الاثنين، أبريل 04 2011 20: 38

تنفيذ برنامج السلامة

قيم هذا المقال
(1 صوت)

يجب أن يعكس تنفيذ برنامج السلامة طبيعته باعتباره أحد الاهتمامات العادية اليومية للإدارة العامة. تشكل الحاجة إلى المعلومات لاتخاذ القرار في جميع المراحل وللتواصل بين جميع مستويات المؤسسة الأساس للتنفيذ الناجح لمثل هذا البرنامج.

المستوى التنفيذي

في البداية ، سيتطلب إدخال برنامج سلامة جديد أو معدل موافقة الإدارة العليا ، التي قد تعتبره قرارًا للتكلفة / المنفعة يتم اتخاذه في ضوء التنافس على الموارد من أماكن أخرى في المؤسسة. إن الرغبة في تقليل الأضرار والألم والمعاناة في مكان العمل من خلال تنفيذ برنامج السلامة ستخفف من خلال قدرة المنظمة على الحفاظ على مثل هذا الجهد. ستتطلب قرارات الإدارة المستنيرة ثلاثة عناصر:

  1. وصفًا واضحًا للبرنامج ، والذي يحدد بشكل كامل النهج المقترح
  2. تقييم تأثير البرنامج على عمليات الشركة
  3. تقدير لتكاليف التنفيذ مع توقع الفوائد التي يحتمل تحقيقها.

 

سيكون الاستثناء الوحيد لذلك هو عندما يكون هناك برنامج أمان مفوض بموجب اللوائح ويجب وضعه من أجل البقاء في العمل.

في المسعى الأخير ، من المفيد إضافة تقدير لـ صحيح تكاليف سجل السلامة الحالي للمؤسسة ، بالإضافة إلى تلك التكاليف التي يغطيها التأمين المباشر أو المصاريف المباشرة من الجيب. من المرجح أن تكون التكاليف غير المباشرة كبيرة في جميع الحالات ؛ تشير تقديرات الحوادث الخطيرة في المملكة المتحدة إلى أن التكاليف الحقيقية (التي تتحملها مؤسسة ما كتكاليف غير مباشرة) تتراوح من عاملين إلى ثلاثة إلى عشرة أضعاف تكاليف التأمين الفعلية المباشرة. في تلك البلدان التي تتطلب تأمينًا إلزاميًا ، ستختلف التكلفة ، وبالتالي المدخرات ، بشكل كبير اعتمادًا على البيئة الاجتماعية لكل دولة على حدة. من المرجح أن تكون تكاليف التأمين في البلدان التي يُطلب فيها من شركات التأمين تغطية التكاليف الطبية وإعادة التأهيل بالكامل ، مثل الولايات المتحدة ، أعلى من تلك الموجودة في البلدان التي يكون فيها علاج العامل المصاب جزءًا من العقد الاجتماعي. الطريقة المثلى للتأكيد على أهمية هذه الخسائر هي تحديد الإنتاج السنوي المطلوب لتوليد الإيرادات ضائع في دفع ثمن هذه الخسائر. يتوافق هذا إلى حد كبير مع المفهوم القائل بأنه على الرغم من أن الشركة يجب أن تتحمل بالضرورة مخاطر ممارسة الأعمال التجارية ، إلا أنها يجب أن تكون كذلك إدارة هذه المخاطر من أجل تقليل الخسائر وتحسين أدائها المالي.

مستوى الإدارة

بعد القبول على مستوى الإدارة العليا ، يجب تشكيل فريق تنفيذ لتطوير الإستراتيجية والخطة لتقديم برنامج خطة التنفيذ. من المرجح أن يكون مثل هذا النهج أكثر فاعلية من النهج الذي ينقل مسؤولية السلامة إلى فرد معين كمهندس سلامة. سيختلف حجم ومستوى مشاركة فريق التنفيذ هذا على نطاق واسع ، اعتمادًا على المؤسسة والبيئة الاجتماعية. ومع ذلك ، فإن المدخلات ضرورية على الأقل من أولئك المسؤولين عن العمليات والموظفين وإدارة المخاطر والتدريب ، بالإضافة إلى الممثلين الرئيسيين لمجموعات الموظفين الذين سيتأثرون بالبرنامج. من المحتمل أن يكتشف فريق من هذا التكوين التعارض المحتمل (على سبيل المثال ، بين الإنتاج والسلامة) في وقت مبكر من العملية ، قبل أن يتم إصلاح المواقف والمواقف ، وكذلك الإجراءات والأجهزة والمعدات. في هذه المرحلة ، من المرجح أن يوفر التعاون ، بدلاً من المواجهة ، فرصة أفضل لحل المشكلات. يجب أن تكون مخرجات هذا الفريق وثيقة تحدد وجهة نظر الشركة للبرنامج ، والعناصر الرئيسية للبرنامج ، والجدول الزمني للتنفيذ ومسؤوليات المشاركين.

يجب توخي الحذر لضمان أن يكون الالتزام التنفيذي واضحًا بشكل خاص للمديرين على المستوى التشغيلي الذي يمكن فيه تنفيذ برنامج السلامة. ربما تكون أهم طريقة لتحقيق ذلك هي إنشاء شكل من أشكال رد المبالغ المدفوعة ، أو تخصيص التكاليف الحقيقية لحادث ما مباشرة إلى هذا المستوى من الإدارة. يجب أن تتجنب الإدارة افتراض التكاليف الطبية والتعويضات (أو تكاليف التأمين المرتبطة بها) كمصروفات عامة للشركة. يجب أن يكون لمدير الوحدة ، المعني بالرقابة المالية اليومية للمنظمة ، التكاليف الحقيقية لبرامج السلامة غير الكافية التي تظهر في نفس الميزانية العمومية مثل تكاليف الإنتاج والتطوير. على سبيل المثال ، لن يتمكن مدير الوحدة في مؤسسة يتم فيها تسجيل جميع تكاليف تعويضات العمال كمصروفات عامة للشركة ، من تبرير إنفاق الموارد لإزالة خطر شديد الخطورة يؤثر على عدد قليل من العمال. يمكن أن تحدث هذه الصعوبة على المستوى المحلي ، على الرغم من حقيقة أن مثل هذه النفقات يمكن أن تؤدي إلى وفورات كبيرة على مستوى الشركة. من الضروري أن يتحمل المديرون المسؤولون عن تصميم وعمليات مكان العمل العبء الأكبر أو جني الفوائد المترتبة على برنامج السلامة الذي يتحملون مسؤوليته.

مستوى المشرف

المشرف مسؤول عن فهم ونقل وضمان الامتثال للأهداف الإدارية لبرنامج السلامة. ستعالج برامج السلامة الناجحة مسألة تثقيف وتدريب المشرفين على هذه المسؤولية. على الرغم من استخدام مدربين سلامة خاصين في بعض الأحيان في تثقيف العمال ، يجب أن يكون المشرف مسؤولاً عن هذا التدريب وعن مواقف العمال. على وجه الخصوص ، يرى المشرفون المطلعون أن مسؤوليتهم تشمل منع الأعمال غير الآمنة وإظهار مستوى عالٍ من عدم التسامح مع الظروف غير الآمنة في مكان العمل. يتم قبول التحكم في عملية التصنيع كمسؤولية رئيسية للمشرفين ؛ إن تطبيق مثل هذا التحكم سيحقق فوائد أيضًا في تقليل الأضرار والإصابات غير المقصودة. بغض النظر عما إذا كانت وظيفة السلامة مزودة بموظفي السلامة أو اللجان المشتركة لإدارة العمال أو الاستشاريين ، فإن المسؤولية اليومية عن التشغيل الآمن والخالي من الأخطاء للعملية يجب أن تكون مكونًا مكتوبًا في الوصف الوظيفي للمشرفين.

مستوى العامل

في بداية القرن ، تم التركيز بشكل أساسي على أداء العمال بأمان على التعزيز السلبي. تم وضع القواعد ، وكان من المتوقع أن يتبع العمال هذه القواعد دون شك ، وانتهاك القواعد أخضع العامل لإجراءات تأديبية. مع أماكن العمل المعقدة بشكل متزايد ، وأنظمة الإدارة المرنة والتوقعات الاجتماعية المتزايدة للقوى العاملة ، تم الكشف عن أوجه القصور والالتزامات لهذا النهج. لا يقتصر الأمر على الساحة العسكرية حيث يبدو أن المرونة والمسؤولية على المستوى المحلي عنصران حيويان للوحدات عالية الأداء. وقد أدى هذا النهج إلى زيادة الاعتماد على التعزيز الإيجابي وتمكين القوى العاملة ، مع ما يصاحب ذلك من متطلبات التعليم والفهم. يعكس هذا التوجه في السلامة الاتجاه العالمي للعمال للبحث عن تحسينات في جودة الحياة العملية وتطوير مجموعات العمل ذاتية التوجيه.

خطة مطروحة

ستحدد العناصر الرئيسية لبرنامج السلامة متطلبات التعرف على الأساس المفاهيمي للبرنامج ، وتطوير مهارات أمان محددة وتنفيذ أدوات القياس. سيتم تعيين المسؤوليات لأشخاص معينين ضمن برنامج مرحلي عند نقطة التقديم. ستكون نهاية عملية النشر هي إنشاء نظام قياس ، أو تدقيق برنامج السلامة ، من أجل تقييم الأداء المستمر للبرنامج. يجب تحديد الاتصالات المناسبة بشكل صريح في الخطة. في العديد من الثقافات ، تتعايش اللهجات واللغات المتعددة في مكان العمل. وفي بعض الثقافات ، لا يجوز للقوى العاملة استخدام لهجة أو لغة "إدارية". تتضمن هذه المشكلة استخدام المصطلحات والمختصرات في التواصل بين المجموعات. قد تؤدي مشاركة العمال في تصميم النشر إلى تجنب أوجه القصور هذه ، وتؤدي إلى حلول مثل الإرشادات والإرشادات متعددة اللغات ، واستخدام أوسع للرموز والرسوم التوضيحية ، واختيار لغة بسيطة. سينتج عن النهج الأوسع لمشاركة العمال في الخطة فوائد من حيث "الشراء" وقبول أهداف الخطة ونُهجها.

يجب تكرار عملية المراجعة أو تدقيق برنامج السلامة على أساس منتظم (سنوي) وستشكل الأساس لخطط متجددة لمدة 3 سنوات (أو دورية). ستحدد هذه الخطط الاتجاه المستقبلي للبرنامج وتوفر قوة دافعة للتحسين المستمر ، حتى في مواجهة أنظمة الإنتاج والعمليات المتغيرة.

التطوير الدائم

لا تظل برامج السلامة الناجحة ثابتة ، ولكنها تتغير لتعكس التغييرات في كل من البيئات الاجتماعية والشركات. وبالمثل ، تتجنب البرامج الناجحة الأهداف الدرامية ولكن غير القابلة للتحقيق. بدلاً من ذلك ، فلسفة التحسين المستمر والمعايير الصاعدة باستمرار هي نهج رئيسي. تعد الخطة المتجددة السنوية لمدة 3 سنوات طريقة جيدة لتحقيق ذلك. في كل عام ، تحدد الخطة أهدافًا وتقديرات عامة فيما يتعلق بالتكاليف والفوائد المحتملة التي سيتم تطويرها خلال فترة الثلاث سنوات القادمة. سيوفر هذا تلقائيًا للتكيف والتحسين المستمر. نظرًا لأنه يتعين على الإدارة مراجعة مثل هذه الخطط كل عام ، فستكون الفائدة الإضافية هي أن أهداف وظيفة السلامة تتماشى باستمرار مع أهداف الشركة.

وفي الختام

يجب أن يعكس تنفيذ برنامج السلامة كونه جزءًا لا يتجزأ من إدارة المؤسسة. يعتمد النجاح على تحديد مسؤوليات مستويات الإدارة المختلفة بوضوح. من المرجح أن تؤدي مشاركة العمال في برنامج التنفيذ ، ولا سيما خطة التنفيذ ، إلى فوائد في التبني الواسع للخطة. خطة التنفيذ هي وثيقة تحدد الأنشطة الضرورية وتوقيت تلك الأنشطة والمسؤولية عن تنفيذ كل نشاط. يجب وصف مكونات كل نشاط - سواء التدريب أو تطوير إجراءات العمل أو التعليم - بطريقة لا لبس فيها لجميع مستويات المؤسسة. تتمثل المرحلة الأخيرة في خطة التنفيذ في ضمان إمكانية حدوث دورة تحسين مستمرة من خلال تثبيت تدقيق برنامج السلامة على أساس سنوي على الأقل.

 

الرجوع

عرض 5717 مرات تم إجراء آخر تعديل يوم الاثنين ، 27 حزيران (يونيو) 2011 الساعة 13:51

"إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

المحتويات

مراجع برامج السلامة

ألبرت ، ك. 1978. كيف تكون مستشارًا إداريًا خاصًا بك. نيويورك: ماكجرو هيل.

الجمعية الأمريكية لمهندسي السلامة (ASSE). 1974. دليل مستشاري السلامة. أوكتون ، إلينوي ، الولايات المتحدة: ASSE.

نقابة المهندسين الاستشاريين الإداريين. 1966. الممارسات المهنية في الاستشارات الإدارية. نيويورك: رابطة مهندسي الإدارة الاستشاريين.

طائر ، FE. 1974. دليل الإدارة للسيطرة على الخسارة. أتلانتا: مطبعة المعهد.

برونينغ ، جي سي. 1989. الحوافز تعزز الوعي بالسلامة. احتل Haz 51: 49-52.

مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC). 1988. إرشادات لتقييم أنظمة المراقبة. MMWR 37 (ملحق رقم S-5). أتلانتا: مركز السيطرة على الأمراض.

فوكس ، دي كيه ، بي إل هوبكنز ، دبليو كيه أنجر. 1987. الآثار طويلة المدى لاقتصاد العملة الرمزية على أداء السلامة في التعدين المكشوف. تطبيق J App Behav Anal 20: 215-224.

جيلر ، إس. 1990. في Bruening ، JC. تشكيل مواقف العمال تجاه السلامة. احتل Haz 52: 49-51.

جيبسون ، جي. 1961. مساهمة علم النفس التجريبي في صياغة مشكلة السلامة: موجز للبحث الأساسي. في المناهج السلوكية لأبحاث الحوادث. نيويورك: جمعية مساعدة الأطفال المعوقين.

جوردون ، جي. 1949. وبائيات الحوادث. Am J Public Health 39 ، أبريل: 504-515.

جروس ج. 1989. Das Kraft-Fahr-Sicherheitsprogramm. Personalführung 3: 246-249.

هادون ، دبليو ، الابن 1973. أضرار الطاقة والاستراتيجيات العشر للتدابير المضادة. J Trauma 13: 321–331.

هادون و W و EA Suchman و D Klein. 1964. بحوث الحوادث: الأساليب والنهج. نيويورك: هاربر ورو.

Harano و RM و DE Hubert. 1974. تقييم لبرنامج الحوافز الجيدة للسائق في كاليفورنيا. تقرير رقم 6. ساكرامنتو: قسم الطرق السريعة بكاليفورنيا.

كوماكي ، جي كي دي بارويك و إل آر سكوت. 1978. نهج سلوكي للسلامة المهنية: تحديد وتعزيز الأداء الآمن في مصنع تصنيع الأغذية. تطبيق J Psy 63: 434-445.

لاثام ، جي بي و جي جي بالديس. 1975. الأهمية العملية لنظرية لوك لتحديد الهدف. تطبيق J Psy 60: 122-124.

Lippit ، G. 1969. تجديد المنظمة. نيويورك: Meredith Corp.

McAfee و RB و AR Winn. 1989. استخدام الحوافز / التغذية المرتدة لتعزيز السلامة في مكان العمل: نقد للأدبيات. J Saf Res 20: 7-19.

بيترز ، جي 1978. لماذا يعتمد الأحمق فقط على معايير السلامة. الأستاذ صاف مايو 1978.

بيترز ، ر. 1991. استراتيجيات لتشجيع حماية الذات الموظف السلوك. J Saf Res 22: 53-70.

روبرتسون ، ل. 1983. الإصابات: الأسباب واستراتيجيات المكافحة والسياسة العامة. ليكسينغتون ، ماساتشوستس ، الولايات المتحدة: كتب ليكسينغتون.

Starr، C. 1969. المنافع الاجتماعية مقابل المخاطر التكنولوجية. ما الذي يرغب مجتمعنا في دفعه مقابل السلامة؟ Science 165: 1232-1238.

ستراتون ، ج. 1988. الحوافز منخفضة التكلفة تزيد من وعي الموظفين بالسلامة. احتلوا الصحة في آذار (مارس): 12-15.

Suokas، J. 1988. دور تحليل السلامة في الوقاية من الحوادث. الشرج الحادث السابق 20 (1): 67-85.

Veazie و MA و DD Landen و TR Bender و HE Amandus. 1994. بحوث وبائية عن مسببات إصابات العمل. Annu Rev Publ Health 15: 203 - 221.

وايلد ، جي جي إس. 1988. حوافز القيادة الآمنة وإدارة التأمين. في كاليفورنيا أوزبورن (محرر) ، تقرير التحقيق في تعويض حوادث السيارات في أونتاريو. المجلد. ثانيًا. تورنتو: طابعة كوين في أونتاريو.

Monday, 04 April 2011 20:38

Implementation of a Safety Programme

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The implementation of a safety programme should reflect its nature as a normal, day-to-day concern of general management. The need for information for decision making at all stages and for communication between all levels of the enterprise form the basis for successful implementation of such a programme.

Executive Level

Initially, the introduction of a new or modified safety programme will require the agreement of senior management, who may regard it as a cost/benefit decision to be made in light of competition for resources from elsewhere in the enterprise. The desire to reduce damages, pain and suffering in the workplace through the implementation of a safety programme will be tempered by the organization’s ability to sustain such an effort. Informed management decisions will require three elements:

  1. an explicit description of the programme, which fully defines the proposed approach
  2. an assessment of the impact of the programme on the company operations
  3. an estimate of the costs of implementation with a prediction of the benefits that are likely to be produced.

 

The only exception to this will be when a safety programme is mandated by regulation and must be instituted in order to remain in business.

In the latter endeavour, it is useful to add an estimate of the true costs of the current safety record of the enterprise, as well as those costs covered by direct insurance or direct out-of-pocket expenses. The indirect costs are likely to be significant in all cases; estimates for serious incidents in the United Kingdom suggest that the real costs (borne by an enterprise as indirect costs) range from a factor of two to three up to a factor of ten times the actual, direct insurance costs. In those countries requiring compulsory insurance, the cost, and hence the savings, will vary widely depending on the social environment of each particular nation. Insurance costs in countries where the insurance carriers are required to cover full medical and rehabilitation costs, such as the United States, are likely to be higher than those in countries in which the treatment of the injured worker is part of the social contract. An ideal way to emphasize the significance of such losses is to identify the annual production required to generate revenue lost in paying for these losses. This is highly compatible with the concept that, while a business must necessarily assume the risk of doing business, it should be managing that risk in order to reduce the losses and improve its financial performance.

Management Level

Following acceptance at the senior management level, an implementation team should be formed to develop the strategy and the plan to introduce the programme of the roll-out plan. Such an approach is more likely to be effective than one that shifts the responsibility for safety to an individual designated as the safety engineer. The size and level of the involvement of this implementation team will vary widely, depending on the enterprise and the social environment. Nevertheless, input is essential from at least those with responsibility for operations, personnel, risk management and training, as well as key representatives of employee groups who will be affected by the programme. It is likely that a team of this composition will detect possible conflicts (for example, between production and safety) early on in the process, before attitudes and positions, as well as procedures, hardware and equipment, have become fixed. It is at this point that collaboration, rather than confrontation, is likely to provide a better opportunity for problem solving. The output of this team should be a document that identifies the corporate view of the programme, the key elements of the programme, the schedule for implementation and the responsibilities of those involved.

Care should be taken to ensure that the executive commitment is particularly evident to managers at the operational level at which the safety programme can be effected. Perhaps the most significant way of achieving this is to establish a form of chargeback, or allocation of the true costs of an accident directly to this level of management. The assumption of medical and indemnity costs (or their associated insurance costs) as a corporate overhead should be avoided by management. The unit manager, concerned with day-to-day financial control of the organization, should have the real costs of inadequate safety programmes appearing on the same balance sheet as the production and development costs. For example, a unit manager of an organization in which all the workers’ compensation costs are carried as a corporate overhead will be unable to justify expenditure of resources to remove a very serious hazard affecting a low number of workers. This difficulty can occur at the local level, despite the fact that such expenditures could produce major savings at the corporate level. It is essential that managers who are responsible for workplace design and operations bear the brunt, or reap the benefits, of the safety programme for which they are responsible.

Supervisor Level

The supervisor is responsible for understanding, transmitting and ensuring compliance with the managerial objectives of the safety programme. Successful safety programmes will address the question of educating and training supervisors in this responsibility. Although special safety trainers are sometimes used in educating workers, the supervisor should be responsible both for this training and for the attitudes of workers. In particular, informed supervisors see their responsibility as including the prevention of unsafe acts and exhibiting a high level of intolerance of unsafe conditions in the workplace. The control of the manufacturing process is accepted as the mainstream responsibility for supervisors; the application of such control will also produce benefits in the reduction of damages and unintentional injuries. Regardless of whether the safety function is staffed by safety officers, joint worker-management committees or consultants, the day-to-day responsibility for safe, error-free operation of the process should be a written component in the job description of supervisors.

Worker Level

At the beginning of the century, the primary emphasis for workers to perform safely was placed on negative reinforcement. Rules were set, workers were expected to follow those rules without question, and a transgression from the rules subjected the worker to disciplinary action. With increasingly complicated workplaces, flexible management systems and the rising social expectations of the workforce, the inadequacies and liabilities of such an approach have been revealed. It is not only in the military arena that flexibility and responsibility at the local level appears to be a vital component of high-performance units. This approach has led to an increasing reliance upon positive reinforcement and empowerment of the workforce, with the concomitant requirements for education and understanding. This thrust in safety mirrors the worldwide trend of labour to seek improvements in the quality of working life and the development of self-directed working groups.

Roll-out Plan

The key elements of the safety programme will identify the requirements for familiarization with the conceptual basis of the programme, the development of specific safety skills and the implementation of measurement tools. Responsibilities will be assigned to specific people within a phased programme at the point of introduction. The end of the roll-out process will be the establishment of a measurement system, or safety programme audit, in order to assess the continuing performance of the programme. Appropriate communication must be explicitly specified in the plan. In many cultures, multiple dialects and languages coexist in the workplace; and in certain cultures, a “managerial” dialect or language may normally not be used by the workforce. This problem includes the use of jargon and acronyms in communication between groups. Worker participation in the roll-out design may avert such shortcomings, and lead to solutions such as multilingual instructions and guidelines, a wider use of symbols and pictograms, and the selection of simple language. The wider approach to worker participation in the plan will produce benefits in terms of “buy-in” and acceptance of the plan’s goals and approaches.

The review process, or safety programme audit, should be repeated on a regular (annual) basis and will form the basis for 3-year rolling (or cyclical) plans. These plans will establish the future direction of the programme and provide the impetus for continual improvement, even in the face of changing production and process systems.

Continuous Improvement

Successful safety programmes do not remain static, but change to reflect changes in both corporate and social environments. Equally, successful programmes avoid dramatic but unachievable goals. Instead, a philosophy of continuous improvement and of continually rising standards is a key approach. The annual 3-year rolling plan is a good way to achieve that. Each year, the plan identifies broad goals and estimates with respect to likely costs and benefits that will develop over the next 3-year period. This will automatically provide for adaptation and continued improvement. As such plans are to be reviewed by management each year, an additional benefit will be that the objectives of the safety function are continuously aligned with corporate objectives.

Conclusion

The implementation of the safety programme must reflect its being an integral component of the management of the enterprise. Success would depend on clearly identifying the responsibilities of the various levels of management. The participation of workers in the implementation programme, and particularly the roll-out plan, is likely to produce benefits in the widespread adoption of the plan. The roll-out plan is a document which identifies the necessary activities, the timing of those activities and the responsibility for implementing each activity. The components of each activity—whether training, development of a working procedure or education—must be described in a way that is unambiguous to all levels of the enterprise. The final stage in the roll-out plan is to ensure that a continuous improvement cycle can occur by the installation of a safety programme audit on at least an annual basis.

 

Back

Read 3286 times Last modified on Monday, 27 June 2011 13:51

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Accident Prevention
Audits, Inspections and Investigations
Safety Applications
Safety Policy and Leadership
Safety Programs
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Safety Programs References

Albert, K. 1978. How to Be Your Own Management Consultant. New York: McGraw-Hill.

American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE). 1974. Directory of Safety Consultants. Oakton, IL, US: ASSE.

Association of Consulting Management Engineers. 1966. Professional Practices in Management Consulting. New York: Association of Consulting Management Engineers.

Bird, FE. 1974. Management Guide to Loss Control. Atlanta: Institute Press.

Bruening, JC. 1989. Incentives strengthen safety awareness. Occup Haz 51:49-52.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). 1988. Guidelines for Evaluating Surveillance Systems. MMWR 37 (suppl. No. S-5). Atlanta: CDC.

Fox, DK, BL Hopkins and WK Anger. 1987. The long-term effects of a token economy on safety performance in open pit mining. J App Behav Anal 20:215-224.

Geller, ES. 1990. In Bruening, JC. Shaping workers’ attitudes toward safety. Occup Haz 52:49-51.

Gibson, JJ. 1961. The contribution of experimental psychology to the formulation of the problem of safety: A brief for basic research. In Behavioral Approaches to Accident Research. New York: Association for the Aid of Crippled Children.

Gordon, JE. 1949. The epidemiology of accidents. Am J Public Health 39, April:504–515.

Gros J. 1989. Das Kraft-Fahr-Sicherheitsprogramm. Personalführung 3:246-249.

Haddon, W, Jr. 1973. Energy damage and the ten countermeasure strategies. J Trauma 13:321–331.

Haddon, W, EA Suchman and D Klein. 1964. Accident Research: Methods and Approaches. New York: Harper and Row.

Harano, RM and DE Hubert. 1974. An Evaluation of California’s Good Driver Incentive Program. Report No. 6. Sacramento: California Division of Highways.

Komaki, J. KD Barwick and LR Scott. 1978. A behavioural approach to occupational safety: pinpointing and reinforcing safe performance in a food manufacturing plant. J App Psy 63:434-445.

Latham, GP and JJ Baldes. 1975. The practical significance of Locke’s theory of goal setting. J App Psy 60: 122-124.

Lippit, G. 1969. Organization Renewal. New York: Meredith Corp.

McAfee, RB and AR Winn. 1989. The use of incentives/feedback to enhance work place safety: a critique of the literature. J Saf Res 20:7-19.

Peters, G. 1978. Why only a fool relies on safety standards. Prof Saf May 1978.

Peters, RH. 1991. Strategies for encouraging self-protective employee behaviour. J Saf Res 22:53-70.

Robertson, LS. 1983. Injuries: Causes, Control Strategies, and Public Policy. Lexington, MA, US: Lexington Books.

Starr, C. 1969. Social benefits versus technological risk. What is our society willing to pay for safety? Science 165:1232-1238.

Stratton, J. 1988. Low-cost incentive raises safety consciousness of employees. Occup Health Saf March:12-15.

Suokas, J. 1988. The role of safety analysis in accident prevention. Accident Anal Prev 20(1):67–85.

Veazie, MA, DD Landen, TR Bender and HE Amandus. 1994. Epidemiologic research on the etiology of injuries at work. Annu Rev Publ Health 15:203–221.

Wilde, GJS. 1988. Incentives for safe driving and insurance management. In CA Osborne (ed.), Report of Inquiry into Motor Vehicle Accident Compensation in Ontario. Vol. II. Toronto: Queen’s Printer for Ontario.