الأربعاء، أبريل 06 2011 19: 17

رسام (غير فني)

قيم هذا المقال
(الاصوات 0)

المرادفات: فرشاة. اللك. بخاخ طلاء؛ عامل طلاء

نبذه عن الوظيفه

التعريف و / أو الوصف

DEF18

يطبق الطلاء على الأسطح. تجهز الجدران أو المعدن أو الخشب أو الأسطح الأخرى للرسم. تنشر المناشف على الأرضيات والآلات والمفروشات. نصب السقالات أو نصب السلالم للعمل فوق مستوى الأرض. يزيل التركيبات (مثل الصور والمسامير وأغطية المفاتيح الكهربائية). يزيل الطلاء القديم باستخدام مزيل الطلاء أو الكاشطة أو الفرشاة السلكية أو مشعل النفخ. يملأ الثقوب والشقوق والمفاصل بالسد أو المعجون أو الجص أو مواد حشو أخرى. ينعم السطح باستخدام ورق الصنفرة والفولاذ والصوف و / أو الفرش. يغسل ويعالج الأسطح بالماء أو وسائط التنظيف الأخرى. يختار الطلاء المخلوط مسبقًا أو يمزج بين مكونات الطلاء. وضع طبقات الطلاء أو الورنيش أو البقع أو المينا أو الورنيش على الأسطح باستخدام الفرش أو مسدسات الرش أو البكرات أو المعدات الكهروستاتيكية. قد يجف أو يخبز الطلاء في أفران خاصة. قد يقطع الإستنسل والفرشاة أو يرش الزخارف والحروف على الأسطح.

المهام

المهمة 1

مجفف هواء، التجفيف بالهواء؛ تطبيق (الطلاء) ؛ تهب (هواء جاف) ؛ انشقاق. الترابط. تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة. احتراق؛ حساب. حمل؛ السد. تدعيم. تنظيف؛ التسلق؛ طلاء؛ قطع. تزيين. تذويب. تجفيف؛ ترسيب (كهربائيا) ؛ مينا ؛ إقامة (سقالات) ؛ حشوة؛ الفلتره؛ التشطيب. الإلتصاق. طحن؛ ينقلون؛ اللك. حروف. التحميل والتفريغ العلامات؛ قناع؛ مطابقة. قياس؛ خلط؛ متحرك؛ التشغيل (مسدس الرش ، إلخ) ؛ لوحة؛ لصق. الزخرفة. لياسة؛ صب. تحضير (الأسطح) ؛ شراء؛ المعجون. تنظيم (التدفق) ؛ إزالة (الطلاء ، الصدأ ، التركيبات ، إلخ) ؛ إصلاح؛ المتداول. فرك؛ الصنفرة. تجريف. الشد والفك. ختم؛ اختيار ؛ إقامة (سلالم ، إلخ) ؛ الطلقة الناسفة؛ تنعيم. رش؛ انتشار. تلطيخ؛ الختم (الأنماط والتصاميم) ؛ تجريد. تسجيل. اللمس اقتفاء أثر؛ نقل النقل. بالورنيش. غسل؛ الصبح. تبييض. مسح؛ وجع.

المعدات الأولية المستخدمة

المعدات

فرش اليد بكرات. معدات الرش (ضغط الهواء أو بدون تهوية ؛ محمولة باليد أو آلية) ؛ معدات الطلاء الكهروستاتيكي. أفران تجفيف الطلاء أو المصابيح أو نافخات الهواء الساخن ؛ معدات خلط الطلاء أدوات نزع الطلاء (يدوية أو كهربائية).

المخاطر

مخاطر الحوادث

أتشا1

- السقوط من علو (السقوط من السلالم ، ومن المنصات المرتفعة الثابتة والمتحركة ، ومن السقالات ، ومن الأسطح ، ومن قمم الخزانات ، ومن خلال الفتح في الأسطح ، وما إلى ذلك) ؛

- الانزلاق والسقوط على الأسطح المستوية ، ولا سيما على الأرضيات الزلقة ؛

- الصعق بالكهرباء أو الصدمات الكهربائية (من المعدات الكهربائية المعيبة ، من خلال ملامسة سلالم معدنية بخطوط كهربائية ، أثناء العمل بمعدات الطلاء الكهروستاتيكي عالية الجهد ، وما إلى ذلك) ؛

- الحقن تحت الجلد للطلاء في الأصابع واليدين و (في كثير من الأحيان أقل) أجزاء أخرى من الجسم عند العمل بمعدات رش عالية الضغط بدون تهوية. قد يتسبب هذا الحقن في اختراق عميق وبتر للأصابع المصابة ؛

- أضرار ميكانيكية شديدة للعين بسبب نفاثات الطلاء عالية الضغط ؛

- حريق وانفجارات مذيبات الدهان القابلة للاشتعال والمكونات الأخرى خاصة عند العمل (الدهان أو خلط الدهانات) في الأماكن الضيقة ذات التهوية السيئة. قد تحتوي ورنيش الأثاث على مادة النيتروسليلوز ، وهي مادة متفجرة ويمكن أن تنفجر عند الارتطام أو التسخين ، إذا تركت بقايا الطلاء لتجف ؛

- الحرائق والانفجارات نتيجة التفريغ الكهروستاتيكي أثناء الطلاء الكهروستاتيكي بدهانات المسحوق ، أو نتيجة الشرر المتولد عند تأثير جزيئات المعادن (على سبيل المثال ، في الدهانات التي تحتوي على مساحيق معدنية) على سطح المعدن المطلي ، أو نتيجة اشتعال يرسم مع مواد رابطة تتأكسد عند ملامستها للهواء ؛

- الملابس التي تشتعل فيها النيران داخل منطقة الطلاء أو خارجها عند تشريبها بالدهانات أو الزيت ؛

- حوادث تناثر الطلاء نتيجة انفجار الأنابيب أو عند محاولة فك فوهات الرش المسدودة ؛

- اختراق جسيمات غريبة في العين أثناء تحضير السطح للطلاء (على سبيل المثال ، عن طريق التفجير أو الصنفرة) ؛

- جروح وطعنات وسحجات وما إلى ذلك في الأصابع واليدين أثناء تحضير السطح بواسطة ميكانيكي يعني؛

- اختراق الجلد بشظايا الخشب عند تحضير الأسطح الخشبية للرسم ؛

- سحق الأطراف أو ضربات لأجزاء أخرى من الجسم عند العمل في وضع معلق وضع؛

- سحجات الجلد من درجات السلم.

- تهيج العين أو تلف القرنية من رذاذ المذيب المتناثر في العين.

- الاختناق في الاماكن الضيقة نتيجة نقص الاوكسجين الذي يتفاقم بسبب وجود ابخرة المذيبات.

الأخطار المادية

الفيزياء 9

- الضوضاء الصادرة عن مسدسات الرش أو معدات السفع بالخردق ؛

- التعرض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية أو الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، أو الحرارة من معدات تجفيف الطلاء ؛

- التعرض للبرودة والمطر والثلج والرياح في الشتاء ، أو للحرارة وأشعة الشمس في الصيف ، ولا سيما في العمل الخارجي ؛

- التعرض للمسودات في المباني غير المكتملة.

المخاطر الكيميائية

شيما 17

- التهاب الجلد التماسي المهني نتيجة التعرض لمكونات أو مذيبات الدهان المختلفة ، ولا سيما الهيدروكربونات الأليفاتية والعطرية ومركبات الهالوجين العضوي ؛

- تهيج العين (مع احتمال حدوث ضرر دائم للرؤية) والجهاز التنفسي بسبب مكونات الطلاء المختلفة ، ولا سيما التولوين وثنائي أيزوسيانات الميثيلين ؛

- التسمم الحاد نتيجة استنشاق المذيبات خاصة في الأماكن الضيقة ذات التهوية غير الكافية. التسمم الخفيف له تأثير مخدر يقلل من اليقظة ويزيد بشكل ملحوظ من خطر السقوط أو الحوادث الأخرى ، وأحيانًا مع عواقب وخيمة. قد يكون التسمم الشديد مميتًا ؛

- التسمم بالفوسجين المتكون من مختلف المذيبات المكلورة عند ملامستها لمصدر حرارة تحت ظروف الاحتراق الجزئي ؛

- التسمم بالرصاص في البادئات والمكونات المعدنية الأخرى للدهانات (مثل مركبات الزئبق والزرنيخ المستخدمة كمبيدات للفطريات في دهانات اللاتكس ، ومركبات القصدير العضوي في الدهانات البحرية المانعة للحشف ، وكرومات الزنك في مختلف البادئات الخالية من الرصاص ، وما إلى ذلك) ؛

- التسمم بمزيلات الطلاء مثل كلوريد الميثيلين أو المذيبات المختلطة ؛

- التسمم بمكونات الطلاء الخطرة ، اعتمادًا على نوع الطلاء المستخدم (مثل الفورمالديهايد في دهانات الميلامين / الفورمالديهايد ، وراتنجات الإيبوكسي في دهانات الإيبوكسي ، وثنائي أيزوسيانات التولوين ، وثنائي أيزوسيانات الميثيلين في دهانات البولي يوريثان ، وما إلى ذلك) ؛

- تأثير سام للأعصاب نتيجة العمل مع الدهانات المحتوية على n- مذيبات الهكسان أو أصباغ الرصاص.

العوامل المريحة والاجتماعية

إرغو 4

- آلام الرقبة أو الكتف ، والتواء وإجهاد الأطراف العلوية ، والاضطرابات العضلية الهيكلية نتيجة الأوضاع غير الملائمة ، لا سيما أثناء طلاء الأسقف ؛

- إجهاد العين لدى رسامي الأشياء الصغيرة ؛

- آلام الركبة وإصابات غضروف مفاصل الركبة.

- إجهاد القلب والجهاز التنفسي عند استخدام أجهزة حماية الجهاز التنفسي.

إضافة

ملاحظة

ملاحظات 8

  1. نُشرت تقارير تفيد بأن الرسامين قد يكونون أكثر عرضة للإصابة بسرطان الرئتين والمثانة والمعدة والكلى والمريء والأمعاء الغليظة ؛ سرطان الدم ، في حالة استخدام دهان يحتوي على البنزين ؛ من الخرف المسبق نتيجة التعرض للمذيبات ؛ اضطرابات الغدد الصماء. من التهاب الشعب الهوائية المزمن وأمراض انسداد الجهاز التنفسي. من داء الغبار المختلط. من الفشل الكلوي. والتلف المزمن لعدسة العين نتيجة التعرض للمذيبات على المدى الطويل.
  2. توجد مخاطر خاصة في التجريد الميكانيكي أو الكيميائي أو حرق الدهانات القديمة. أصبح استخدام الأصباغ المحتوية على الرصاص أو الزرنيخ أو الزئبق في الدهانات الحديثة الآن مقيدًا بشدة وفي العديد من البلدان محظور بموجب القانون (باستثناء بعض التطبيقات المتخصصة) ؛ ومع ذلك ، قد تحتوي الدهانات القديمة على كميات كبيرة من هذه الأصباغ ، وأثناء تجريدها أو حرقها ، يتم إطلاق الأصباغ في الهواء على شكل غبار أو أبخرة ، مما قد يؤدي إلى التسمم بالرصاص أو الزئبق أو الزرنيخ.
  3. تم الإبلاغ عن أن التعرض لإيثرات الإيثيلين جلايكول والأسيتات الموجودة في الدهانات قد يكون له تأثير سلبي على الجهاز التناسلي.

 

مراجع حسابات

تنفيذي الصحة والسلامة (HSE). 1991. الصحة والسلامة في إصلاح السيارات: الطلاء. HSE Publication HS (G) 67. لندن: HSE.

O'Neill، L. 1995. الصحة والسلامة في الدهانات والرسم. في دليل Croner للنظافة المهنية. المجلد. 2 ، الجزء 8.19. كينغستون أبون تيمز: Croner's Publications Ltd.

الزائدة الدودية

المواد الكيميائية والمنتجات الكيميائية التي قد يتعرض لها الرسام: تركيبات إزالة الطلاء التي تحتوي على وجه الخصوص على كلوريد الميثيلين والكريسول ، الفينول وهيدروكسيد البوتاسيوم و / أو هيدروكربونات الصفصاف (على سبيل المثال ، ميثيل سيكلوهكسان). مكونات الطلاء بما في ذلك ، على وجه الخصوص ، الكادميوم والرصاص والقصدير العضوي والزئبق ومركبات الزرنيخ والكرومات والإيبوكسي والبولي يوريثين والأكريلات والفينيل والراتنجات الأخرى ومكوناتها. المذيبات والمخففات بما في ذلك ، على وجه الخصوص ، زيت التربنتين ، والكسور البترولية (النفثا ، الروح البيضاء ، مذيب ستودارد) ، n- الهكسان ، والتولوين ، والزيلين ، والبنزين ، والأسيتون ، والميثيل إيثيل ، والكيتونات الأخرى ، والكحولات (الميثيل ، والإيثيل ، والأيزوبروبيل ، والأميل ، وما إلى ذلك) ، والفورمالديهايد ، والفينول ، إلخ. تركيبات التنظيف بما في ذلك الأحماض (التي قد تحتوي على مثبطات عضوية مختلفة) ، القلويات والمذيبات العضوية ، إلخ.

 

الرجوع

عرض 5330 مرات آخر تعديل يوم الجمعة، 20 مايو 2011 20: 33
المزيد في هذه الفئة: " صانع نموذج مبيد الآفات »

"إخلاء المسؤولية: لا تتحمل منظمة العمل الدولية المسؤولية عن المحتوى المعروض على بوابة الويب هذه والذي يتم تقديمه بأي لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية ، وهي اللغة المستخدمة للإنتاج الأولي ومراجعة الأقران للمحتوى الأصلي. لم يتم تحديث بعض الإحصائيات منذ ذلك الحين. إنتاج الطبعة الرابعة من الموسوعة (4). "

المحتويات

دليل المهن المراجع

براندت ، م. 1946. هندسة الصحة الصناعية. نيويورك: جون وايلي وأولاده.

مفوضية المجتمعات الأوروبية (CEC). 1991-93. بطاقات السلامة الكيميائية الدولية. 10 مجلدات. لوكسمبورغ: CEC.

-. 1993. دليل المترجم لإعداد بطاقات السلامة الكيميائية الدولية (المراجعة الأولى). لوكسمبورغ: برنامج CEC الدولي بشأن السلامة الكيميائية (برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة / منظمة العمل الدولية / منظمة الصحة العالمية).

دوناجي ، AE وآخرون. 1983. المخاطر المحتملة في المهن المختلفة ، قائمة أولية [ملف بطاقة]. تل أبيب: كلية الطب بجامعة تل أبيب ، معهد أبحاث الصحة البيئية.

دوناجي ، إيه إي ، أد. 1993. دليل لمخاطر الصحة والسلامة في مختلف المهن: النظام الصحي. 2 مجلدات. تل أبيب: المعهد الإسرائيلي للسلامة والصحة المهنية.

هادون و W و EA Suchman و D Klein. 1964. بحوث الحوادث: الأساليب والنهج. نيويورك: هاربرز ورو.

منظمة العمل الدولية. 1978. التصنيف الدولي الموحد للمهن ، طبعة منقحة. جنيف: منظمة العمل الدولية.

-. 1990. التصنيف الدولي الموحد للمهن: ISCO-88. جنيف: منظمة العمل الدولية.

المركز الدولي لمعلومات السلامة والصحة المهنية (CIS). 1995. أوراق بيانات السلامة الدولية حول المهن. اجتماع اللجنة التوجيهية ، 9-10 مارس. جنيف: منظمة العمل الدولية.

المعهد الوطني للسلامة والصحة المهنية (NIOSH). 1977. الأمراض المهنية: دليل للتعرف عليها. منشور DHHS (NIOSH) رقم 77-181. سينسيناتي ، أوهايو: NIOSH.

Stellman و JM و SM Daum. 1973. العمل خطير على صحتك. نيويورك: كتب عتيقة.

الأمم المتحدة. 1971. فهارس التصنيف الدولي الموحد لجميع الأنشطة الاقتصادية. منشور الأمم المتحدة رقم WW.71.XVII ، 8. نيويورك: إدارة الشؤون الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التابعة للأمم المتحدة.

وزارة العمل الأمريكية (DOL). 1991. قاموس الألقاب المهنية ، الطبعة الرابعة (المنقحة). واشنطن العاصمة: DOL.

-. 1991. الدليل المنقح لتحليل الوظائف. واشنطن العاصمة: DOL.

Wednesday, 06 April 2011 19:17

Painter (Non-Art)

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Synonyms: Brusher; lacquerer; paint sprayer; paint worker

Job profile

Definition and/or description

DEF18

Applies paint to surfaces. Prepares walls, metal, wood or other surfaces for painting. Spreads dropcloths over floors, machines and furnishings. Erects scaffolding or sets up ladders for work above ground level. Removes fixtures (such as pictures, nails, and electric switch covers). Removes old paint using paint remover, scraper, wire brush or blow-torch. Fills holes, cracks and joints with caulk, putty, plaster or other filler. Smooths surface using sandpaper, steel, wool and/or brushes. Washes and treats surfaces with water or other cleaning media. Selects premixed paint or mixes paint components. Applies coats of paint, varnish, stain, enamel or lacquer to surfaces using brushes, spray guns, rollers or electrostatic equipment. May dry or bake paint in special ovens. May cut stencils and brush or spray decorations and lettering on surfaces.

Tasks

TASK1

Air-drying; applying (paint); blowing (dry air); bolting; bonding; brushing; burning; calculating; carrying; caulking; cementing; cleaning; climbing; coating; cutting; decorating; dissolving; drying; depositing (electrostatically); enam- elling; erecting (scaffolds); filling; filtering; finishing; gluing; grinding; hauling; lacquering; lettering; loading and unloading; marking; masking; matching; measuring; mixing; moving; operating (spray gun etc.); painting; pasting; patterning; plastering; pouring; preparing (surfaces); purchasing; puttying; regulating (flow); removing (paint, rust, fixtures, etc.); repairing; rolling; rubbing; sanding; scraping; screwing and unscrewing; sealing; selecting; setting-up (ladders, etc.); shot blasting; smoothening; spraying; spreading; staining; stamping (patterns and designs); stripping; taping; touching up; tracing; transferring; transporting; varnishing; washing; waxing; whitewashing; wiping; wrenching.

Primary equipment used

EQUIP19

Hand brushes; rollers; spraying equipment (air pressure or airless; hand-held or automated); electrostatic painting equipment; paint-drying ovens, lamps or hot-air blowers; paint mixing equipment; paint-stripping tools (manual or electric).

Hazards

Accident hazards

ACCHA1

– Falls from height (falls from ladders, from fixed and mobile elevated platforms, from scaffolds, from roofs, from tank tops, through opening in roofs, etc.);

– Slips and falls on level surfaces, in particular on slippery floors;

– Electrocution or electric shock (from faulty electrical equipment, through contact of metallic ladders with electric lines, during work with high-voltage electrostatic painting equipment, etc.);

– Hypodermal injection of paint into fingers, hands and (less frequently) other parts of the body when working with high-pressure airless spraying equipment. Such injection may cause deep penetration and amputation of affected fingers;

– Severe mechanical damage to eyes by high-pressure paint jets;

– Fire and explosions of flammable paint solvents and other constituents, especially when working (painting or mixing paints) in confined spaces with poor ventilation. Furniture lacquers may contain nitrocellulose, which is an explosive substance and may explode on impact or heating, if residues of the lacquer are allowed to dry;

– Fire and explosions as a result of electrostatic discharges during electrostatic painting with powdered paints, or as a result of sparks generated when metal particles (e.g., in paints containing metal powders) impact on the painted metal surface, or as a result of ignition of paints with binders which oxidize on contact with air;

– Clothes catching fire, within or outside the painting zone, when impregnated with paints or oil;

– Paint-splashing accidents from burst piping or when trying to unclog clogged spray nozzles;

– Penetration of foreign particles into the eyes during surface preparation for painting (e.g., by shot-blasting or sanding);

– Cuts, stabs, abrasions, etc. in fingers and hands during surface preparation by mechanical means;

– Penetration of skin by wood splinters when preparing wood surfaces for painting;

– Crushing of limbs or blows to other body parts when working in a suspended position;

– Skin abrasions from ladder rungs;

– Eye irritation or damage to the cornea from solvent droplets splashed into the eyes;

– Asphyxiation in confined spaces as a result of oxygen deficiency aggravated by the presence of solvent vapours.

Physical hazards

PHYSIC9

– Noise from spray guns or shot-blasting equipment;

– Exposure to UV or IR radiation, or heat, from paint-drying equipment;

– Exposure to cold, rain, snow and winds in winter, or to heat and sunrays in summer, particularly in outside work;

– Exposure to draughts in unfinished buildings.

Chemical hazards

CHEMHA17

– Occupational contact dermatitis as a result of exposure to various paint components or solvents, in particular to aliphatic and aromatic hydrocarbons and organohalogen compounds;

– Irritation of the eyes (with possible permanent damage to vision) and the respiratory tract by various paint components, in particular toluene and methylene diisocyanates;

– Acute intoxication, mainly as a result of inhalation of solvents, especially in confined spaces with inadequate ventilation. Mild intoxication has a narcotic effect which reduces vigilance and markedly increases the risk of falls or other accidents, sometimes with severe consequences. Severe intoxication may be fatal;

– Poisoning by phosgene formed from various chlorinated solvents in contact with a heat source under partial combustion conditions;

– Poisoning by lead in primers and by other metal constituents of paints (e.g., mercury and arsenic compounds used as fungicides in latex paints, organotin compounds in marine antifouling paints, zinc chromate in various lead-free primers, etc.);

– Poisoning by paint strippers such as methylene chloride or mixed solvents;

– Poisoning by hazardous paint constituents, depending on the type of paint used (e.g. formaldehyde in melamine/formaldehyde paints, epoxy resins in epoxy paints, toluene diisocyanate and methylene diisocyanate in polyurethane paints, etc.);

– Neurotoxic effect as a result of work with paints containing n-hexane solvents or lead pigments.

Ergonomic and social factors

ERGO4

– Neck or shoulder pains, sprain and strain of upper limbs, and musculoskeletal disorders, as a result of awkward postures, in particular during the painting of ceilings;

– Eye strain in painters of small articles;

– Knee pains and injuries to cartilage of the knee joints;

– Cardiorespiratory strains when using respiratory-protection equipment.

Addendum

Notes

NOTES8

  1. Reports have been published according to which painters may be at increased risk of cancer of the lungs, the bladder, the stomach, the kidneys, the oesophagus and the large intestines; of leukaemia, if using paint containing benzene; of presenile dementia as a result of exposure to solvents; of endocrinal disorders; of chronic bronchitis and respiratory obstructions diseases; of mixed-dust pneumoconiosis; of renal failure; and of chronic eye-lens damage as a result of long-term solvent exposure.
  2. A special risk exists in the mechanical or chemical stripping or burning of old paints. The use of pigments containing lead, arsenic or mercury in modern paints is now severely restricted and in many countries it is prohibited by law (except for some specialized applications); old paints, however, may contain substantial amounts of such pigments, and during their stripping or burning the pigments are released into the air as dust or fumes, exposure to which may cause lead, mercury or arsenic poisoning.
  3. It has been reported that exposure to ethylene glycol ethers and acetates present in paints may have an adverse effect on the reproductive system.

 

References

Health and Safety Executive (HSE). 1991. Health and Safety in Motor-vehicle Repair: Painting. HSE Publication HS(G) 67. London: HSE.

O’Neill, L. 1995. Health and safety in paints and painting. In Croner’s Handbook of Occupational Hygiene. Vol. 2, part 8.19. Kingston-upon-Thames: Croner’s Publications Ltd.

Appendix

Chemicals and chemical products to which a painter may be exposed: Paint stripping formulations containing, in particular, methylene chloride, cresol, phenol, potassium hydroxide, and/or alicylic hydrocarbons (e.g., methylcyclohexane). Paint components including, in particular, cadmium, lead, organotin, mercury and arsenic compounds, chromates, epoxy, polyurethane, acrylate, vinyl and other resins and their constituents. Solvents and diluents including, in particular, turpentine, petroleum fractions (naphtha, white spirit, Stoddard’s solvent), n-hexane, toluene, xylene, benzene, acetone, methyl ethyl and other ketones, alcohols (methyl, ethyl, isopropyl, amyl, etc.), formaldehyde, phenol, etc. Cleaning formulations including acids (which may contain various organic inhibitors), alkalis, organic solvents, etc.

 

Back

Read 3491 times Last modified on Friday, 20 May 2011 20:33
More in this category: « Model Maker Pest Exterminator »

" DISCLAIMER: The ILO does not take responsibility for content presented on this web portal that is presented in any language other than English, which is the language used for the initial production and peer-review of original content. Certain statistics have not been updated since the production of the 4th edition of the Encyclopaedia (1998)."

Contents

Preface
Part I. The Body
Part II. Health Care
Part III. Management & Policy
Part IV. Tools and Approaches
Part V. Psychosocial and Organizational Factors
Part VI. General Hazards
Part VII. The Environment
Part VIII. Accidents and Safety Management
Part IX. Chemicals
Part X. Industries Based on Biological Resources
Part XI. Industries Based on Natural Resources
Part XII. Chemical Industries
Part XIII. Manufacturing Industries
Part XIV. Textile and Apparel Industries
Part XV. Transport Industries
Part XVI. Construction
Part XVII. Services and Trade
Part XVIII. Guides
Guide to Occupations
Guide to Chemicals
Guide to Units and Abbreviations

Guide to Occupations References

Brandt, AD. 1946. Industrial Health Engineering. New York: John Wiley and Sons.

Commission of the European Communities (CEC). 1991-93. International Chemical Safety Cards. 10 vols. Luxembourg: CEC.

—. 1993. Compiler’s Guide for the Preparation of International Chemical Safety Cards (First Revision). Luxembourg: CEC International Programme on Chemical Safety (UNEP/ILO/WHO).

Donagi, AE et al. 1983. Potential Hazards in Various Occupations, a Preliminary List [card file]. Tel-Aviv: Tel-Aviv University School of Medicine, Research Institute of Environmental Health.

Donagi, AE (ed.). 1993. A Guide to Health and Safety Hazards in Various Occupations: The Health System. 2 vols. Tel-Aviv: Israel Institute for Occupational Safety and Hygiene.

Haddon, W, EA Suchman, and D Klein. 1964. Accident Research: Methods and Approaches. New York: Harpers and Row.

International Labour Organization (ILO). 1978. International Standard Classification of Occupations, revised edition. Geneva: ILO.

—. 1990. International Standard Classification of Occupations: ISCO-88. Geneva: ILO.

International Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre (CIS). 1995. International Safety Datasheets on Occupations. Steering Committee meeting, 9-10 March. Geneva: International Labour Organization.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). 1977. Occupational Diseases: A Guide to Their Recognition. DHHS (NIOSH) Publication No. 77-181. Cincinnati, OH: NIOSH.

Stellman, JM and SM Daum. 1973. Work Is Dangerous to Your Health. New York: Vintage Books.

United Nations. 1971. Indexes to the International Standard Classification of All Economic Activities. UN Publication No. WW.71.XVII, 8. New York: United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs.

US Department of Labor (DOL). 1991. Dictionary of Occupational Titles, 4th (revised) edition. Washington, DC: DOL.

—. 1991. The Revised Handbook for Analyzing Jobs. Washington, DC: DOL.