週四,三月10 2011 15:19

馬鈴薯收穫

評價這個項目
(0票)

塊根和塊莖是發展中國家超過 1 億人的飲食、食物能量和營養來源的重要組成部分。 塊根作物用於生產食品,包括複合麵粉、麵條、薯片和脫水產品。 它們為撒哈拉以南非洲一半的人口提供了大約 40% 的飲食。 木薯已成為發展中國家最重要的主食之一,為大約 500 億人提供基本飲食。 木薯也已成為歐洲動物飼料的重要出口作物。

塊根和塊莖——土豆、紅薯、木薯、山藥和芋頭——被稱為澱粉類食物。 它們富含碳水化合物、鈣和維生素 C,但蛋白質含量低。 這些食物是一些最貧窮國家的生計作物。 幾種塊根糧食作物是世界主要地區的主食。 其中包括印度支那、印度尼西亞和非洲的山藥; 南美洲、中美洲、墨西哥和歐洲的馬鈴薯; 以及南美洲的木薯和紅薯 (Alexandratos 1995)。

馬鈴薯在 1580 年代被引入愛爾蘭,一小塊地可以養活一個有六個孩子的家庭、一頭牛和一頭豬。 此外,作物可以留在土壤中免受冬季冰凍和火災的影響。 馬鈴薯成為愛爾蘭、英國、法國、德國、波蘭和俄羅斯窮人的食物。 1845 年,一場疫病襲擊了整個歐洲的馬鈴薯,導致愛爾蘭發生致命的馬鈴薯大饑荒,那裡沒有替代作物(Tannahill 1973)。

馬鈴薯仍然是發達國家的主要作物。 它的產量在美國繼續增長,其中大部分增長歸因於加工土豆。 加工馬鈴薯的增長出現在薯片和鞋帶、冷凍炸薯條、其他冷凍產品和馬鈴薯罐頭中。 主要的職業危害與傷害有關,並且在機械收割操作過程中會遇到。 在加拿大的一項研究中,發現馬鈴薯種植者患胰腺癌的風險較高,但與暴露無關。

危害性

馬鈴薯收割機的每個運動部件都有可能造成傷害。 拖拉機的 PTO 軸通過萬向節或軛連接拖拉機和收割機,是動能和傷害的來源。 應屏蔽 PTO 軸。 PTO 軸上最常見的傷害發生在軛架掛住一件寬鬆的衣服,纏住穿著者。

所有液壓系統都在壓力下運行,甚至高達每平方英寸 2,000 磅(14,000 Kpa),這是穿透皮膚所需壓力的三倍。 因此,工人決不能用手指蓋住洩漏的液壓軟管,因為流體可能會通過皮膚注入。 如果任何液體注入皮膚,必須在數小時內通過手術將其取出,否則可能會形成壞疽。 如果液壓系統中的任何一點出現故障,都可能導致嚴重傷害。 破裂的液壓軟管可以將液體噴出很遠的距離。 液壓系統儲存能量。 粗心的維修或調整可能導致受傷。

A 夾傷 可能發生在兩個機械部件一起移動並且至少其中一個部件在圓周運動的情況下。 齒輪和皮帶傳動是夾點的例子。 衣服或身體部位可能會卡住並被捲入齒輪中。 妥善保護馬鈴薯收割機部件可減少夾傷的可能性。

A 纏繞型損傷 當一個暴露的、未屏蔽的旋轉部件(例如 PTO 軸)纏住一件寬鬆的衣服時,就會發生這種情況:袖子、襯衫下擺、磨損的衣服甚至長發。 帶有生鏽或刻痕的光滑 PTO 軸可能會粗糙到足以掛住衣服; 仍然必須謹慎對待緩慢旋轉的 PTO 軸。 然而,與方形軸相比,更圓、更光滑的軸不太可能勾住衣服。 PTO 軸末端的萬向節最有可能勾住寬鬆的衣服並造成纏繞式傷害。 這些笨重的部件超出了 PTO 軸,即使沒有 PTO 軸,也可能造成纏繞式傷害。 從拖拉機到馬鈴薯收割機的 PTO 軸必須受到保護。 任何人都不應在不安全的條件下工作,例如未屏蔽的 PTO 軸。

剪切點 是兩個工件在切割運動中移動的區域。 手指放在吊桿接頭中或風扇皮帶與皮帶輪之間會很快被切斷。 由驅動風扇的發動機轉動的皮帶是截肢和其他身體傷害的場所。 同樣,適當保護馬鈴薯收割機部件可減少剪切損傷的可能性。

粉碎點 發現兩個物體相互靠近,或一個物體向靜止物體移動。 大卡車參與馬鈴薯收穫。 在田間運動,尤其是在馬鈴薯儲存建築物等封閉設施中,可能會導致翻車和壓傷腳或腿。

A 拉傷 當工人​​被拉進機器時發生。 任何時候試圖在馬鈴薯收割機運行時從其上取下東西,即使它沒有向前移動,都可能發生拉入傷害。

投擲物傷害 投擲彈丸時發生。 在從岩石中分離馬鈴薯塊莖的過程中,氣動馬鈴薯收穫機經常拋出泥土和小石塊。 泥土和碎屑的拋擲力足以造成眼睛受傷。

預防

幸運的是,可以採取很多措施來避免受傷。 衣服可以決定被夾在夾點或纏繞點和安全之間。 鬆散的長發可能會捲入纏繞點和夾點,將工人的頭部拖入危險位置。 長頭髮應該紮牢。 防滑鞋有助於防止工人站在分揀平台上滑倒,因為分揀平台可能充滿泥土和藤蔓。 如果在分揀台上工作時戴手套,則手套應緊密貼合,邊緣不得磨損或袖口鬆軟。

態度、警覺性和避免危險情況是安全著裝的補​​充。 任何人都不得在馬鈴薯收割機運行時上下車。 騎手必須等到收割機停下來。 許多嚴重和虛弱的傷害是由於在試圖安裝或拆卸移動的收割機時跌倒和被壓碎造成的。 在拖拉機開始牽引馬鈴薯收穫機之前,應盡量保持穩定的姿勢。 這將減少拖拉機向前猛拉時摔倒的可能性。 在拖拉機和收割機運行或啟動時,任何人都不應站在它們之間。 拖拉機操作員或騎馬鈴薯收割機的工人在 PTO 軸運行或啟動時,切勿靠近以觸及 PTO 軸。 收割機不應在運行時進行潤滑、調整或維修。 在皮帶運行時,不得試圖從皮帶上取下任何東西。

 

上一頁

更多內容 4429 最後修改於 28 年 2011 月 08 日星期二 10:XNUMX

" 免責聲明:國際勞工組織不對本門戶網站上以英語以外的任何其他語言呈現的內容負責,英語是原始內容的初始製作和同行評審所使用的語言。自此以來,某些統計數據尚未更新百科全書第 4 版的製作(1998 年)。”

內容

Thursday, 10 March 2011 15:19

Potato Harvesting

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Roots and tubers are a major part of the diet, food energy and nutrient source for more than 1 billion people in the developing world. Root crops are used to produce food products including composite flours, noodles, chips and dehydrated products. They provide about 40% of the diet for half of the sub-Saharan African population. Cassava has become one of the developing world’s most important staples, providing a basic diet to about 500 million people. Cassava has also become an important export crop for animal feed in Europe.

Roots and tubers—potatoes, sweet potatoes, cassava, yams and taro—are known as the starchy foods. They are high in carbohydrates, calcium and vitamin C, but low in protein. These foods are the subsistence crops in some of the poorest countries. Several root food crops are staples in major world regions. These include the yam in Indochina, Indonesia and Africa; the potato in South America, Central America, Mexico and Europe; and the cassava and sweet potato in South America (Alexandratos 1995).

The potato was introduced into Ireland in the 1580s, and a small plot could feed a six-child family, a cow and a pig. Moreover, the crop could remain in the soil protected from the winter freezes and fires. The potato became the food of the poor in Ireland, England, France, Germany, Poland and Russia. In 1845, a blight struck the potato across Europe, which resulted in the great, fatal potato famine in Ireland, where substitute crops were unavailable (Tannahill 1973).

The potato is still a principal crop in the developed world. Its production continues to increase in the United States, and much of this increase is attributed to processed potatoes. Growth in processed potatoes is occurring in chips and shoestrings, frozen French fries, other frozen products and canned potatoes. The principal occupational hazards are related to injury and are experienced during the mechanical harvesting operation. In a Canadian study, potato farmers were found to be at elevated risk of pancreatic cancer, but no association was made with an exposure.

Hazards

Each moving part of the potato harvester carries the potential for injury. The tractor’s PTO shaft, which connects the tractor and the harvester by universal joints or yokes, is the source of kinetic energy and of injuries. The PTO shaft should be shielded. The most common injury on a PTO shaft occurs when the yoke catches a loose piece of clothing, entangling the wearer.

All hydraulic systems operate under pressure, even as much as 2,000 pounds per square inch (14,000 Kpa), which is three times the pressure needed to penetrate skin. Thus a worker should never cover a leaking hydraulic hose with a finger since the fluid could be injected through the skin. If any fluid is injected into the skin, it must be surgically removed within a few hours or gangrene may develop. If any point in the hydraulic system fails, a serious injury can occur. A ruptured hydraulic hose can spray fluid a great distance. Hydraulic systems store energy. Careless servicing or adjusting can lead to injury.

A pinch-type injury can occur where two machinery parts move together and at least one of them moves in a circle. Gear and belt drives are examples of pinch points. Clothing or body parts can catch and become drawn into the gears. Proper guarding of potato harvester parts reduces the chance of a pinch-type injury.

A wrap-type injury can occur when an exposed, unshielded rotating component, such as a PTO shaft, entangles a loose piece of clothing: a sleeve, a shirt-tail, a frayed piece of clothing or even long hair. Smooth PTO shafts with rust or nicks can be rough enough to catch clothing; a slowly rotating PTO shaft must still be regarded with caution. However, the rounder, smoother shafts are less likely to catch clothing than square shafts. The universals at the end of the PTO shafts are the most likely to catch loose clothing and cause a wrap-type injury. These bulky parts extend beyond the PTO shaft and can cause a wrap-type injury even if one is clear of the PTO shaft. PTO shafts from the tractor to the potato harvester must be guarded. No one should work amid unsafe conditions such as unshielded PTO shafts.

Shear points are areas where two pieces move in a cutting motion. A finger placed in a boom joint or between a fan belt and the pulley would be quickly severed. The belt, turned by the engine that drives the fan, is a site for amputation as well as other bodily injuries. Again, proper shielding of potato harvester parts reduces the chance of a shear injury.

Crush points are found where two objects move towards each other, or an object moves toward a stationary object. Big trucks are involved in a potato harvest. Movement in the field and especially in a closed facility such as a potato storage building can lead to runovers and crushed feet or legs.

A pull-in injury occurs when a worker is pulled into machinery. Pull-in injuries can occur any time there is an attempt to remove something from a potato harvester while it is operating, even if it is not moving forward.

Thrown-object injuries occur when projectiles are hurled. Air-assisted potato harvesters routinely throw soil and small rocks in the process of separating potato tubers from rocks. The soil and debris are thrown with enough force to cause eye injuries.

Prevention

Fortunately, there is a great deal that can be done to avoid injuries. Clothing can make the difference between being caught in a pinch or wrap point and being safe. Loose, long hair can catch in wrap and pinch points and drag the worker’s head into a dangerous spot. Long hair should be securely tied. Skid-resistant shoes help keep the worker from slipping while standing on the sorting platform, which may be treacherous with mud and vines. Gloves, if worn while working on the sorting table, should be tight fitting and not have frayed edges or floppy cuffs.

Attitude, alertness and avoiding dangerous situations complement safe attire. No one should ever mount or dismount a potato harvester while it is in motion. The rider must wait until the harvester stops. Many of the serious and debilitating injuries occur from falling and being crushed while attempting to mount or dismount a moving harvester. One should try to be in a stable position before the tractor starts to pull the potato harvester. This will reduce the possibility of falling down as the tractor jerks forward. No one should ever be between the tractor and the harvester while they are in motion or when they are started. The tractor operator or the workers riding the potato harvester should never be close enough to touch the PTO shaft while it is running or when it is started. Harvesters should not be lubricated, adjusted or repaired while running. No attempt to dislodge anything from the belts should be made while they are in motion.

 

Back

Read 2613 times Last modified on Tuesday, 28 June 2011 08:10

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Agriculture and Natural Resources Based Industries
Farming Systems
Food and Fibre Crops
Tree, Bramble and Vine Crops
Specialty Crops
Beverage Crops
Health and Environmental Issues
Beverage Industry
Fishing
Food Industry
Forestry
Hunting
Livestock Rearing
Lumber
Paper and Pulp Industry
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides