週四,三月10 2011 14:49

儲運作業

評價這個項目
(2票)

存儲

長期以來,農作物的種植和採集以及牲畜的生產一直被認為是世界上最古老和最重要的職業之一。 今天的農業和牧場與生產的許多作物、纖維和牲畜一樣多樣化。 在一種極端情況下,農業單位可能由一個家庭組成,他們在有限的區域內耕種土壤和植物並收割作物。 相反的極端包括大型企業農場,這些農場跨越廣闊的區域,高度機械化,使用精密的機械、設備和設施。 食物和纖維的儲存也是如此。 農產品的儲存可能像簡單的小屋和手挖坑一樣簡陋,也可能像高聳的筒倉、掩體、箱子和冷藏裝置一樣複雜。

危害及其預防

穀物、乾草、水果、堅果、蔬菜和植物纖維等農產品通常被儲存起來,供以後人類和牲畜食用或出售給普通民眾或製造商。 農產品在運往市場之前的儲存可能發生在各種結構中——坑、掩體、箱子、筒倉、冷藏裝置、手推車、貨車、穀倉和火車車廂,僅舉幾例。 儘管存儲的產品和存儲設施各不相同,但存儲過程中存在一些共同的危害:

墜落和掉落的物體

跌倒可能發生在高處或同一高度。 對於垃圾箱、筒倉、穀倉和其他存儲結構,從高處墜落最常發生在存儲結構中。 最常見的原因是無人看管的屋頂、地板開口、樓梯、閣樓和豎井,以及攀爬梯子或站在高架工作區域,例如未受保護的平台。 從高處墜落也可能是由於爬上或爬下運輸裝置(例如貨車、手推車和拖拉機)造成的。 從同一高度跌落會發生在光滑的表面、被物體絆倒或被移動的物體推動。 防止墜落包括以下措施:

  • 提供安全帶、背帶、救生索和安全靴
  • 在傾斜的屋頂上安裝護欄、腳趾板、貓梯或爬板
  • 受保護的地板開口、閣樓和豎井
  • 使用標准上升和運行的樓梯,在兩側提供扶手,並在必要時應用防滑條
  • 保持地板狀況良好,沒有凹凸不平的表面、孔洞和垃圾或滑溜物質的堆積
  • 在永久性梯子、警衛平台和平台上提供扶手
  • 保持伸縮梯或梯子處於良好狀態,並對員工進行使用培訓。

 

農產品可以散裝在設施中或捆紮、裝袋、裝箱或保釋。 鬆散儲存通常與小麥、玉米或大豆等穀物有關。 捆綁、袋裝、裝箱或保釋的產品包括乾草、稻草、蔬菜、穀物和飼料。 材料掉落髮生在所有類型的存儲中。 未固定的堆放食品、高架材料和成堆的貨物倒塌通常是造成傷害的原因。 應對員工進行正確堆放貨物的培訓,以防止貨物倒塌。 雇主和管理人員必須監督工作場所的合規性。

密閉空間

農產品可以儲存在兩種類型的設施中——那些含有足夠的氧氣來維持生命的設施,例如穀倉、敞篷手推車和貨車,以及那些沒有氧氣的設施,例如一些筒倉、水箱和冷藏裝置。 後者是密閉空間,應採取適當的預防措施。 進入前應監測氧氣水平,必要時使用供氣或自給式呼吸裝置; 應該有人在場。 如果其中的貨物具有流體特性,則任何一種設施都可能發生窒息。 這通常與穀物和類似食品有關。 工人溺水身亡。 在糧倉中,農業工人由於裝卸困難而進入糧倉是一種常見的做法,這通常是由於糧食狀況導致架橋造成的。 試圖通過鬆開穀物來緩解這種情況的工人可能會自願走在橋接的穀物上。 如果裝載或卸載設備正在運行,它們可能會落入並被穀物覆蓋或被吸入下方。 這種結構的側面也可能發生橋接,在這種情況下,工人可能會進入以擊倒粘在側面的材料,並在材料失效時被吞沒。 如果工人要進入此類結構,則上鎖/掛牌系統和墜落保護裝置(例如安全帶和繩索)必不可少。 兒童的安全尤其值得關注。 他們常常好奇、愛玩並且想做成人家務,他們被這樣的結構所吸引,而結果往往是致命的。

水果和蔬菜在運往市場之前通常會冷藏。 如上段所述,根據單元的類型,冷藏可被視為密閉空間,應監測氧氣含量。 其他危害包括凍傷和寒冷引起的傷害或長時間暴露於寒冷後因體溫下降而死亡。 個人防護服應穿著適合冷藏單元內的溫度。

氣體和毒藥

根據產品存放時的水分含量以及大氣和其他條件,飼料、穀物和纖維可能會產生危險氣體。 此類氣體包括一氧化碳 (CO)、二氧化碳 (CO2) 和氮氧化物 (NOx),其中一些可能會在幾分鐘內導致死亡。 如果貨物存放在可能允許非致命氣體積聚到危險水平並取代氧氣的設施中,這一點也尤為重要。 如果存在產生氣體的可能性,則應進行氣體監測。 此外,食品和飼料可能在生長期噴灑或用殺蟲劑處理以殺死雜草、昆蟲或疾病,或在儲存過程中減少腐敗或黴菌、孢子或昆蟲損害。 這可能會增加產氣、吸入粉塵和處理產品的危險。 根據治療的性質和持續時間、使用的產品和標籤說明,工人應特別注意穿戴個人防護裝備。

機器危險

存儲設施可能包含各種用於輸送產品的機械。 這些範圍從帶式和輥式輸送機到鼓風機、螺旋鑽、滑梯和其他此類產品處理設備,每個設備都有自己的電源。 危險和適當的預防措施包括:

  • 由皮帶、皮帶輪和齒輪形成的咬合點。 應通過在潛在接觸點周圍採取適當的防護措施來保護農業工人免受夾點和剪切點的傷害。
  • 突出的皮帶緊固件、固定螺絲、鍵、螺栓和凹槽. 旋轉軸上突出的固定螺釘、鍵或螺栓應埋頭、包住或遮蓋。 應檢查和修理皮帶緊固件。
  • 由飛輪臂、螺旋鑽及其外殼、滑輪輻條、曲柄和槓桿機構引起的剪切點。 這些應該受到保護或封閉。
  • 接觸移動的傳動裝置或電氣元件。 這些應該受到保護或封閉。
  • 機械或設備的意外啟動。 應實施和強制執行在維護或修理之前鎖定或標記設備的系統。
  • 寬鬆的衣服或頭髮纏繞在軸上或被軸纏住。 絕對不要穿寬鬆、磨損或有掛線的衣服。 應穿戴適合工作任務的其他個人防護服和鞋子。
  • 噪音過大。 應監測噪聲暴露,必要時應採取行政、工程和/或個人防護控制措施。

 

員工應接受培訓並了解危險、基本安全規則和安全工作方法。

健康狀況

參與農產品儲存處理的農業工人有患呼吸系統疾病的風險。 接觸各種灰塵、氣體、化學品、二氧化矽、真菌孢子和內毒素會導致肺部受損。 最近的研究將這些物質引起的肺部疾病與處理穀物、棉花、亞麻、大麻、乾草和煙草的工人聯繫起來。 因此,處於危險中的人群遍布全球。 農業肺部疾病有許多常見名稱,其中一些包括:職業性哮喘、農民肺、綠色煙草病、褐肺、有機粉塵中毒綜合徵、筒倉裝料者或卸料者病、支氣管炎和氣道阻塞。 症狀可能首先表現為流感的特徵(發冷、發燒、咳嗽、頭痛、肌痛和呼吸困難)。 對於有機粉塵尤其如此。 肺功能障礙的預防應包括對工作人員環境的評估、針對初級預防的健康促進計劃以及基於環境評估的個人防護呼吸器和其他防護裝置的使用。

運輸業務

雖然看起來很簡單,但將貨物運輸到市場往往與種植和儲存農作物一樣複雜和危險。 產品到市場的運輸與農業經營的類型一樣多樣化。 運輸的範圍很廣,從人類和牲畜攜帶的貨物,到自行車和畜力車等簡單機械設備的運輸,拖拉機牽引的大型手推車和貨車等複雜機械設備的牽引,再到商業運輸的使用系統,包括大型卡車、公共汽車、火車和飛機。 隨著世界人口的增加和城市地區的擴大,農業設備和畜牧業器具的公路旅行也增加了。 在美國,根據國家安全委員會 (NSC) 的數據,8,000 年有 1992 輛農用拖拉機和其他農用車輛捲入了高速公路事故 (NSC 1993)。 許多農業經營正在通過收購或租用一些通常分散且不相鄰的較小農場來鞏固和擴大。 1991 年在俄亥俄州進行的一項研究表明,79% 的受調查農場在多個地點經營(Bean 和 Lawrence 1992)。

危害及其預防

儘管上述每種運輸方式都有其獨特的危險,但民用交通與農業運輸機械和設備的混合才是主要問題。 農業設備公路行駛的增加導致機動車輛與移動較慢的農業設備之間發生更多的碰撞。 農場設備和畜牧工具可能比道路寬度更寬。 由於在正確的時間播種以保證收成或收割並將作物盡快運送到市場或儲存地點的壓力,農業機械必須經常在黑暗、清晨或傍晚在道路上行駛。

深入研究美國所有 50 個州的法規後發現,各州對照明和標記的要求差異很大。 這種要求的多樣性並沒有向機動車司機傳達一致的信息 (Eicher 1993)。 其他車輛的更快速度加上照明不足或農業設備標記通常是致命的組合。 美國最近的一項研究發現,常見的事故類型有追尾、側撞相遇、側撞超車、角度、迎面、倒車等。 在所研究的 20 起兩車碰撞事故中,有 803% 的農用車是從一個角度被撞的。 在 28% 的撞車事故中,農用車輛被側撞(15% 相遇,13% 超車)。 15% 的事故包括追尾碰撞 (4%)、正面碰撞 (3%) 和倒車碰撞 (25%)。 其餘 1993% 的事故是由移動車輛以外的其他因素(即停放的車輛、行人、動物等)引起的(Glascock 等人,XNUMX 年)。

牲畜在世界許多地方被用作運輸農產品的“馬力”。 儘管馱獸一般都很可靠,但大多數是色盲,具有領地本能和母性本能,反應獨立且出人意料,而且力大無窮。 這些動物曾造成車禍。 農業機械和畜牧業工具的墜落很常見。

以下一般安全原則適用於運輸操作:

  • 應了解並遵守當地的交通規則、法規或法律。
  • 除了完成運輸和卸貨任務所必需的人員外,不得允許任何騎手或乘客。
  • 在路況允許的情況下,車輛應盡可能靠近路肩。
  • 通過其他車輛(移動或停放)和行人時必須小心。
  • 如果可能,應將拋錨的車輛移離道路。
  • 機器和設備上的所有標記和照明應保持清潔。
  • 切勿在酒精或藥物的影響下駕駛。

 

法律法規可能會規定可接受的照明和標記狀態。 然而,許多此類法規僅描述了最低限度的可接受標準。 除非此類法規明確禁止改裝和添加額外的照明和標記,否則農民應考慮添加此類設備。 重要的是,此類照明和標記設備不僅要安裝在自行式工具上,而且還要安裝在它們可能牽引或拖曳的設備上。

燈光對於農業設備的黃昏、黎明和夜間移動尤為重要。 如果農用車輛有電源,應考慮至少配備:兩個前照燈、兩個尾燈、兩個轉向燈和兩個剎車燈。

尾燈、轉向燈和剎車燈可以合併為單個單元,也可以作為單獨的實體連接。 此類設備的標準可通過標準制定組織找到,例如美國農業工程師協會 (ASAE)、美國國家標準協會 (ANSI)、歐洲標準化委員會 (CEN) 和國際標準化組織 (ISO) .

如果農用車輛沒有電源,可以使用電池供電的燈,雖然效果不佳,但也可以使用。 許多此類燈以各種類型(泛光燈、閃爍燈、旋轉燈和頻閃燈)和尺寸在市場上出售。 如果不可能獲得這些設備,則可以使用下面討論的反射器、旗幟和其他替代材料。

現在可以使用許多新的逆向反射熒光材料來幫助標記農用車輛以提高可見度。 它們以各種顏色的補丁或條帶形式製造。 應諮詢當地法規以獲得可接受的顏色或顏色組合。

熒光材料依靠太陽輻射的發光特性提供出色的白天能見度。 當熒光顏料吸收不可見的太陽輻射並將能量重新發射為更長波長的光時,就會發生復雜的光化學反應。 從某種意義上說,熒光材料在白天似乎會“發光”,並且在相同光照條件下比傳統顏色顯得更亮。 熒光材料的主要缺點是它們會隨著長時間暴露在太陽輻射下而退化。

反射是視覺的一個元素。 光的波長撞擊物體並被吸收或向各個方向反射(漫反射),或者以與光撞擊物體的角度完全相反的角度反射(鏡面反射)。 逆反射與鏡面反射非常相似; 但是,光會直接反射迴光源。 有三種主要形式的逆向反射材料,根據它們的製造方式,每一種都具有不同程度的逆向反射率。 它們在這里以逆向反射率遞增的順序呈現:封閉透鏡(通常稱為工程級或 ID 型)、封裝透鏡(高強度)和立方角(鑽石級、棱鏡、DOT C2 或 IIIB 型)。 這些反光材料非常適合夜間視覺識別。 這些材料對於確定農具的末端也有很大幫助。 在此應用中,橫跨機器前後寬度的逆向反射和熒光材料條帶最好地向其他非農用車輛的駕駛員傳達設備的實際寬度。

美國、加拿大和世界許多其他地區使用帶有黃橙色中心的獨特紅色三角形來指定一類車輛為“緩慢移動”。 這意味著車輛在道路上的行駛速度低於每小時 40 公里。 通常情況下,其他車輛的行駛速度要快得多,速度上的差異可能會導致較快車輛駕駛員的誤判,從而影響駕駛員及時停車以避免發生事故的能力。 應始終使用該標誌或可接受的替代品。

健康狀況

參與農產品運輸的農業工人可能有患呼吸系統疾病的風險。 接觸各種灰塵、化學品、二氧化矽、真菌孢子和內毒素可能會導致肺部受損。 這在某種程度上取決於運輸車輛是否具有封閉式駕駛室以及操作人員是否參與裝卸過程。 如果運輸車輛在噴灑農藥的過程中使用過,農藥可能會存在並滯留在駕駛室內,除非它有空氣過濾系統。 然而,症狀可能首先表現為流感的特徵。 對於有機粉塵尤其如此。 肺功能障礙的預防應包括對工作人員環境的評估、針對初級預防的健康促進計劃以及個人防護面罩、呼吸器和其他防護裝置的使用。

 

返回

更多內容 5664 最後修改於 28 年 2011 月 08 日星期二 08:XNUMX

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

Thursday, 10 March 2011 14:49

Storing and Transportation Operations

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Storing

The growing and gathering of crops and production of livestock has long been recognized as one of the world’s oldest and most important occupations. Farming and ranching today is as diverse as the many crops, fibres and livestock which are produced. At one extreme, the farming unit may consist of a single family that cultivates the soil and plants and harvests the crop, all by hand over a limited area. The opposite extreme includes large corporate farms spanning vast areas that are highly mechanized, using sophisticated machinery, equipment and facilities. The same is true for the storage of food and fibre. Storage of agricultural products may be as rudimentary as simple huts and hand-dug pits, and as complex as towering silos, bunkers, bins and refrigerated units.

Hazards and their prevention

Agricultural products such as grains, hays, fruit, nuts, vegetables and plant fibre are often stored for later human and livestock consumption or sale to the general populace or to manufacturers. The storage of agricultural products prior to shipment to market may occur in a variety of structures—pits, bunkers, bins, silos, refrigerated units, carts, wagons, barns and railroad cars, to mention a few. Despite the diversity of products being stored and of storage facilities, there are hazards which are common to the storage process:

Falls and falling objects

Falls may occur from heights or at the same level. In the case of bins, silos, barns and other storage structures, falls from heights most often occur from and in storage structures. Most often the cause is unguarded roofs, floor openings, stairways, lofts and shafts, and climbing ladders or standing on raised work areas such as an unprotected platform. Falls from height may also result from climbing on or off the transportation unit (e.g., wagons, carts and tractors). Falls from the same level occur from slippery surfaces, tripping over objects or being pushed by a moving object. Protection against falls includes such measures as:

  • provision of safety belts, harnesses, lifelines and safety boots
  • installation of guard rails, toeboards, cat-ladders or crawling boards on sloped roofs
  • guarded floor openings, lofts and shafts
  • use of the standard rise and run of stairways, provision of handrails on both sides, and application non-skid strips where necessary
  • maintaining floors in good condition, free from uneven surfaces, holes and accumulations of waste or slippery substances
  • provision of handholds on permanent ladders, guard platforms and landings
  • maintaining extension or step ladders in good condition and training employees on their use.

 

Agricultural products may be stored loose in a facility or bundled, bagged, crated or bailed. Loose storage is often associated with grains such as wheat, corn or soybeans. Bundled, bagged, crated or bailed products include hay, straw, vegetables, grains and feeds. Falls of materials occur in all types of storage. Collapse of unsecured stacked foodstuffs, overhead materials and piles of goods are often causes of injury. Employees should be trained in the correct stacking of goods to prevent their collapse. Employers and managers must monitor the workplace for compliance.

Confined spaces

Agricultural products may be stored in two types of facilities—those that contain enough oxygen to sustain life, such as barns, open carts and wagons, and those that do not, such as some silos, tanks and refrigeration units. The latter are confined spaces, and should be treated with appropriate precautions. The oxygen level should be monitored prior to entry and a supplied air or self-contained breathing unit used if necessary; someone else should be on hand. Suffocation may also occur in either type of facility if the goods which it contains have the characteristics of a fluid. This is commonly associated with grains and similar foodstuffs. The worker dies as a result of drowning. In grain bins it is a common practice for an agricultural worker to enter the bin due to difficulties in loading or unloading, often caused by a condition of the grain resulting in bridging. Workers attempting to alleviate the situation by unbridging the grain may voluntarily walk on the bridged grain. They may fall in and be covered with the grain or be sucked under if the loading or unloading equipment is operational. Bridging also may occur to the sides of such structures, in which case a worker may enter to knock down the material sticking to the sides and become engulfed when the material fails. A lockout/tagout system and fall protection such as a safety belt and rope are essential if workers are to enter this type of structure. Children’s safety is of special concern. Often inquisitive, playful and wanting to do adult chores, they are attracted to such structures, and the results are all-too-often fatal.

Fruit and vegetables are often kept in cold storage prior to shipping to market. As indicated in the above paragraph, depending on the type of unit, cold storage may be considered a confined space and should be monitored for oxygen content. Other hazards include frostbite and cold-induced injury or death from body temperature loss following prolonged exposure to cold. Personal protective clothing should be worn appropriate to the temperature within the cold-storage unit.

Gases and poisons

Depending on the moisture content of the product when it is placed in storage and atmospheric and other conditions, feeds, grains and fibres may produce dangerous gases. Such gases include carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO2) and oxides of nitrogen (NOx), some of which may cause death in a matter of minutes. This is also especially important if the goods are stored in a facility in which nonlethal gases may be allowed to accumulate to dangerous levels, displacing oxygen. If the potential for gas production exists, then monitoring for gases should be done. In addition, foods and feeds may have been sprayed or treated with a pesticide during the growing period to kill weeds, insects or disease, or during the storage process to reduce spoilage or mould, spore or insect damage. This may add to the hazards of gas production, inhalation of dusts and handling of the product. Special care should be taken by workers to wear PPE depending on the nature and longevity of the treatment, the product used and the label directions.

Machine hazards

Storage facilities may contain a variety of machinery for conveying the product. These range from belt and roller conveyors to blowers, augers, slides and other such product-handling devices, each with its own power source. Hazards and suitable precautions include:

  • Nip points formed by belts, pulleys and gears. Agricultural workers should be protected from nip and shear points by an appropriate guarding around the point of potential contact.
  • Protruding belt fasteners, setscrews, keys, bolts and grooves. Protruding setscrews, keys or bolts on revolving shafts should be countersunk, encased or shrouded. Belt fasteners should be inspected and repaired.
  • Shear points caused by flywheel arms, augers and their housing, pulley spokes, crank and lever mechanisms. These should be guarded or enclosed.
  • Contact with moving transmission or electrical elements. These should be guarded or enclosed.
  • Inadvertent starting of machinery or equipment. A system for locking out or tagging out equipment prior to maintenance or repair should be implemented and enforced.
  • Loose clothing or hair getting wound on or caught by shafts. Clothing that is loose, frayed or that has hanging threads should never be worn. Other personal protective apparel and shoes appropriate to the job task should be worn.
  • Excessive noise. Noise exposure should be monitored and administrative, engineering and/or personal protective controls should be taken if necessary.

 

Employees should be trained and aware of the hazards, basic safety rules and safe working methods.

Health outcomes

Agricultural workers who are involved in the handling of agricultural products for storage are at risk for respiratory disorders. Exposures to a variety of dusts, gases, chemicals, silica, fungal spores and endotoxins can result in damage to the lungs. Recent studies link lung disorders caused by these substances to workers who handle grain, cotton, flax, hemp, hay and tobacco. Therefore the populations at risk are worldwide. Agricultural lung disorders have many common names, some of which include: occupational asthma, farmer’s lung, green tobacco sickness, brown lung, organic dust toxic syndrome, silo filler’s or unloader’s disease, bronchitis and airway obstruction. Symptoms may first manifest themselves as being characteristic of influenza (chills, fever, coughing, headaches, myalgias and breathing difficulty). This is especially true for organic dusts. Prevention of lung dysfunction should include an assessment of the worker’s environment, health promotion programmes targeted at primary prevention and the use of personal protective respirators and other protective devices based on the environmental assessment.

Transportation Operations

Although it may seem simple, the transportation of goods to market is often as complex and hazardous as growing and storing the crop. The transportation of products to market is as diversified as the types of farming operations. Transportation may range from goods being carried by humans and livestock, to being transported by simple mechanical devices such as bicycles and animal-drawn carts, being hauled by complex mechanical equipment such as large carts and wagons pulled by tractors, to the use of commercial transportation systems, which include large trucks, buses, trains and airplanes. As the world’s population increases and urban areas grow, road travel of agricultural equipment and implements of husbandry has increased. In the US, according to the National Safety Council (NSC), 8,000 farm tractors and other agricultural vehicles were involved in highway accidents in 1992 (NSC 1993). Many farming operations are consolidating and expanding by acquiring or renting a number of smaller farms which are typically scattered and not adjoining. A 1991 study in Ohio showed that 79% of the farms surveyed operated in multiple locations (Bean and Lawrence 1992).

Hazards and their prevention

Although each of the modes of transportation mentioned above will have its own unique hazards, it is the intermix of civilian traffic with agricultural transport machinery and equipment that is of major concern. The increase in road travel of agricultural equipment has resulted in a greater number of collisions between motor vehicles and slower moving agricultural equipment. Farm equipment and implements of husbandry may be wider than the width of the road. Due to pressure of planting at the right time to assure a crop or harvesting and getting the crop to a market or storage location as quickly as possible, agricultural machinery must often travel on the roadways during periods of darkness, early morning or evening.

An in-depth study of all 50 states’ codes in the United States revealed that the lighting and marking requirements vary greatly from state to state. This diversity in requirements does not communicate a consistent message to motor vehicle drivers (Eicher 1993). Faster speeds of other vehicles combined with inadequate lighting or marking of agricultural equipment is often a deadly combination. A recent study in the United States found that the common accident types are rear end, sideswipe-meeting, sideswipe-passing, angle, head-on, backing and other. In 20% of the 803 two-vehicle crashes studied, the farm vehicle was struck from an angle. In 28% of the crashes, the farm vehicle was sideswiped (15% meeting and 13% passing). Twenty-two per cent of the accidents consisted of rear-end (15%), head-on (4%) and backing (3%) collisions. The remaining 25% were crashes which were caused by something other than a moving vehicle (i.e., a parked vehicle, pedestrian, animal and so on) (Glascock et al. 1993).

Livestock are used in many parts of the world as the “horsepower” to transport agricultural products. Although beasts of burden are generally reliable, most are colourblind, have territorial and maternal instincts, react independently and unexpectedly, and are of great strength. Such animals have caused vehicle crashes. Falls from agricultural machinery and implements of husbandry are common.

The following general safety principles apply to transportation operations:

  • Local traffic rules, regulations or laws should be learned and obeyed.
  • No riders or passengers other than those that are necessary to accomplish the transport and unloading duties should be permitted.
  • Vehicles should stay as close to the shoulder of the road as road conditions will allow.
  • Passing other vehicles (moving or parked) and pedestrians must be done with caution.
  • Broken-down vehicles should be moved off the road if possible.
  • All marking and lighting on machinery and equipment should be maintained and clean.
  • Driving should never be done under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

 

Laws and regulations may dictate the state of acceptable lighting and marking. However, many such regulations only describe the minimal acceptable standards. Unless such regulations specifically prohibit retrofitting and adding additional lighting and marking, farmers should consider adding such devices. It is important that such lighting and marking devices be installed not only on self-propelled implements but also on pieces of equipment that they may be pulling or trailing.

Lights are especially critical for dusk, dawn and night-time movement of agricultural equipment. If the agricultural vehicle has a power source, consideration should be given to having, at a minimum: two headlights, two tail-lights, two turn signals and two brake lights.

Tail-lights, turn signals and brake lights may be incorporated into single units or can be attached as separate entities. Standards for such devices may be found through standard-setting organizations such as the American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE), the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

If the agricultural vehicle does not have a power source, battery-powered lights, although not as effective, may be used. Many such lights are commercially available in a variety of types (flood, blinking, rotating and strobe) and sizes. If it is impossible to obtain these devices, then reflectors, flags and other alternative materials discussed below may be used.

Many new retroreflective fluorescent materials are available today to aid in marking agricultural vehicles for enhanced visibility. They are manufactured in patches or strips in a variety of colours. Local regulations should be consulted for acceptable colours or colour combinations.

Fluorescent materials provide excellent daytime visibility by relying on solar radiation for their light-emitting properties. A complex photochemical reaction takes place when the fluorescent pigments absorb non-visible solar radiation and re-emit the energy as a longer wavelength of light. In a sense, fluorescent materials appear to “glow” in the daytime and appear brighter than the conventional colours in the same light conditions. The primary disadvantage of fluorescent materials is their deterioration with prolonged exposure to solar radiation.

Reflection is an element of sight. Wavelengths of light strike an object and are either absorbed or bounced back in all directions (diffused reflection) or at an angle exactly opposite to the angle at which the light struck the object (specular reflection). Retroreflectivity is very similar to specular reflection; however, the light is reflected directly back toward the light source. There are three primary forms of retroreflective materials, each having a different degree of retroreflectivity based on how they were manufactured. They are presented here in increasing order of retroreflectivity: enclosed lens (often called engineering grade or Type ID), encapsulated lens (high intensity) and cube corner (diamond grade, prismatic, DOT C2 or Type IIIB). These retroreflective materials are excellent for night-time visual identification. These materials are also of great assistance in defining the extremities of agricultural implements. In this application, strips of retroreflective and fluorescent material across the width of the machinery, front and back, best communicate to drivers of other, nonagricultural vehicles the actual width of the equipment.

The distinctive red triangle with a yellow-orange centre is used in the United States, Canada and many other parts of the world to designate a class of vehicles as “slow moving”. This means the vehicle travels less than 40 km per hour on the roadway. Typically, other vehicles travel much faster, and the difference in speed may result in a misjudgement on the part of the faster vehicle driver, affecting the driver’s ability to stop in time to avoid an accident. This emblem or an acceptable substitute should always be used.

Health outcomes

Agricultural workers who are involved in the transportation of agricultural products may be at risk for respiratory disorders. Exposures to a variety of dusts, chemicals, silica, fungal spores and endotoxins may result in damage to the lungs. This is somewhat dependent on whether the transport vehicle has an enclosed cab and whether the operator engages in the loading and unloading process. If the transport vehicle has been used in the process of pesticide application, pesticides could be present and trapped inside the cab unless it has an air filtration system. Nevertheless, symptoms may first manifest themselves as being characteristic of influenza. This is especially true for organic dusts. Prevention of lung dysfunction should include an assessment of the worker’s environment, health promotion programmes targeted at primary prevention and the use of personal protective masks, respirators and other protective devices.

 

Back

Read 2753 times Last modified on Tuesday, 28 June 2011 08:08

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Agriculture and Natural Resources Based Industries
Farming Systems
Food and Fibre Crops
Tree, Bramble and Vine Crops
Specialty Crops
Beverage Crops
Health and Environmental Issues
Beverage Industry
Fishing
Food Industry
Forestry
Hunting
Livestock Rearing
Lumber
Paper and Pulp Industry
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides