Lundi, Avril 04 2011 20: 38

Mise en place d'un programme de sécurité

Évaluer cet élément
(1 Vote)

La mise en œuvre d'un programme de sécurité doit refléter sa nature en tant que préoccupation quotidienne normale de la direction générale. Le besoin d'informations pour la prise de décision à toutes les étapes et pour la communication entre tous les niveaux de l'entreprise constitue la base d'une mise en œuvre réussie d'un tel programme.

Niveau exécutif

Initialement, l'introduction d'un programme de sécurité nouveau ou modifié nécessitera l'accord de la haute direction, qui peut la considérer comme une décision coût/bénéfice devant être prise à la lumière de la concurrence pour les ressources provenant d'ailleurs dans l'entreprise. Le désir de réduire les dommages, la douleur et la souffrance au travail par la mise en place d'un programme de sécurité sera tempéré par la capacité de l'organisation à soutenir un tel effort. Des décisions de gestion éclairées nécessiteront trois éléments :

  1. une description explicite du programme, qui définit pleinement l'approche proposée
  2. une évaluation de l'impact du programme sur les opérations de l'entreprise
  3. une estimation des coûts de mise en œuvre avec une prévision des avantages susceptibles d'être produits.

 

La seule exception à cette règle sera lorsqu'un programme de sécurité est mandaté par règlement et doit être institué pour rester en activité.

Dans ce dernier effort, il est utile d'ajouter une estimation de la oui coûts du dossier de sécurité actuel de l'entreprise, ainsi que les coûts couverts par l'assurance directe ou les débours directs. Les coûts indirects sont susceptibles d'être importants dans tous les cas ; les estimations des incidents graves au Royaume-Uni suggèrent que les coûts réels (supportés par une entreprise en tant que coûts indirects) vont d'un facteur de deux à trois jusqu'à un facteur de dix fois les coûts d'assurance directs réels. Dans les pays exigeant une assurance obligatoire, le coût, et donc les économies, varieront considérablement en fonction de l'environnement social de chaque nation particulière. Les coûts d'assurance dans les pays où les compagnies d'assurance sont tenues de couvrir l'intégralité des frais médicaux et de réadaptation, comme les États-Unis, sont susceptibles d'être plus élevés que ceux des pays dans lesquels le traitement du travailleur blessé fait partie du contrat social. Une façon idéale de souligner l'importance de ces pertes est d'identifier la production annuelle nécessaire pour générer des revenus. perdu pour payer ces pertes. Cela est tout à fait compatible avec le concept selon lequel, même si une entreprise doit nécessairement assumer le risque de faire des affaires, elle devrait être les gérer ce risque afin de réduire les pertes et d'améliorer sa performance financière.

Niveau de gestion

Suite à l'acceptation au niveau de la haute direction, une équipe de mise en œuvre doit être formée pour développer la stratégie et le plan d'introduction du programme du plan de déploiement. Une telle approche est plus susceptible d'être efficace qu'une approche qui transfère la responsabilité de la sécurité à une personne désignée comme ingénieur de sécurité. La taille et le niveau d'implication de cette équipe de mise en œuvre varieront considérablement en fonction de l'entreprise et de l'environnement social. Néanmoins, la contribution est essentielle au moins de ceux qui sont responsables des opérations, du personnel, de la gestion des risques et de la formation, ainsi que des principaux représentants des groupes d'employés qui seront touchés par le programme. Il est probable qu'une équipe de cette composition détectera les éventuels conflits (par exemple, entre la production et la sécurité) très tôt dans le processus, avant que les attitudes et les positions, ainsi que les procédures, le matériel et l'équipement ne soient figés. C'est à ce stade que la collaboration, plutôt que la confrontation, est susceptible d'offrir une meilleure opportunité de résolution de problèmes. Le résultat de cette équipe devrait être un document qui identifie la vision institutionnelle du programme, les éléments clés du programme, le calendrier de mise en œuvre et les responsabilités des personnes impliquées.

Il faut veiller à ce que l'engagement de la direction soit particulièrement évident pour les responsables au niveau opérationnel auquel le programme de sécurité peut être mis en œuvre. Le moyen le plus efficace d'y parvenir est peut-être d'établir une forme de refacturation ou d'attribution des coûts réels d'un accident directement à ce niveau de gestion. La prise en charge des frais médicaux et d'indemnisation (ou leurs frais d'assurance associés) en tant que frais généraux de l'entreprise doit être évitée par la direction. Le responsable d'unité, soucieux du contrôle financier quotidien de l'organisation, devrait faire figurer sur le même bilan les coûts réels des programmes de sécurité inadéquats que les coûts de production et de développement. Par exemple, un directeur d'unité d'une organisation dans laquelle tous les coûts d'indemnisation des travailleurs sont supportés comme des frais généraux de l'entreprise ne sera pas en mesure de justifier la dépense de ressources pour éliminer un danger très grave affectant un petit nombre de travailleurs. Cette difficulté peut survenir au niveau local, malgré le fait que de telles dépenses pourraient générer des économies importantes au niveau corporatif. Il est essentiel que les gestionnaires qui sont responsables de la conception et des opérations du lieu de travail supportent le poids, ou récoltent les bénéfices, du programme de sécurité dont ils sont responsables.

Niveau Superviseur

Le superviseur est chargé de comprendre, de transmettre et de faire respecter les objectifs managériaux du programme de sécurité. Les programmes de sécurité réussis aborderont la question de l'éducation et de la formation des superviseurs à cette responsabilité. Bien que des formateurs spéciaux en matière de sécurité soient parfois utilisés pour former les travailleurs, le superviseur devrait être responsable à la fois de cette formation et de l'attitude des travailleurs. En particulier, les superviseurs informés considèrent que leur responsabilité inclut la prévention des actes dangereux et montre un niveau élevé d'intolérance aux conditions dangereuses sur le lieu de travail. Le contrôle du processus de fabrication est accepté comme la principale responsabilité des superviseurs ; l'application d'un tel contrôle produira également des avantages dans la réduction des dommages et des blessures non intentionnelles. Que la fonction de sécurité soit composée d'agents de sécurité, de comités mixtes travailleurs-direction ou de consultants, la responsabilité quotidienne d'un fonctionnement sûr et sans erreur du processus doit figurer par écrit dans la description de poste des superviseurs.

Niveau travailleur

Au début du siècle, l'accent principal pour que les travailleurs travaillent en toute sécurité était mis sur le renforcement négatif. Des règles ont été fixées, les travailleurs étaient censés les suivre sans poser de questions et une transgression des règles soumettait le travailleur à des mesures disciplinaires. Avec des lieux de travail de plus en plus compliqués, des systèmes de gestion flexibles et des attentes sociales croissantes de la main-d'œuvre, les insuffisances et les responsabilités d'une telle approche ont été révélées. Il n'y a pas que dans le domaine militaire que la flexibilité et la responsabilité au niveau local apparaissent comme une composante essentielle des unités performantes. Cette approche a conduit à s'appuyer de plus en plus sur le renforcement positif et l'autonomisation de la main-d'œuvre, avec les exigences concomitantes d'éducation et de compréhension. Cette orientation vers la sécurité reflète la tendance mondiale des travailleurs à rechercher des améliorations de la qualité de la vie au travail et le développement de groupes de travail autonomes.

Plan de déploiement

Les éléments clés du programme de sécurité identifieront les exigences de familiarisation avec la base conceptuelle du programme, le développement de compétences spécifiques en matière de sécurité et la mise en œuvre d'outils de mesure. Les responsabilités seront attribuées à des personnes spécifiques dans le cadre d'un programme par étapes au point d'introduction. La fin du processus de déploiement sera la mise en place d'un système de mesure, ou audit du programme de sécurité, afin d'évaluer la performance continue du programme. Une communication appropriée doit être explicitement spécifiée dans le plan. Dans de nombreuses cultures, plusieurs dialectes et langues coexistent sur le lieu de travail ; et dans certaines cultures, un dialecte ou une langue « managériale » peut normalement ne pas être utilisé par la main-d'œuvre. Ce problème comprend l'utilisation du jargon et des acronymes dans la communication entre les groupes. La participation des travailleurs à la conception du déploiement peut éviter de telles lacunes et conduire à des solutions telles que des instructions et des lignes directrices multilingues, une utilisation plus large des symboles et des pictogrammes et le choix d'un langage simple. L'approche plus large de la participation des travailleurs au plan produira des avantages en termes d'adhésion et d'acceptation des objectifs et des approches du plan.

Le processus d'examen, ou audit du programme de sécurité, doit être répété sur une base régulière (annuelle) et constituera la base des plans triennaux glissants (ou cycliques). Ces plans établiront l'orientation future du programme et donneront l'élan à l'amélioration continue, même face à l'évolution des systèmes de production et de traitement.

AMÉLIORATION CONTINUE

Les programmes de sécurité réussis ne restent pas statiques, mais changent pour refléter les changements dans les environnements d'entreprise et sociaux. De même, les programmes réussis évitent des objectifs dramatiques mais irréalisables. Au lieu de cela, une philosophie d'amélioration continue et de normes en constante augmentation est une approche clé. Le plan annuel glissant sur 3 ans est un bon moyen d'y parvenir. Chaque année, le plan identifie des objectifs généraux et des estimations en ce qui concerne les coûts et avantages probables qui se développeront au cours de la prochaine période de 3 ans. Cela permettra automatiquement une adaptation et une amélioration continue. Comme ces plans doivent être revus par la direction chaque année, un avantage supplémentaire sera que les objectifs de la fonction de sécurité seront continuellement alignés sur les objectifs de l'entreprise.

Conclusion

La mise en œuvre du programme de sécurité doit refléter qu'il fait partie intégrante de la gestion de l'entreprise. Le succès dépendrait de l'identification claire des responsabilités des différents niveaux de gestion. La participation des travailleurs au programme de mise en œuvre, et en particulier au plan de déploiement, est susceptible de produire des avantages dans l'adoption généralisée du plan. Le plan de déploiement est un document qui identifie les activités nécessaires, le calendrier de ces activités et la responsabilité de la mise en œuvre de chaque activité. Les composantes de chaque activité, qu'il s'agisse de formation, de développement d'une procédure de travail ou d'éducation, doivent être décrites de manière non ambiguë à tous les niveaux de l'entreprise. La dernière étape du plan de déploiement consiste à s'assurer qu'un cycle d'amélioration continue peut se produire par la mise en place d'un audit du programme de sécurité au moins une fois par an.

 

Retour

Lire 5176 fois Dernière modification le lundi 27 juin 2011 13:51

" AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : L'OIT n'assume aucune responsabilité pour le contenu présenté sur ce portail Web qui est présenté dans une langue autre que l'anglais, qui est la langue utilisée pour la production initiale et l'examen par les pairs du contenu original. Certaines statistiques n'ont pas été mises à jour depuis la production de la 4ème édition de l'Encyclopédie (1998)."

Table des matières

Références des programmes de sécurité

Albert, K. 1978. Comment être votre propre consultant en gestion. New York : McGraw Hill.

Société américaine des ingénieurs en sécurité (ASSE). 1974. Répertoire des consultants en sécurité. Oakton, Illinois, États-Unis : ASSE.

Association des Ingénieurs Conseils en Gestion. 1966. Pratiques professionnelles en conseil en gestion. New York : Association des ingénieurs-conseils en gestion.

Oiseau, FE. 1974. Guide de gestion du contrôle des pertes. Atlanta : Presse de l'Institut.

Brüning, JC. 1989. Les incitations renforcent la sensibilisation à la sécurité. Occup Haz 51:49-52.

Centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies (CDC). 1988. Lignes directrices pour l'évaluation des systèmes de surveillance. MMWR 37 (supplément n° S-5). Atlanta : CDC.

Fox, DK, BL Hopkins et WK Anger. 1987. Les effets à long terme d'une économie symbolique sur les performances de sécurité dans les mines à ciel ouvert. J App Behav Anal 20:215-224.

Geller, ES. 1990. Dans Bruening, JC. Façonner les attitudes des travailleurs envers la sécurité. Occup Haz 52:49-51.

Gibson, JJ. 1961. La contribution de la psychologie expérimentale à la formulation du problème de la sécurité : un mémoire pour la recherche fondamentale. Dans Approches comportementales de la recherche sur les accidents. New York : Association pour l'aide aux enfants handicapés.

Gordon, JE. 1949. L'épidémiologie des accidents. Am J Public Health 39, avril : 504-515.

Gros J. 1989. Programme Das Kraft-Fahr-Sicherheits. Personalführung 3:246-249.

Haddon, W, Jr. 1973. Dommages énergétiques et les dix stratégies de contre-mesure. J Trauma 13:321–331.

Haddon, W, EA Suchman et D Klein. 1964. Recherche sur les accidents : méthodes et approches. New York : Harper et Row.

Harano, RM et DE Hubert. 1974. Une évaluation du programme d'incitation Good Driver de Californie. Rapport n° 6. Sacramento : Division des autoroutes de Californie.

Komaki, J.KD Barwick et LR Scott. 1978. Une approche comportementale de la sécurité au travail : identifier et renforcer les performances de sécurité dans une usine de fabrication de produits alimentaires. J App Psy 63:434-445.

Latham, généraliste et JJ Baldes. 1975. La signification pratique de la théorie de Locke sur l'établissement d'objectifs. J App Psy 60 : 122-124.

Lippit, G. 1969. Renouvellement de l'organisation. New York : Meredith Corp.

McAfee, RB et AR Winn. 1989. L'utilisation d'incitations/rétroaction pour améliorer la sécurité au travail : une critique de la littérature. J Saf Res 20:7-19.

Peters, G. 1978. Pourquoi seul un imbécile se fie aux normes de sécurité. Pr Saf mai 1978.

Peters, RH. 1991. Stratégies pour encourager les comportements d'autoprotection des employés. J Saf Res 22:53-70.

Robertson, LS. 1983. Blessures : causes, stratégies de contrôle et politiques publiques. Lexington, MA, États-Unis : Livres de Lexington.

Starr, C. 1969. Avantages sociaux contre risque technologique. Qu'est-ce que notre société est prête à payer pour la sécurité ? Sciences 165:1232-1238.

Stratton, J. 1988. Une incitation à faible coût augmente la conscience de la sécurité des employés. Occup Health Saf March: 12-15.

Suokas, J. 1988. Le rôle de l'analyse de sécurité dans la prévention des accidents. Accident Anal Préc. 20(1):67–85.

Veazie, MA, DD Landen, TR Bender et HE Amandus. 1994. Recherche épidémiologique sur l'étiologie des lésions au travail. Annu Rev Publ Health 15:203–221.

Wilde, GJS. 1988. Incitations à la conduite prudente et à la gestion des assurances. Dans CA Osborne (ed.), Report of Inquiry into Motor Vehicle Accident Compensation in Ontario. Vol. II. Toronto : Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario.

Monday, 04 April 2011 20:38

Implementation of a Safety Programme

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The implementation of a safety programme should reflect its nature as a normal, day-to-day concern of general management. The need for information for decision making at all stages and for communication between all levels of the enterprise form the basis for successful implementation of such a programme.

Executive Level

Initially, the introduction of a new or modified safety programme will require the agreement of senior management, who may regard it as a cost/benefit decision to be made in light of competition for resources from elsewhere in the enterprise. The desire to reduce damages, pain and suffering in the workplace through the implementation of a safety programme will be tempered by the organization’s ability to sustain such an effort. Informed management decisions will require three elements:

  1. an explicit description of the programme, which fully defines the proposed approach
  2. an assessment of the impact of the programme on the company operations
  3. an estimate of the costs of implementation with a prediction of the benefits that are likely to be produced.

 

The only exception to this will be when a safety programme is mandated by regulation and must be instituted in order to remain in business.

In the latter endeavour, it is useful to add an estimate of the true costs of the current safety record of the enterprise, as well as those costs covered by direct insurance or direct out-of-pocket expenses. The indirect costs are likely to be significant in all cases; estimates for serious incidents in the United Kingdom suggest that the real costs (borne by an enterprise as indirect costs) range from a factor of two to three up to a factor of ten times the actual, direct insurance costs. In those countries requiring compulsory insurance, the cost, and hence the savings, will vary widely depending on the social environment of each particular nation. Insurance costs in countries where the insurance carriers are required to cover full medical and rehabilitation costs, such as the United States, are likely to be higher than those in countries in which the treatment of the injured worker is part of the social contract. An ideal way to emphasize the significance of such losses is to identify the annual production required to generate revenue lost in paying for these losses. This is highly compatible with the concept that, while a business must necessarily assume the risk of doing business, it should be managing that risk in order to reduce the losses and improve its financial performance.

Management Level

Following acceptance at the senior management level, an implementation team should be formed to develop the strategy and the plan to introduce the programme of the roll-out plan. Such an approach is more likely to be effective than one that shifts the responsibility for safety to an individual designated as the safety engineer. The size and level of the involvement of this implementation team will vary widely, depending on the enterprise and the social environment. Nevertheless, input is essential from at least those with responsibility for operations, personnel, risk management and training, as well as key representatives of employee groups who will be affected by the programme. It is likely that a team of this composition will detect possible conflicts (for example, between production and safety) early on in the process, before attitudes and positions, as well as procedures, hardware and equipment, have become fixed. It is at this point that collaboration, rather than confrontation, is likely to provide a better opportunity for problem solving. The output of this team should be a document that identifies the corporate view of the programme, the key elements of the programme, the schedule for implementation and the responsibilities of those involved.

Care should be taken to ensure that the executive commitment is particularly evident to managers at the operational level at which the safety programme can be effected. Perhaps the most significant way of achieving this is to establish a form of chargeback, or allocation of the true costs of an accident directly to this level of management. The assumption of medical and indemnity costs (or their associated insurance costs) as a corporate overhead should be avoided by management. The unit manager, concerned with day-to-day financial control of the organization, should have the real costs of inadequate safety programmes appearing on the same balance sheet as the production and development costs. For example, a unit manager of an organization in which all the workers’ compensation costs are carried as a corporate overhead will be unable to justify expenditure of resources to remove a very serious hazard affecting a low number of workers. This difficulty can occur at the local level, despite the fact that such expenditures could produce major savings at the corporate level. It is essential that managers who are responsible for workplace design and operations bear the brunt, or reap the benefits, of the safety programme for which they are responsible.

Supervisor Level

The supervisor is responsible for understanding, transmitting and ensuring compliance with the managerial objectives of the safety programme. Successful safety programmes will address the question of educating and training supervisors in this responsibility. Although special safety trainers are sometimes used in educating workers, the supervisor should be responsible both for this training and for the attitudes of workers. In particular, informed supervisors see their responsibility as including the prevention of unsafe acts and exhibiting a high level of intolerance of unsafe conditions in the workplace. The control of the manufacturing process is accepted as the mainstream responsibility for supervisors; the application of such control will also produce benefits in the reduction of damages and unintentional injuries. Regardless of whether the safety function is staffed by safety officers, joint worker-management committees or consultants, the day-to-day responsibility for safe, error-free operation of the process should be a written component in the job description of supervisors.

Worker Level

At the beginning of the century, the primary emphasis for workers to perform safely was placed on negative reinforcement. Rules were set, workers were expected to follow those rules without question, and a transgression from the rules subjected the worker to disciplinary action. With increasingly complicated workplaces, flexible management systems and the rising social expectations of the workforce, the inadequacies and liabilities of such an approach have been revealed. It is not only in the military arena that flexibility and responsibility at the local level appears to be a vital component of high-performance units. This approach has led to an increasing reliance upon positive reinforcement and empowerment of the workforce, with the concomitant requirements for education and understanding. This thrust in safety mirrors the worldwide trend of labour to seek improvements in the quality of working life and the development of self-directed working groups.

Roll-out Plan

The key elements of the safety programme will identify the requirements for familiarization with the conceptual basis of the programme, the development of specific safety skills and the implementation of measurement tools. Responsibilities will be assigned to specific people within a phased programme at the point of introduction. The end of the roll-out process will be the establishment of a measurement system, or safety programme audit, in order to assess the continuing performance of the programme. Appropriate communication must be explicitly specified in the plan. In many cultures, multiple dialects and languages coexist in the workplace; and in certain cultures, a “managerial” dialect or language may normally not be used by the workforce. This problem includes the use of jargon and acronyms in communication between groups. Worker participation in the roll-out design may avert such shortcomings, and lead to solutions such as multilingual instructions and guidelines, a wider use of symbols and pictograms, and the selection of simple language. The wider approach to worker participation in the plan will produce benefits in terms of “buy-in” and acceptance of the plan’s goals and approaches.

The review process, or safety programme audit, should be repeated on a regular (annual) basis and will form the basis for 3-year rolling (or cyclical) plans. These plans will establish the future direction of the programme and provide the impetus for continual improvement, even in the face of changing production and process systems.

Continuous Improvement

Successful safety programmes do not remain static, but change to reflect changes in both corporate and social environments. Equally, successful programmes avoid dramatic but unachievable goals. Instead, a philosophy of continuous improvement and of continually rising standards is a key approach. The annual 3-year rolling plan is a good way to achieve that. Each year, the plan identifies broad goals and estimates with respect to likely costs and benefits that will develop over the next 3-year period. This will automatically provide for adaptation and continued improvement. As such plans are to be reviewed by management each year, an additional benefit will be that the objectives of the safety function are continuously aligned with corporate objectives.

Conclusion

The implementation of the safety programme must reflect its being an integral component of the management of the enterprise. Success would depend on clearly identifying the responsibilities of the various levels of management. The participation of workers in the implementation programme, and particularly the roll-out plan, is likely to produce benefits in the widespread adoption of the plan. The roll-out plan is a document which identifies the necessary activities, the timing of those activities and the responsibility for implementing each activity. The components of each activity—whether training, development of a working procedure or education—must be described in a way that is unambiguous to all levels of the enterprise. The final stage in the roll-out plan is to ensure that a continuous improvement cycle can occur by the installation of a safety programme audit on at least an annual basis.

 

Back

Read 3286 times Last modified on Monday, 27 June 2011 13:51

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Accident Prevention
Audits, Inspections and Investigations
Safety Applications
Safety Policy and Leadership
Safety Programs
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides

Safety Programs References

Albert, K. 1978. How to Be Your Own Management Consultant. New York: McGraw-Hill.

American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE). 1974. Directory of Safety Consultants. Oakton, IL, US: ASSE.

Association of Consulting Management Engineers. 1966. Professional Practices in Management Consulting. New York: Association of Consulting Management Engineers.

Bird, FE. 1974. Management Guide to Loss Control. Atlanta: Institute Press.

Bruening, JC. 1989. Incentives strengthen safety awareness. Occup Haz 51:49-52.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). 1988. Guidelines for Evaluating Surveillance Systems. MMWR 37 (suppl. No. S-5). Atlanta: CDC.

Fox, DK, BL Hopkins and WK Anger. 1987. The long-term effects of a token economy on safety performance in open pit mining. J App Behav Anal 20:215-224.

Geller, ES. 1990. In Bruening, JC. Shaping workers’ attitudes toward safety. Occup Haz 52:49-51.

Gibson, JJ. 1961. The contribution of experimental psychology to the formulation of the problem of safety: A brief for basic research. In Behavioral Approaches to Accident Research. New York: Association for the Aid of Crippled Children.

Gordon, JE. 1949. The epidemiology of accidents. Am J Public Health 39, April:504–515.

Gros J. 1989. Das Kraft-Fahr-Sicherheitsprogramm. Personalführung 3:246-249.

Haddon, W, Jr. 1973. Energy damage and the ten countermeasure strategies. J Trauma 13:321–331.

Haddon, W, EA Suchman and D Klein. 1964. Accident Research: Methods and Approaches. New York: Harper and Row.

Harano, RM and DE Hubert. 1974. An Evaluation of California’s Good Driver Incentive Program. Report No. 6. Sacramento: California Division of Highways.

Komaki, J. KD Barwick and LR Scott. 1978. A behavioural approach to occupational safety: pinpointing and reinforcing safe performance in a food manufacturing plant. J App Psy 63:434-445.

Latham, GP and JJ Baldes. 1975. The practical significance of Locke’s theory of goal setting. J App Psy 60: 122-124.

Lippit, G. 1969. Organization Renewal. New York: Meredith Corp.

McAfee, RB and AR Winn. 1989. The use of incentives/feedback to enhance work place safety: a critique of the literature. J Saf Res 20:7-19.

Peters, G. 1978. Why only a fool relies on safety standards. Prof Saf May 1978.

Peters, RH. 1991. Strategies for encouraging self-protective employee behaviour. J Saf Res 22:53-70.

Robertson, LS. 1983. Injuries: Causes, Control Strategies, and Public Policy. Lexington, MA, US: Lexington Books.

Starr, C. 1969. Social benefits versus technological risk. What is our society willing to pay for safety? Science 165:1232-1238.

Stratton, J. 1988. Low-cost incentive raises safety consciousness of employees. Occup Health Saf March:12-15.

Suokas, J. 1988. The role of safety analysis in accident prevention. Accident Anal Prev 20(1):67–85.

Veazie, MA, DD Landen, TR Bender and HE Amandus. 1994. Epidemiologic research on the etiology of injuries at work. Annu Rev Publ Health 15:203–221.

Wilde, GJS. 1988. Incentives for safe driving and insurance management. In CA Osborne (ed.), Report of Inquiry into Motor Vehicle Accident Compensation in Ontario. Vol. II. Toronto: Queen’s Printer for Ontario.