الخميس، مارس 10 2011 15: 20

الخضار والبطيخ

قيم هذا المقال
(الاصوات 0)

يتم زراعة مجموعة متنوعة من الخضروات (نباتات عشبية) للأوراق والسيقان والجذور والفواكه والبذور الصالحة للأكل. تشمل المحاصيل محاصيل السلطة الورقية (مثل الخس والسبانخ) والمحاصيل الجذرية (مثل البنجر والجزر واللفت) ومحاصيل الكرنب (الملفوف والبروكلي والقرنبيط) والعديد من المحاصيل الأخرى المزروعة من أجل الفاكهة أو البذور (على سبيل المثال ، البازلاء والفول ، الكوسة والبطيخ والطماطم).

منذ الأربعينيات ، تغيرت طبيعة زراعة الخضروات بشكل كبير ، خاصة في أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا. في السابق ، كانت معظم الخضروات الطازجة تزرع بالقرب من المراكز السكانية بواسطة مزارعي الحدائق أو الشاحنات وكانت متوفرة فقط أثناء الحصاد أو بعده بفترة قصيرة. أدى نمو محلات السوبر ماركت وتطور شركات تصنيع الأغذية الكبيرة إلى خلق طلب على إمدادات ثابتة من الخضروات على مدار العام. في الوقت نفسه ، أصبح إنتاج الخضروات على نطاق واسع في المزارع التجارية ممكنًا في مناطق بعيدة عن المراكز السكانية الرئيسية بسبب التوسع السريع في أنظمة الري ، وبخاخات الحشرات المحسنة ومكافحة الأعشاب الضارة ، وتطوير آلات متطورة للزراعة والرش والحصاد والتدريج. . اليوم ، المصدر الرئيسي للخضروات الطازجة في الولايات المتحدة هو المناطق ذات الموسم الطويل ، مثل ولايات كاليفورنيا وفلوريدا وتكساس وأريزونا والمكسيك. يعتبر جنوب أوروبا وشمال إفريقيا من مصادر الخضروات الرئيسية لشمال أوروبا. تزرع العديد من الخضروات أيضًا في البيوت البلاستيكية. ومع ذلك ، تظل أسواق المزارعين التي تبيع المنتجات المحلية هي المنفذ الرئيسي لمزارعي الخضروات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، لا سيما في آسيا وأفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية.

تتطلب زراعة الخضروات مهارات ورعاية كبيرة لضمان إنتاج خضروات عالية الجودة يتم بيعها. تشمل عمليات زراعة الخضر إعداد التربة وزراعة المحاصيل وزراعتها والحصاد والمعالجة والنقل. تعتبر مكافحة الحشائش والآفات وإدارة المياه أمرًا بالغ الأهمية.

يتعرض عمال الخضار والبطيخ للعديد من المخاطر المهنية في بيئة عملهم ، والتي تشمل النباتات ومنتجاتها والكيماويات الزراعية لمكافحة الآفات والزيوت والمنظفات الخاصة بصيانة وإصلاح الآلات. كما أن العمل اليدوي أو الآلي يجبر العمال على اتخاذ أوضاع غير مريحة (انظر الشكل 1). الاضطرابات العضلية الهيكلية مثل آلام أسفل الظهر هي مشاكل صحية مهمة لهؤلاء العمال. تؤدي الأدوات والآلات الزراعية المستخدمة مع الخضار والبطيخ إلى مخاطر عالية للإصابات الرضحية وإعاقات صحية مختلفة مماثلة لتلك التي تظهر في الأعمال الزراعية الأخرى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتعرض المزارعون في الهواء الطلق للإشعاع الشمسي والحرارة ، في حين أن التعرض لحبوب اللقاح والسموم الداخلية والفطريات يجب أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار بين مزارعي الدفيئة. لذلك ، يمكن العثور على مجموعة متنوعة من الاضطرابات المتعلقة بالعمل في هؤلاء السكان.

الشكل 1. عمل يدوي في مزرعة خضروات بالقرب من أسام ، الأردن

AGR200F1

الحساسية الغذائية للخضروات والبطيخ معروفة جيدًا. يتم استفزازها في الغالب بسبب مسببات الحساسية النباتية ويمكن أن تسبب رد فعل فوريًا. سريريا ، تظهر الأعراض المخاطية الجلدية والجهاز التنفسي في معظم المرضى. تختلف الحساسية المهنية بين عمال الخضروات عن حساسية الطعام بعدة طرق. المواد المسببة للحساسية المهنية متنوعة ، بما في ذلك المواد النباتية والكيماوية والمشتقات البيولوجية. تم الإبلاغ عن احتواء الخرشوف وبراعم بروكسل والملفوف والجزر والكرفس والهندباء والثوم المعمر والهنديفي والثوم والفجل والكراث والخس والبامية والبصل والبقدونس والجزر الأبيض على مسببات الحساسية النباتية وتوعية عمال الخضار. ومع ذلك ، نادرًا ما يتم الإبلاغ عن الحساسية المهنية لمسببات الحساسية من البطيخ. تم عزل وتحديد عدد قليل من مسببات الحساسية من الخضروات والبطيخ بسبب صعوبة وتعقيد التقنيات المخبرية المطلوبة. معظم المواد المسببة للحساسية ، خاصة تلك ذات الأصل النباتي ، قابلة للذوبان في الدهون ، لكن القليل منها قابل للذوبان في الماء. تختلف القدرة على التحسس أيضًا اعتمادًا على العوامل النباتية: يمكن عزل المواد المسببة للحساسية في قنوات الراتنج ولا يتم إطلاقها إلا عند تعرض الخضروات للكدمات. ومع ذلك ، في حالات أخرى ، قد يتم إطلاقها بسهولة عن طريق الشعر الكبير الهش ، أو يتم إفرازها على الورقة ، وتغطي حبوب اللقاح أو تنتشر على نطاق واسع بفعل الرياح على trichomes (نمو يشبه الشعر على النباتات).

من الناحية السريرية ، فإن أكثر أمراض الحساسية المهنية شيوعًا التي تم الإبلاغ عنها لدى عمال الخضروات هي التهاب الجلد التحسسي والربو والتهاب الأنف. يمكن رؤية التهاب الأسناخ التحسسي الخارجي والتهاب الجلد الضوئي التحسسي والأرتكاريا الأرجية (خلايا النحل) في بعض الحالات. يجب التأكيد على أن الخضار والبطيخ والفواكه وحبوب اللقاح تحتوي على بعض مسببات الحساسية الشائعة أو المتفاعلة. هذا يعني أن الأشخاص التأتبيين والأفراد الذين يعانون من حساسية تجاه أحد هؤلاء قد يصبحون أكثر عرضة من غيرهم لتطوير الحساسية المهنية. لفحص وتشخيص هذه الحساسية المهنية ، يتوفر حاليًا عدد من الاختبارات المناعية. بشكل عام ، اختبار الوخز والاختبار داخل الأدمة وقياس الأجسام المضادة IgE الخاصة بمسببات الحساسية و في الجسم الحي يستخدم اختبار تحدي الحساسية للحساسية الفورية ، في حين يمكن اختيار اختبار الحساسية للحساسية من النوع المتأخر. يساعد اختبار تكاثر الخلايا الليمفاوية الخاصة بمسببات الحساسية وإنتاج السيتوكين في تشخيص كلا النوعين من الحساسية. يمكن إجراء هذه الاختبارات باستخدام الخضروات الأصلية ومستخلصاتها والمواد الكيميائية المنبعثة.

لوحظت الأمراض الجلدية مثل داء البكتريا وفرط التقرن وتلوين إصابات الأظافر والتهاب الجلد لدى عمال الخضروات. على وجه الخصوص ، يحدث التهاب الجلد التماسي بشكل متكرر ، سواء كان مهيجًا أو أرجيًا. ينتج التهاب الجلد المهيج عن عوامل كيميائية و / أو فيزيائية. الأجزاء النباتية مثل الدريش والشويكات والشعر الخشن والجراف والأشواك مسؤولة عن معظم هذا التهيج. من ناحية أخرى ، يتم تصنيف التهاب الجلد التحسسي إلى أنواع فورية ومتأخرة على أساس التسبب في المرض المناعي. يتم التوسط في الأول من خلال الاستجابات المناعية الخلطية ، في حين يتم التوسط في الأخير من خلال الاستجابات المناعية الخلوية.

سريريًا ، يعاني العديد من مرضى التهاب الجلد التحسسي من مجموعة من الأعراض بما في ذلك الحكة والحمامي والطفح الجلدي والتورم والحويصلات. مواقع الآفات هي بشكل رئيسي اليدين والذراعين والوجه والرقبة. في مسح ميداني لمزارعي البامية اليابانيين (نومورا 1993) ، كان أكثر من 50 ٪ من المزارعين يعانون من آفات جلدية ، وظهرت في الغالب على اليدين والذراعين. أظهر حوالي 20 إلى 30 ٪ من المزارعين تفاعلًا إيجابيًا لاختبار الرقعة مع وسادة البامية أو مستخلصات الأوراق. علاوة على ذلك ، تبين أن النشاط التحلل للبروتين لمستخلصات البامية يسبب آفات الجلد.

المواد الكيميائية الزراعية هي أيضًا من مسببات الحساسية الهامة المسؤولة عن التهاب الجلد التحسسي. وتشمل هذه المبيدات الحشرية (DDVP ، والديازينون ، و EPN ، والملاثيون ، والناليد ، والباراثيون ، وما إلى ذلك) ، ومبيدات الفطريات (البينوميل ، والكابتافول ، والكابتان ، والمانيب ، والنيتروفين ، وبلوندريل ، والثيرام ، والزينب ، والزيرام ، وما إلى ذلك) ، ومبيدات الأعشاب (كاربين) ، راندوكس وما إلى ذلك) ومواد التبخير (خليط DD® من 1,3،1,1,2-ثنائي كلوروبروبين و XNUMX،XNUMX،XNUMX-ثنائي كلورو بروبان والمركبات ذات الصلة). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، البكتيريا الانتهازية و العقدية المقيحة وجد أنها تلعب دورًا مهمًا في التهاب الجلد التحسسي والأرتكاريا لعمال الخضار.

يتعرض عمال الخضراوات ، وخاصة أولئك الذين يعملون في الصوبات الزراعية أو في الداخل ، للعديد من المنتجات النباتية ومركبات مثل المبيدات الحشرية ، والتي تعد مسؤولة عن زيادة أمراض الرئة. في دراسة وطنية أجريت على المزارعين السويسريين ، تم توثيق أن معدل الوفيات النسبي المعياري للعمر لجميع أمراض الرئة والتهاب الشعب الهوائية والربو والربو وحده كان 127 و 140 و 137 على التوالي. يمكن أن تسبب المنتجات النباتية الربو التحسسي المهني بشكل مباشر ، أو توفر مهيجات غير محددة و / أو وسيلة لمسببات الحساسية الأخرى بما في ذلك حبوب اللقاح والجراثيم والعث والمواد الأخرى. المنتجات النباتية التي يمكن أن تسبب الربو التحسسي هي البروميلين ، حبوب الخروع والشمع ، الفريزيا ، حبوب لقاح الحبوب ، صمغ الغوار ، البابين ، البابريكا ، القفزات ، إيبيكاكوانها ، حمض البليكاتيك ، حمض كويليك ، الصابونين وحبوب لقاح عباد الشمس.

تنتج الفطريات في بيئة العمل العديد من الجراثيم ، بعضها يسبب الربو التحسسي و / أو التهاب الأسناخ التحسسي الخارجي. ومع ذلك ، فمن النادر أن يحدث الربو التحسسي والتهاب الأسناخ التحسسي الخارجي من تلك المواد المسببة للحساسية في نفس المواضيع. أما بالنسبة للكائنات الدقيقة المسببة ، النوباء, الرشاشيات النيجر, كلادوسبوريوم، الحمأة المرطب ، ميروليوس لاكريمانس, Micropolyspora faei ، بايسيلوميسيس و الكبكوبية تم التعرف عليه. في معظم الحالات ، توجد مستضدات من أصل فطري في الجراثيم ومنتجات التكسير.

المرضى الذين يعانون من الربو المهني الناجم عن المنتجات النباتية يظهرون دائمًا ارتفاعًا في مستوى الأجسام المضادة IgE في الدم ، وفرط الحمضات واختبار الوخز الإيجابي ، في حين يُلاحظ وجود جسم مضاد معين ، واختبار وخز إيجابي ، ونتائج إشعاعية مميزة في المرضى الذين يعانون من التهاب الأسناخ التحسسي الخارجي. بالإضافة إلى الحساسية الرئوية تجاه المنتجات النباتية وجراثيم الفطريات ، تظهر أعراض الأنف عند مرضى التأتبي عند التعامل مع الخضار مثل الجزر والخس. لا توجد شكاوى من الجهاز الهضمي بشكل عام.

يتم استخدام الكيماويات الزراعية لأغراض مختلفة سواء في زراعة الخضروات الداخلية أو الخارجية. من بين المواد الكيميائية المستخدمة ، وجد أن بعضها لديه إمكانية الإصابة بالربو. وهي تشمل الكابتافول والكلوروثالونيل والكريوزوت والفورمالديهايد والبيريثرين والستربتومايسين. من المحتمل أن تؤدي الاستخدامات غير السليمة لمبيدات الآفات إلى تلوث التربة والخضروات. يمكن أن يؤدي استخدام مبيدات الآفات بدون معدات الوقاية الشخصية المناسبة إلى تأثيرات سمية حادة أو مزمنة.

 

الرجوع

عرض 4868 مرات تم إجراء آخر تعديل يوم الأربعاء ، 24 آب (أغسطس) 2011 الساعة 02:34
المزيد في هذه الفئة: «حصاد البطاطس

"إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

المحتويات

Thursday, 10 March 2011 15:20

Vegetables and Melons

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

A wide variety of vegetables (herbaceous plants) is grown for edible leaves, stems, roots, fruits and seeds. Crops include leafy salad crops (e.g., lettuce and spinach), root crops (e.g., beets, carrots, turnips), cole crops (cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower) and many others grown for their fruit or seed (e.g., peas, beans, squashes, melons, tomatoes).

Since the 1940s, the nature of vegetable farming, particularly in North America and Europe, has changed dramatically. Previously, most fresh vegetables were grown close to population centres by garden or truck farmers and were available only during or shortly after harvest. The growth of supermarkets and the development of large food-processing companies created a demand for steady, year-round supplies of vegetables. At the same time, large-scale vegetable production on commercial farms became possible in areas far from major population centres because of rapidly expanding irrigation systems, improved insect sprays and weed control, and the development of sophisticated machinery for planting, spraying, harvesting and grading. Today, the main source of fresh vegetables in the United States is long-season areas, such as the states of California, Florida, Texas and Arizona, and Mexico. Southern Europe and North Africa are major vegetable sources for northern Europe. Many vegetables are also grown in greenhouses. Farmers’ markets selling local produce, however, remain the major outlet for vegetable growers throughout much of the world, particularly in Asia, Africa and South America.

Vegetable farming requires substantial skills and care to ensure production of high-quality vegetables that will sell. Vegetable farming operations include soil preparation, planting and growing crops, harvesting, processing and transportation. Weed and pest control and water management are crucial.

Vegetable and melon workers are exposed to many occupational hazards in their working environment, which include plants and their products, agrochemicals for controlling pests and oils and detergents for maintaining and repairing machinery. Manual or automatic work also forces the workers into uncomfortable positions (see figure 1). Musculoskeletal disorders such as low-back pain are important health problems in these workers. Agricultural tools and machines used with vegetables and melons give rise to high risks for traumatic injuries and various health impairments similar to those seen in other agricultural work. In addition, outdoor growers are exposed to solar radiation and heat, whereas exposure to pollens, endotoxins and fungi should be taken into account among greenhouse farmers. Therefore, a wide variety of work-related disorders can be found in those populations.

Figure 1. Manual labour on a vegetable farm near Assam, Jordan

AGR200F1

Food allergies to vegetables and melons are well known. They are mostly provoked by vegetable allergens and can cause an immediate reaction. Clinically, mucocutaneous and respiratory symptoms appear in most patients. Occupational allergy among vegetable workers differs from food allergy in several ways. Occupational allergens are diverse, including those of vegetable origin, chemicals and biological derivatives. Artichoke, brussels sprouts, cabbage, carrot, celery, chicory, chive, endive, garlic, horseradish, leek, lettuce, okra, onion, parsley and parsnip have been reported to contain vegetable allergens and to sensitize vegetable workers. Occupational allergies to melon allergens, however, are seldom reported. Only a few allergens from vegetables and melons have been isolated and identified because of the difficulty and complexity of the laboratory techniques required. Most allergens, especially those of vegetable origin, are fat soluble, but a few are water soluble. The ability to sensitize also varies depending on botanical factors: The allergens may be sequestered in resin canals and released only when the vegetables are bruised. However, in other cases they may be readily released by fragile grandular hairs, or be                                                                                                                           excreted onto the leaf, coat the pollens or be widely                                                                                                                                             disseminated by the action of wind on trichomes (hair-like                                                                                                                                 growths on the plants).

Clinically, the most common occupational allergic diseases reported in the vegetable workers are allergic dermatitis, asthma and rhinitis. Extrinsic allergic alveolitis, allergic photodermatitis and allergic urticaria (hives) can be seen in some cases. It should be emphasized that vegetables, melons, fruits and pollens have some allergens in common or cross-reacting allergens. This implies that atopic persons and individuals with an allergy to one of those may become more susceptible than others in the development of occupational allergies. To screen and diagnose these occupational allergies, a number of immune tests are currently available. In general, the prick test, intradermal test, measurement of allergen-specific IgE antibody and in vivo allergen challenge test are used for immediate allergies, whereas the patch test can be chosen for delayed-type allergy. The allergen-specific lymphocyte proliferation test and cytokine production are helpful in diagnosing both types of allergy. These tests can be performed using native vegetables, their extracts and released chemicals.

Dermatoses such as pachylosis, hyperkeratosis, nail injury chromatosis and dermatitis are observed in vegetable workers. In particular, contact dermatitis, both irritant and allergic, occurs more frequently. Irritant dermatitis is caused by chemical and/or physical factors. Vegetable parts such as thrichomes, spicules, coarse hairs, raphides and spines are responsible for most of this irritation. On the other hand, allergic dermatitis is classified into immediate and delayed types on the basis of their immunopathogenesis. The former is mediated through humoural immune responses, whereas the later is mediated through cellular immune responses.

Clinically, many patients with allergic dermatitis experience a range of symptoms including itching, erythema, rash, swelling and vesicles. The sites of lesions are mainly the hands, arms, face and neck. In a field survey of Japanese okra growers (Nomura 1993), more than 50% of farmers had skin lesions, and these appeared mostly on the hands and arms. About 20 to 30% of farmers showed a positive patch test reaction to okra pad or leaf extracts. Furthermore, proteolytic activity of okra extracts was shown to cause the skin lesions.

Agricultural chemicals are also important allergens responsible for allergic dermatitis. These include insecticides (DDVP, diazinon, EPN, malathion, naled, parathion and so on), fungicides (benomyl, captafol, captan, maneb, manzeb, nitrofen, plondrel®, thiram, zineb, ziram and so on), herbicides (carbyne, randox and so on) and fumigants (D-D® mixture of 1,3-dichloropropene and 1,1,2-dichloropropane and related compounds). Additionally, opportunistic bacteria and Streptococcus pyogenes are found to play an important role in allergic dermatitis and urticaria for vegetable workers.

Vegetable workers, especially those working in greenhouses or indoors, are exposed to many vegetable products and to compounds such as pesticides, which are responsible for increased lung diseases. In a national study conducted among Swiss farmers, it was documented that the age-standardized proportional mortality for all lung diseases, bronchitis and asthma, and asthma alone were 127, 140 and 137, respectively. Vegetable products can directly cause occupational allergic asthma, or provide non-specific irritants and/or the vehicle for other allergens including pollens, spores, mites and other substances. Vegetable products which can cause allergic asthma are bromelin, castor beans and wax, freesia, grain pollen, guar gum, papain, paprika, hops, ipecacuanha, plicatic acid, quillaic acid, saponin and sunflower pollen.

Fungi in the work environment produce many spores, some of which cause allergic asthma and/or extrinsic allergic alveolitis. However, it is rare that allergic asthma and extrinsic allergic alveolitis from those allergens occur in the same subjects. As for the causative micro-organisms, Alternaria, Aspergillus niger, Cladosporium, humidifier sludge, Merulius lacrymans, Micropolyspora faei, Paecilomyces and Verticillium have been identified. In most cases, antigens of fungal origin are present in spores and breakdown products.

Patients with occupational asthma caused by vegetable products always show elevated serum IgE antibody, eosinophilia and a positive prick test, whereas specific precipitating antibody, positive prick test and distinct radiological findings are seen in patients with extrinsic allergic alveolitis. In addition to pulmonary allergy to vegetable products and fungi spores, nasal symptoms are provoked in atopic patients when handling vegetables such as carrots and lettuce. Gastrointestinal complaints are not generally found.

Agrochemicals are applied for various purposes both in indoor and outdoor vegetable growing. Among the chemicals used, some have been found to have asthmatic potential. They include captafol, chlorothalonil, creosote, formaldehyde, pyrethrin and streptomycin. The improper uses of pesticides potentially can result in soil and vegetable contamination. The application of pesticides without suitable personal protective equipment can lead to both acute or chronic toxic effects.

 

Back

Additional Info

Read 2861 times Last modified on Wednesday, 24 August 2011 02:34
More in this category: « Potato Harvesting

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Agriculture and Natural Resources Based Industries
Farming Systems
Food and Fibre Crops
Tree, Bramble and Vine Crops
Specialty Crops
Beverage Crops
Health and Environmental Issues
Beverage Industry
Fishing
Food Industry
Forestry
Hunting
Livestock Rearing
Lumber
Paper and Pulp Industry
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides