplementary oxygen.


Precautionary Note: Air Sampling 

Kenneth I. Berger and William N. Rom

The monitoring and maintenance of the occupational safety of workers requires special consideration for high altitude environments. High-altitude conditions can be expected to influence the accuracy of sampling and measuring instruments that have been calibrated for use at sea level. For example, active sampling devices rely on pumps to pull a volume of air onto a collection medium. Accurate measurement of the pump flow rate is essential in order to determine the exact volume of air drawn through the sampler and, therefore, the concentration of the contaminant. Flow calibrations are often performed at sea level. However, changes in air density with increasing altitude may alter the calibration, thereby invalidating subsequent measurements made in high altitude environments. Other factors that may influence the accuracy of sampling and measurement instruments at high altitude include changing temperature and relative humidity. An additional factor that should be considered when evaluating worker exposure to inhaled substances is the increased respiratory ventilation that occurs with acclimatization. Since ventilation is markedly increased after ascent to high altitude, workers may be exposed to excessive total doses of inhaled occupational contaminants, even though measured concentrations of the contaminant are below the threshold limit value.


 

Back

Read 5272 times Last modified on Saturday, 22 October 2011 18:24

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Barometric Pressure Increased
Barometric Pressure Reduced
Biological Hazards
Disasters, Natural and Technological
Electricity
Fire
Heat and Cold
Hours of Work
Indoor Air Quality
Indoor Environmental Control
Lighting
Noise
Radiation: Ionizing
Radiation: Non-Ionizing
Vibration
Violence
Visual Display Units
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Barometric Pressure, Reduced References

Dempsey, JA and HV Forster. 1982. Mediation of ventilatory adaptations. Physiol Rev 62:262-346. 

Gazenko, OG (ed.) 1987. Physiology of Man At High Altitudes (in Russian). Moscow: Nauka.

Hackett, PH and O Oelz. 1992. The Lake Louise consensus on the definition and quantification of altitude illness. In Hypoxia and Mountain Medicine, edited by JR Sutton, G Coates, and CS Houston. Burlington: Queen City Printers.

Hornbein, TF, BD Townes, RB Schoene, JR Sutton, and CS Houston. 1989. The cost to the central nervous system of climbing to extremely high altitude. New Engl J Med 321:1714-1719.

Lahiri, S. 1972. Dynamic aspects of regulation of ventilation in man during acclimatization to high altitude. Resp Physiol 16:245-258.

Leichnitz, K. 1977. Use of detector tubes under extreme conditions (humidity, pressure, temperature). Am Ind Hyg Assoc J 38:707.

Lindenboom, RH and ED Palmes. 1983. Effect of reduced atmospheric pressure on a diffusional sampler. Am Ind Hyg Assoc J 44:105.

Masuyama, S, H Kimura, and T Sugita. 1986. Control of ventilation in extreme-altitude climbers. J Appl Physiol 61:500-506.

Monge, C. 1948. Acclimatization in the Andes: Historical Confirmations of “Climatic Aggression” in the Development of Andean Man. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Univ. Press.

Paustenbach, DJ. 1985. Occupational exposure limits, pharmacokinetics and unusual work schedules. In Patty’s Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology, edited by LJ Cralley and LV Cralley. New York: Wiley.

Rebuck, AS and EJ Campbell. 1974. A clinical method for assessing the ventilatory response to hypoxia. Am Rev Respir Dis 109:345-350.

Richalet, J-P, A Keromes, and B Bersch. 1988. Physiological characteristics of high altitude climbers. Sci Sport 3:89-108.

Roth, EM. 1964. Space Cabin Atmospheres: Part II, Fire and Blast Hazards. NASA Report SP-48. Washington, DC: NASA.

Schoene, RB. 1982. Control of ventilation in climbers to extreme altitude. J Appl Physiol 53:886-890.

Schoene, RB, S Lahiri, and PH Hackett. 1984. Relationship of hypoxic ventilatory response to exercise performance on Mount Everest. J Appl Physiol 56:1478-1483.

Ward, MP, JS Milledge, and JB West. 1995. High Altitude Medicine and Physiology. London: Chapman & Hall.

West, JB. 1995. Oxygen enrichment of room air to relieve the hypoxia of high altitude. Resp Physiol 99:225-232.

—. 1997. Fire hazard in oxygen-enriched atmospheres at low barometric pressures. Aviat Space Environ Med. 68: 159-162.

West, JB and S Lahiri. 1984. High Altitude and Man. Bethesda, Md: American Physiological Society.

West, JB and PD Wagner. 1980. Predicted gas exchange on the summit of Mount Everest. Resp Physiol 42:1-16.

West, JB, SJ Boyer, DJ Graber, PH Hackett, KH Maret, JS Milledge, RM Peters, CJ Pizzo, M Samaja, FH Sarnquist, RB Schoene and RM Winslow. 1983. Maximal exercise at extreme altitudes on Mount Everest. J Appl Physiol. 55:688-698. 

Whitelaw, WA, JP Derenne, and J Milic-Emili. 1975. Occlusion pressure as a measure of respiratory center output in conscious man. Resp Physiol 23:181-199.

Winslow, RM and CC Monge. 1987. Hypoxia, Polycythemia, and Chronic Mountain Sickness. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Univ. Press.